This book focuses on the challenges of competition in television broadcasting markets. How is the evolution from a two-sided market to platform economics reshaping competition in television broadcasting? How are new market dynamics changing competition for content creation and acquisition and the revenue streams? Will content remain king? Or will new competitive dynamics undermine the sustainable creation of high quality content, especially in small media markets?

Local television stations play an important role in educating, entertaining, and informing the citizens they serve. FCC limits the number of television stations an entity can own or control to advance its media policy goals of competition, localism, and diversity. Competing television stations are entering into agreements to share or outsource services, and some policymakers are concerned about the effects of these agreements on competition and programming. This book examines the uses and prevalence of broadcaster agreements; stakeholders' views on the effects of broadcaster agreements; and the extent, if at all, that FCC has regulated these agreements.

Next Generation Mobile Broadcasting provides an overview of the past, present, and future of mobile multimedia broadcasting. The first part of the book-Mobile Broadcasting Worldwide-summarizes next-generation mobile broadcasting technologies currently available. This part covers the evolutions of the Japanese mobile broadcasting standard ISDB-T One

As entertaining as it is educational, Radio: The Book is a must-have guide to success for anyone interested in a career in radio. Providing a wealth of information and relating his own personal experiences, veteran radio personality, Program Director and Programming Consultant Steve Warren shares trade secrets and industry know-how that would usually take years to accumulate through experience. An invaluable advantage over your competition, this "cheat-sheet" for the radio programmer includes practical advice regarding: ·Radio as a career--from tips on getting started to job negotiations ·Programming--talk radio and music, from format science to picking the hits ·Relationships with listeners--everything from staying in touch with your audience to public image ·Branding, marketing, and advertising the radio station ·Research--music tests, audience analysis, ratings, and more ·Practical information about management policies ·Radio realities--information on rules and regulations This latest edition has been updated to include: ·Important updates on an ever-evolving field ·Essential forms for radio station functions--production orders, personnel files, absentee reports, PSA schedules, format clocks, remote schedule, and more.to be accompanied by an on-line section of electronic forms for convenience ·Ideas for successfully programming in new radio formats like satellite, internet, and cable In such a competitive industry where formal training can be hard to come by, Radio: The Book, 4e, is a short-cut to the fast track for current and future programmers and program directors. With an active radio broadcast career that is still exploring new ideas following s more than forty years at some of America's most prestigious radio stations (including WNBC, WHN, WNEW, and CBS radio), Steve Warren is more than qualified to mentor readers. Steve has competed successfully in all music formats from Easy Listening to Country to Top 40 to Oldies, always putting the listener first and now, putting you first.

This book presents the fundamentals of wireless communications and services, explaining in detail what RF spectrum management is, why it is important, which are the authorities regulating the use of spectrum, and how is it managed and enforced at the international, regional and national levels. The book offers insights to the engineering, regulatory, economic, legal, management policy-making aspects involved. Real-world case studies are presented to depict the various approaches in different countries, and valuable lessons are drawn. The topics are addressed by engineers, advocates and economists employed by national and international spectrum regulators. The book is a tool that will allow the international regional and national regulators to better manage the RF spectrum, and will help operators and suppliers of wireless communications to better understand their regulators.

This survey of the field of modern electronic media includes the new technologies, regulations, programming, and competition that affect our world and the broadcasting industry. The text conveys the excitement of the industry in a highly accessible style that makes even the most difficult information understandable.

Gain a thorough understanding of digital audio tools, techniques, and practices from this completely revised and expanded resource. Written by industry pioneer and Audio Engineering Society Fellow Ken C. Pohlmann, Principles of Digital Audio, Sixth Edition, describes the technologies behind today's audio equipment in a clear, practical style. Covering basic theory to the latest technological advancements, the book explains how to apply digital conversion, processing, compression, storage, streaming, and transmission concepts. New chapters on Blu-ray, speech coding, and low bit-rate coding are also included in this bestselling guide. Learn about discrete time sampling, quantization, and signal processing Examine details of CD, DVD, and Blu-ray players and discs Encode and decode AAC, MP3, MP4, Dolby Digital, and other files Prepare content for distribution via the Internet and digital radio and television Learn the critical differences between music coding and speech coding Design low bit-rate codecs to optimize memory capacity while preserving fidelity Develop methodologies to evaluate the sound quality of music and speech files Study audio transmission via HDMI, VoIP, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth Handle digital rights management, fingerprinting, and watermarking Understand how one-bit conversion and high-order noise shaping work

Radio's influence can be found in almost every corner of new media. Radio in the Digital Age assesses a medium that has not only survived the challenges of a new technological age but indeed has extended its reach. This is not a book about digital radio, but rather about the medium of radio in its many analogue and digital forms in an age characterised by digital technologies. The context of the digital age reveals new insights about the nature of radio. In this important addition to the world of radio scholarship, Dubber provides a theoretical framework for understanding the medium - allowing for complexity and contradiction, while avoiding essentialism and technological determinism. Introducing radio as a series of practices and phenomena that can be understood through a range of discursive categories, this book explores the relationships between radio, music, politics, storytelling and society in a new and thoughtful way. This book will make essential reading for students of media, communication, broadcasting and the digital industries. It offers a timely and comprehensive introduction for anyone who wishes to understand the role of radio in today's media landscape.

The bible for beginning radio professionals. A complete guide to the internal workings of radio stations and the radio industry. Readers new to radio understand how each job is best performed, and they will know how it meshes with those of the rest of the radio station staff. For readers uncertain of career goals, this book provides a solid foundation in who does what, when, and why. The Radio Stationdetails all departments within a radio station. Topics explained include satellite radio, Web radio, AM stereo, cable and podcasting. Also, mergers and consolidation, future prospects, new digital technologies. This edition is loaded with new illustrations, feature boxes and quotes from industry pros. Going strong after 20 years, The Radio Stationis now in its seventh edition and long considered the standard work on this audio medium. It remains a concise and candid guide to the internal workings of radio stations and the radio industry, explaining the functions performed successfully within every well-run station.

This encyclopedic resource offers complete coverage of the latest broadcasting practices and technologies. Written by a team of recognized experts in the field, the SBE Broadcast Engineering Handbook thoroughly explains radio and television transmission systems, DTV transport, information technology systems for broadcast applications, production systems, facility design, broadcast management, and regulatory issues. In addition, valuable, easy-to-use appendices are included with extensive reference data and tables. The SBE Broadcast Engineering Handbook is a hands-on guide to broadcast station design and maintenance.