A new resource to support and track student development across PTA programs, Entry-Level Skill Checklists for Physical Therapist Assistant Studentsis a visually appealing lab manual that includes entry-level PTA skills in a user-friendly, step-by-step checklist format.   Written by seasoned PT and PTA instructor Dr. Terry Larson, Entry-Level Skill Checklists for Physical Therapist Assistant Studentscombines skill and evaluation measures into checklists so instructors may track their students' progress with ease. The book is meant to follow students throughout their programs of study--from their first lab course to submission at the end of their program. Created to reflect the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education guidelines, Entry-Level Skill Checklists for Physical Therapist Assistant Studentsis the latest entry into SLACK Books' Core Texts for PTA Education series.   What's included in Entry-Level Skill Checklists for Physical Therapist Assistant Students: Sections on data collection and intervention Checklists following each skill stage to record and evaluate progress Checkboxes for peer evaluation and instructor assessment Comment areas for instructors to provide feedback on development of student abilities Across courses and programs, Entry-Level Skill Checklists for Physical Therapist Assistant Studentswill help students facilitate self-evaluation and professors gauge and document student progress in any PTA program.  

Joint mobilization and strength training are important for both injury recovery and general wellness. Physical therapy assistants help with these activities, enabling people to lead healthy and active lives. Become a Physical Therapy Assistant explores the growing need for physical therapy assistants, how to become one, and what to expect from the job.

Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs, Fourth Edition is a concise clinical guide designed specifically to help physical therapist assistant students and practitioners easily obtain helpful evidence-based information. This succinct handbook covers the evaluative as well as the interventional aspect of physical therapy and offers immediate guidance concerning physical therapy data collection and interventions, including musculoskeletal, neurologic, cardiopulmonary, integumentary, geriatric, pediatric, and acute care interventions.

The go-to resource for class, clinical, and practice...now in full color! A team of noted OTA and OT leaders and educators deliver practical, in-depth coverage of the most common adult physical conditions and the corresponding evidence-based occupational therapy interventions. The authors blend theory and foundational knowledge with practical applications to OTA interventions and client-centered practice. This approach helps students develop the critical-thinking and clinical-reasoning skills that are the foundation for professional, knowledgeable, creative, and competent practitioners.  New & Updated! Content that incorporates language from the 4th Edition of the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework and aligns with the latest ACOTE standards New & Updated! Full-color, contemporary photographs that reflect real clients and OT practitioners in diverse practice settings New Chapters! Occupational Justice for Diverse and Marginalized Populations, Motor Control and Neurotherapeutic Approaches, Sexual Activity and Intimacy, Dementia: Understanding and Management, and The Influence of Aging on Occupational Performance "Evidence-Based Practice," highlights recent research articles relevant to topics in each chapter, reinforcing the evidence-based perspective presented throughout the text. "Putting It All Together: Sample Treatment and Documentation" uses evaluation, treatment, and documentation based on one relevant case from each diagnosis chapter to connect what students are learning in the classroom and the lab to real-world, skilled, client-centered care. "Technology & Trends" highlights new and relevant technology or treatment trends and also shows how common technologies may be used in unique ways. Client examples provide context for how the conditions impact function and how to consider the person when doing an intervention. "Case Studies" based on real-life examples illustrate important learning points and feature questions to develop critical-thinking and problem-solving skills. Review questions at the end of each chapter assess progress, knowledge, and critical thinking while offering practice with certification-style questions.

Procedures and patient care will be one of the first courses a physical therapist assistant (PTA) student will encounter as they begin their educational career. The foundational material covered in Procedures and Patient Care for the Physical Therapist Assistant includes information about transfers, positioning, vital sign measurement, wheelchair fit and management, assistive devices, and gait. These skills are vital to know as a PTA, regardless of specialization or location of employment. Inside Procedures and Patient Care for the Physical Therapist Assistant, Jennifer Memolo includes objectives, key terms, common abbreviations, and review questions. Also, in each chapter is information adhering to the current best practice and an understanding of red flags a PTA should know and report to supervising physical therapists or other health care providers. This text stands out from others because it is catered specifically to PTA students rather than the generalized health care practitioner. It can be used throughout the student's education as a reference since all other courses build upon and cycle back to this core information. It can also be utilized even after graduation as preparatory material for the board examination or as a refresher for the practicing clinician. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional material to be used for teaching in the classroom. Procedures and Patient Care for the Physical Therapist Assistant provides core information that the PTA will use and build upon throughout their entire career which is what makes it a suitable text for students, faculty, and clinicians.

Fundamentals of Tests and Measures for the Physical Therapist Assistant provides students with the tools required to interpret the physical therapy evaluation and replicate the measurements and tests. This text guides students in learning how to utilize case information and documentation furnished by the PT to assist in the follow-up treatment. Key Features Include: - Relevant anatomy and terminology review - Comprehensive coverage of tests and measures arranged by system - Pertinent documentation examples - Excellent photographs and graphics - Easy-to-understand descriptions and explanations

Boasting a new full-color design, Orthopaedics for the Physical Therapist Assistant, Second Edition provides students with evidence-based guidelines for the assessment and rehabilitation of the orthopaedic patient. After considering the fundamental knowledge and skills needed by the PTA student, the text then explores therapeutic activities and the orthopaedic management of specific joints. These joint chapters follow a uniform structure that considers relevant anatomy and kinesiology, examination techniques, common pathologies, and the various strategies and techniques with which they can be addressed.Orthopaedics for the Physical Therapist Assistant utilizes a range of pedagogical features to improve learning and retention. These include Chapter Objectives that assist students in identifying key learning outcomes; Key Point boxes that emphasize important concepts, and Case Studies that allow students to apply their knowledge. Each chapter ends with Review Questions that test retention of key concepts.

Complete and accurate documentation is one of the most important skills for a physical therapist assistant to develop and use effectively. The new Third Edition of Documentation Basics for the Physical Therapist Assistant continues the path of teaching the student and clinician documentation from A to Z.   Mia Erickson and Rebecca McKnight have updated this Third Edition to reflect changes in the ever-evolving profession. Newly addressed are the changes in documentation requirements for major payers, changes in the disablement models used, and the increasingly common use of electronic documentation in the physical therapy profession.   Features inside the Third Edition: Readers are encouraged to think about disablement and disablement concepts when writing notes How to document impairments in body structure and function but more importantly activity limitations and participation restriction Descriptions of the differences in documentation methods using a computer vs paper chart Evidence tied to benefits and challenges of computerized documentation Documenting the rationale for treatment and the unique skills of the physical therapist assistant in patient management   New inside the Third Edition: Incorporation of the International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health  disablement model Chapter on electronic documentation Screenshot examples of the popular WebPT® electronic medical record platform Updated chapters on reimbursement and legal issues Additional examples for student practice included in each chapter   Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional material to be used for teaching in the classroom.   Documentation Basics for the Physical Therapist Assistant, Third Edition is the perfect guide for all physical therapist assistant students and clinicians who want to update and refine their knowledge and skills in documentation.    

Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs, Third Edition is a concise clinical guide designed specifically to help physical therapist assistant students and practitioners easily obtain helpful evidence-based information. This succinct handbook covers the evaluative as well as the interventional aspect of physical therapy and offers immediate guidance concerning physical therapy data collection and interventions, including musculoskeletal, neurologic, cardiopulmonary, integumentary, geriatric, pediatric, and acute care interventions. This Third Edition reflects updates featured in the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice 3.0, as well as contemporary documentation requirements and best practices. With its user-friendly format that includes tabbed sections for easy referencing and the inclusion of clinical pearls for the PTA, this handbook is a valuable resource for PTA practitioners and students alike. KEY UPDATES: * Features new, easy-to-reference medication tables for interventions covered in the text * Includes extensively revised integumentary content, with illustrations of cancerous skin lesions and vascular ulcerations as well as coverage of dressing choices for wound care management * Addresses Electronic Medical Records as part of clinical documentation coverage, along with ICF terminology and the APTA's defensible documentation guidelines * Provides a range of additional content in covering geriatric interventions, including general considerations for common geriatric-related conditions, an explanation of Medicare Parts C and D, and levels of supervision for the PTA with the Medicare patient * Features an expanded section on domestic violence and elder abuse in relation to its discussion of safety in the clinical environment * Incorporates a prosthetic wear-time schedule * Includes kyphoplasty considerations in detailing spinal surgery procedures and precautions Applicable Courses: * Clinical Practicum * Clinical Education * Clinical Experience

What are the rules, regulations, and responsibilities of the PTA? What relationship, relevance, and role modeling are required in the PT-PTA relationship? Be prepared for your new role as a PTA. This is the perfect introduction to the history of the Physical Therapist Assistant and their responsibilities today. The 3rd Edition of this groundbreaking text delves into the ever-expanding role of the PTA in the clinical setting as well as the regulations that govern the PTA's scope of work.   Inside, you'll find the knowledge you need to grow as a PTA...from your first semester through your last. By understanding the importance of this information and how it affects you, your colleagues, and your patients, you'll be empowered in your new role and in your professional relationships. Updated! Information on APTA positions, bylaws and publications that impact the role and utilization of the PTA, including the new Core Values document, PTA voting rights in the House of Delegates, the soon-to-be published revisions to the PTA Direction and Supervision position, and updates to the APTA's online version of the Guide to Physical Therapist Practice. Expanded! More detailed content/questions related to the biopsychosocial model of health and the ICF model of patient categorization New! Coverage of the ramifications of racism on patients, providers, and institutions to promote discussions of this challenging topic Updated! Information on state and federal payment policies and regulations in an ever-changing payment environment and their impact on the delivery of services The PTA's role as the preferred extender of PT care and the importance of building strong relationships with PTs The transition from clinical to the real-world of professional practice in the chapter, Beginning your Career, Post-Graduation Advanced Learning and Skill Development, perfect for capstone courses The American Physical Therapy Association's (APTA) policies and positions as well as the World Health Organization's (WHO) International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health (ICF) model. Role delineation, teamwork, professionalism, and leadership development "For Reflection" boxes and "Review" and "Application" sections to encourage students to practice their soft skills A workbook-like design with perforated, tear-out pages.

Dreeben-Irimia's Introduction to Physical Therapy Practice for Physical Therapist Assistants, Fourth Edition introduces students to the role of the physical therapist assistant in physical therapy care.

Here is the most comprehensive orthopedic textbook for physical therapist assistant students. First laying the foundation of the role of the PTA within the orthopedic plan of care, this text offers students the fundamental knowledge needed to best understand how the PT evaluates a patient. From principles of tissue healing to detailed descriptions of the most common pathologies, tests and interventions for each body region, this text prepares the PTA for best patient education and care.

Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs, Third Edition is a concise clinical guide designed specifically to help physical therapist assistant students and practitioners easily obtain helpful evidence-based information. This succinct handbook covers the evaluative as well as the interventional aspect of physical therapy and offers immediate guidance concerning physical therapy data collection and interventions, including musculoskeletal, neurologic, cardiopulmonary, integumentary, geriatric, pediatric, and acute care interventions. This Third Edition reflects updates featured in the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice 3.0, as well as contemporary documentation requirements and best practices. With its user-friendly format that includes tabbed sections for easy referencing and the inclusion of clinical pearls for the PTA, this handbook is a valuable resource for PTA practitioners and students alike. KEY UPDATES: * Features new, easy-to-reference medication tables for interventions covered in the text * Includes extensively revised integumentary content, with illustrations of cancerous skin lesions and vascular ulcerations as well as coverage of dressing choices for wound care management * Addresses Electronic Medical Records as part of clinical documentation coverage, along with ICF terminology and the APTA's defensible documentation guidelines * Provides a range of additional content in covering geriatric interventions, including general considerations for common geriatric-related conditions, an explanation of Medicare Parts C and D, and levels of supervision for the PTA with the Medicare patient * Features an expanded section on domestic violence and elder abuse in relation to its discussion of safety in the clinical environment * Incorporates a prosthetic wear-time schedule * Includes kyphoplasty considerations in detailing spinal surgery procedures and precautions Applicable Courses: * Clinical Practicum * Clinical Education * Clinical Experience

Complete and accurate documentation is one of the most important skills for a physical therapist assistant to develop and use effectively. The new Third Edition of Documentation Basics for the Physical Therapist Assistant continues the path of teaching the student and clinician documentation from A to Z.   Mia Erickson and Rebecca McKnight have updated this Third Edition to reflect changes in the ever-evolving profession. Newly addressed are the changes in documentation requirements for major payers, changes in the disablement models used, and the increasingly common use of electronic documentation in the physical therapy profession.   Features inside the Third Edition: Readers are encouraged to think about disablement and disablement concepts when writing notes How to document impairments in body structure and function but more importantly activity limitations and participation restriction Descriptions of the differences in documentation methods using a computer vs paper chart Evidence tied to benefits and challenges of computerized documentation Documenting the rationale for treatment and the unique skills of the physical therapist assistant in patient management   New inside the Third Edition: Incorporation of the International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health  disablement model Chapter on electronic documentation Screenshot examples of the popular WebPT® electronic medical record platform Updated chapters on reimbursement and legal issues Additional examples for student practice included in each chapter   Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional material to be used for teaching in the classroom.   Documentation Basics for the Physical Therapist Assistant, Third Edition is the perfect guide for all physical therapist assistant students and clinicians who want to update and refine their knowledge and skills in documentation.    

Recognizing and Reporting Red Flags for the Physical Therapist Assistant will help you develop skills to recognize signs and symptoms that can compromise patient care, It is the first text to present a consistent, three-step model for monitoring patients for red flags relating to neuromuscular and musculoskeletal problems, medical diseases, side effects of medications, and other co-morbidities that may be unknown to the PT. Combining the insights of physical therapist Catherine Cavallaro Goodman and physical therapist assistant Charlene Marshall, this resource is unmatched in providing clear guidelines for finding and documenting red flags. Coverage of warning flags includes red and yellow flags, risk factors, clinical presentation, signs and symptoms, helpful screening clues, and guidelines for communicating with the PT, allowing you as the PTA to quickly recognize the need for any re-evaluation of the patient. Three-step approach to formative assessments of physical therapy patients provides a consistent way to watch for and report on adverse changes such as range of motion, strength, pain, balance, coordination, swelling, endurance, or gait deviations. PTA Action Plans show the clinical application of text material relating to observing, documenting, and reporting red (or yellow) flags to the physical therapist. Clinically relevant information includes the tools that you need to monitor the patient's response to selected interventions, and accurately and quickly report changes to the supervising PT. Picture the Patient sections address what to look for when assessing or working with patients, especially typical red flag signs and symptoms of emerging problems. Case examples and critical thinking activities connect theory to practice, showing the role of the PTA and how the PTA can integrate clinical observations with clinical reasoning skills so that they can. Cognitive processing-reasoning approach encourages you to learn to gather and analyze data, pose and solve problems, infer, hypothesize, and make clinical judgments, so that you can notify the supervising PT of clients who need further evaluation or may require a referral or consultation with other health care professionals. Summary boxes and tables highlight key information for quick reference. Key terminology is listed in each chapter, which each term bolded within the chapter and defined in a back-of-book glossary. Full-color illustrations and design clearly demonstrate pathologies and processes and make lookup easier in busy clinical settings. An Evolve companion website enhances your problem-solving and decision-making skills with additional case studies, problem-solving questions, and activities, as well as screening tools and checklists. Combined authorship by a physical therapist and physical therapist assistant provides an authoritative and unique voice in the PTA field.

An engaging introduction to human and animal movement seen through the lens of mechanics.How do Olympic sprinters run so fast? Why do astronauts adopt a bounding gait on the moon? How do running shoes improve performance while preventing injuries? This engaging and generously illustrated book answers these questions by examining human and animal movement through the lens of mechanics. The authors present simple conceptual models to study walking and running and apply mechanical principles to a range of interesting examples. They explore the biology of how movement is produced, examining the structure of a muscle down to its microscopic force-generating motors. Drawing on their deep expertise, the authors describe how to create simulations that provide insight into muscle coordination during walking and running, suggest treatments to improve function following injury, and help design devices that enhance human performance. Throughout, the book emphasizes established principles that provide a foundation for understanding movement. It also describes innovations in computer simulation, mobile motion monitoring, wearable robotics, and other technologies that build on these fundamentals. The book is suitable for use as a textbook by students and researchers studying human and animal movement. It is equally valuable for clinicians, roboticists, engineers, sports scientists, designers, computer scientists, and others who want to understand the biomechanics of movement.

Within the domain of sport, the application of science is more apparent than ever before. Not only are universities and academic institutions scientifically investigating sport as one element of human performance, but professional teams, sporting organizations, and private training companies are embracing approaches that use scientific principles to help their athletes and teams gain a competitive edge in sporting competition. The potential for applying science to sport training and sport performance is vast. There is a demand for sport scientists who can collect and convert data into valuable information--information that drives decision making and directly influences performance outcomes. To address this growing need, the world-renowned National Strength and Conditioning Association developed the Certified Performance and Sport Scientist (CPSS) certification, along with the must-have reference for anyone in the field. NSCA's Essentials of Sport Science features contributions from 52 globally recognized experts and thought leaders from the field of sport science. It is the only resource to go beyond sport science's foundations--physiology, biochemistry, biomechanics, nutrition, and skill acquisition--to address the use of statistics and broader fields of data science, analytics, and technology management. Readers will explore every aspect of the sport scientist's role: understanding training theory, performing needs analyses, conducting athlete monitoring and assessment, managing data and analytics, and educating and disseminating information. The integration of these technical skills will guide sport scientists in drawing conclusions that can be used to manipulate training methods and shape competition strategies for the betterment of athletes' health, well-being, and performance. NSCA's Essentials of Sport Science offers a holistic overview of the technical expertise, skills, and knowledge required to operate effectively as a modern-day sport scientist. Further, it will help prepare candidates for the NSCA's CPSS certification exam and aid all sport scientists in acquiring and using the best available evidence--at the right time, in the right environment, and for the right individual--to maximize their performance.

National Bestseller "In Do Hard Things, Steve Magness beautifully and persuasively reimagines our understanding of toughness. This is a must-read for parents and coaches and anyone else looking to prepare for life's biggest challenges." -- Malcolm Gladwell, author of Outliers and Talking to Strangers and host of the Revisionist History podcast From beloved performance expert, executive coach, and coauthor of Peak Performance Steve Magness comes a radical rethinking of how we perceive toughness and what it means to achieve our high ambitions in the face of hard things. Toughness has long been held as the key to overcoming a challenge and achieving greatness, whether it is on the sports field, at a boardroom, or at the dining room table. Yet, the prevailing model has promoted a mentality based on fear, false bravado, and hiding any sign of weakness. In other words, the old model of toughness has failed us. Steve Magness, a performance scientist who coaches Olympic athletes, rebuilds our broken model of resilience with one grounded in the latest science and psychology. In Do Hard Things, Magness teaches us how we can work with our body - how experiencing discomfort, leaning in, paying attention, and creating space to take thoughtful action can be the true indications of cultivating inner strength. He offers four core pillars to cultivate such resilience:  Pillar 1- Ditch the Façade, Embrace Reality Pillar 2- Listen to Your Body Pillar 3- Respond, Instead of React  Pillar 4- Transcend Discomfort    Smart and wise all at once, Magness flips the script on what it means to be resilient. Drawing from mindfulness, military case studies, sports psychology, neuroscience, psychology, and philosophy, he provides a roadmap for navigating life's challenges and achieving high performance that makes us happier, more successful, and, ultimately, better people.

The New York Times Bestseller * Foreword by Malcom Gladwell "Reveals how we can all surpass our perceived physical limits." --Adam Grant Discover the revolutionary account of the science and psychology of endurance, revealing the secrets of reaching the hidden extra potential within us all. This updated paperback edition features a new afterword. The capacity to endure is the key trait that underlies great performance in virtually every field. But what if we all can go farther, push harder, and achieve more than we think we're capable of? Blending cutting-edge science and gripping storytelling in the spirit of Malcolm Gladwell--who contributes the book's foreword--award-winning journalist Alex Hutchinson reveals that a wave of paradigm-altering research over the past decade suggests the seemingly physical barriers you encounter as set as much by your brain as by your body. This means the mind is the new frontier of endurance--and that the horizons of performance are much more elastic than we once thought. But, of course, it's not "all in your head." For each of the physical limits that Hutchinson explores--pain, muscle, oxygen, heat, thirst, fuel--he carefully disentangles the delicate interplay of mind and body by telling the riveting stories of men and women who've pushed their own limits in extraordinary ways. The longtime "Sweat Science" columnist for Outside and Runner's World, Hutchinson, a former national-team long-distance runner and Cambridge-trained physicist, was one of only two reporters granted access to Nike's top-secret training project to break the two-hour marathon barrier, an extreme quest he traces throughout the book. But the lessons he draws from shadowing elite athletes and from traveling to high-tech labs around the world are surprisingly universal. Endurance, Hutchinson writes, is "the struggle to continue against a mounting desire to stop"--and we're always capable of pushing a little farther.

Try to recall the best coach you've ever had. Consider what differentiated them from other coaches; what made them so effective? Was it their knowledge and programming, or did it come down to the way they communicated with you and the way they made you feel? While the former are critical, it is a coach's words that set them apart from the rest. The Language of Coaching focuses on the impact that communication has on an individual's ability to learn and  perform a movement. Written by performance coach Nick Winkelman, the book examines how instruction, feedback, and cueing can significantly affect training outcomes. Grounded in motor learning and the science of attentional focus, Winkelman takes you on a journey, guiding you through practical coaching frameworks that will help you adapt your language to the learning needs of those you support. Packed with stunning visuals, the book provides over 25 movement sequences that outline different types of coaching cues, including a visual depiction of unique analogies, such as a sprinter taking off like a jet or an athlete loading into a jump like a spring. The book is filled with a comprehensive collection of cueing frameworks that guide you through the process of creating your own cues for any movement you want to teach. You will also learn how to engage in more productive conversation with your athletes through sample dialogue that uses the book's cueing philosophy. Whether you are new to coaching or a seasoned veteran, The Language of Coaching will help you grow as a communicator and learn how to coach the person with the same precision as you do the program. Earn continuing education credits/units! A continuing education exam that uses this book is also available. It may be purchased separately or as part of a package that includes both the book and exam.