LibGuides: Networking Technology: Home

Networking Technology Welcome!

Primary Library Resources

Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to highest quality search engines for your field.

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database This link opens in a new window
The Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database includes the renowned Aerospace Database and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Computer Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries covering everything from hardware to the cloud.

Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to high quality search engines that will help you find the resources you need.

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database This link opens in a new window
The Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Database includes the renowned Aerospace Database and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Computer Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries covering everything from hardware to the cloud.
Computer Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles covering topics such as artificial intelligence, automation, gaming, graphics, networking, security, database management, systems administration, information science and hardware.
Engineering Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database provides discipline-specific coverage of engineering, spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.
Telecommunications Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers topics including computer applications, data communications and data transmission systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, radio and television.

No time to search? The library's databases also provide access to hundreds of thousands of eBooks. Take a look at the recommended title(s) linked below.

Advances in Computer Communications and Networks from Green, Mobile, Pervasive Networking to Big Data Computing by Kewei Sha (Editor)
ISBN: 9788793379886
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
Recent developments in computer communications and networks have enabled the deployment of exciting new areas such as Internet of Things and collaborative big data analysis. The design and implementation of energy efficient future generation communication and networking technologies also require the clever research and development of mobile, pervasive, and large-scale computing technologies. Advances in Computer Communications and Networks: From Green, Mobile, Pervasive Networking to Big Data Computingstudies and presents recent advances in communication and networking technologies reflecting the state-of-the-art research achievements in novel communication technology and network optimization. Technical topics discussed in the book include: Data Center Networks Mobile Ad Hoc Networks Multimedia Networks Internet of Things Wireless Spectrum Network Optimization. This book is ideal for personnel in computer communication and networking industries as well as academic staff and collegial, master, Ph.D. students in computer science, computer engineering, electrical engineering and telecommunication systems.
Computer Network Security by Ali Sadiqui
ISBN: 9781119706748
Publication Date: 2020-02-25
Developed in collaboration with a training and certification team from Cisco, Computer Network Security is an exploration of the state-of-the-art and good practices in setting up a secure computer system. Concrete examples are offered in each chapter, to help the reader to master the concept and apply the security configuration. This book is intended for students preparing for the CCNA Security Exam (210-260 IINS) ? whether at professional training centers, technical faculties, or training centers associated with the �Cisco Academy� program. It is also relevant to anyone interested in computer security, be they professionals in this field or users who want to identify the threats and vulnerabilities of a network to ensure better security.
Optimization of Computer Networks by Pablo Pavón Mariño
ISBN: 9781119013334
Publication Date: 2016-03-28
This book covers the design and optimization of computer networks applying a rigorous optimization methodology, applicable to any network technology. It is organized into two parts. In Part 1 the reader will learn how to model network problems appearing in computer networks as optimization programs, and use optimization theory to give insights on them. Four problem types are addressed systematically - traffic routing, capacity dimensioning, congestion control and topology design. Part 2 targets the design of algorithms that solve network problems like the ones modeled in Part 1. Two main approaches are addressed - gradient-like algorithms inspiring distributed network protocols that dynamically adapt to the network, or cross-layer schemes that coordinate the cooperation among protocols; and those focusing on the design of heuristic algorithms for long term static network design and planning problems. Following a hands-on approach, the reader will have access to a large set of examples in real-life technologies like IP, wireless and optical networks. Implementations of models and algorithms will be available in the open-source Net2Plan tool from which the user will be able to see how the lessons learned take real form in algorithms, and reuse or execute them to obtain numerical solutions. An accompanying link to the author's own Net2plan software enables readers to produce numerical solutions to a multitude of real-life problems in computer networks (www.net2plan.com).
Software Defined Networks by Vinod K. Mishra
ISBN: 9781945612817
Publication Date: 2018-06-01
Software defined networking (SDN) is one of the most promising recent developing in the networking. Together with network function virtualization (NFV) it has the potential to automate the networking tasks in a seamless manner. This book introduces the reader to this burgeoning field and explains the basic concepts within a historical context. It should be useful to senior undergraduates, beginning graduate students, and also to anyone curious about this topic.
Software Networks by Guy Pujolle
ISBN: 9781119694724
Publication Date: 2020-01-08
Software Networks describe new concepts for the Internet�s next generation. This architecture is based on virtual networking using Cloud and datacenter facilities. The main problems to be dealt with are the placement of virtual resources for opening a new network on the fly, and the urbanization of virtual resources implemented on physical network equipment. The digital architecture also deals with mechanisms capable of automatically controlling the placement of all virtual resources within the physical network. This book describes how to create and delete virtual networks on the fly. Indeed, the system is able to create any new network with any kind of virtual resource (e.g. switches, routers, LSRs, optical paths, firewalls, SIP-based servers, devices, servers, access points, etc.). Software Networks shows how this architecture is compatible with new advances in SDN (Software Defined Networking), new high-speed transport protocols such as TRILL (Transparent Interconnection of Lots of Links) and LISP (Locator/Identifier Separation Protocol), NGN, IMS, new generation Wi-Fi, and 4G/5G networks. Finally, the author introduces Clouds of security and the virtualization of secure elements (smartcards) that could certainly transform how to secure the Internet. For this second edition, the author addresses in five new chapters the importance of open source software for networks, mobile edge computing, fog networking, tactile internet - a network environment allowing remote access, and security - the use of Cloud of security, secure elements and the emergence of the blockchain.

Find physical books by searching our online catalog on the library's homepage. You can browse in person and pick up these books by visiting your local library branch. Here are our hours and locations.

Broad Band by Claire L. Evans
ISBN: 9780735211759
Publication Date: 2018-03-06
If you loved Hidden Figures or The Rise of the Rocket Girls, you'll love Claire Evans' breakthrough book on the women who brought you the internet--written out of history, until now. This is a radically important, timely work, says Miranda July, filmmaker and author of The First Bad Man. The history of technology you probably know is one of men and machines, garages and riches, alpha nerds and brogrammers--but from Ada Lovelace, who wrote the first computer program in the Victorian Age, to the cyberpunk Web designers of the 1990s, female visionaries have always been at the vanguard of technology and innovation. In fact, women turn up at the very beginning of every important wave in technology. They may have been hidden in plain sight, their inventions and contributions touching our lives in ways we don't even realize, but they have always been part of the story. VICE reporter and YACHT lead singer Claire L. Evans finally gives these unsung female heroes their due with her insightful s
Careers in Information Technology by Michael Shally-Jensen
ISBN: 9781682171493
Publication Date: 2016-11-10
Merging scholarship with occupational development, this single comprehensive guidebook provides information technology students with necessary insight into potential careers, and provides instruction on what job seekers can expect in terms of training, advancement, earnings, job prospects, working conditions, relevant associations, and more. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports that employment in all computer occupations is expected to increase by 22% by 2020. Give your students and researchers the information they need to learn about the many, varied career paths in information technology with Careers in Information Technology. This publication highlights twenty-three growing and in demand fields in information technology. Careers in Information Technology examines 23 potential career paths in Information Technology, including: Computer Engineer, Computer Programmer, Robotics Technician, Database Administrator, Information Security Analyst, Multimedia Artist & Animator, Software Developer, and Web Administrator. Each chapter ranges in length from 3,500 to 4,500 words and begins with a snapshot of the occupation that includes career clusters, interests, earnings and employment outlook. Information-packed chapters provide real-world information about these in-demand professions, including: A Day in the Life; Work Environment; Education & Training; Earnings & Advancement; Employment Outlook; and Networking Contacts. Areas with the Highest Employment Levels and Conversations with Real Professionals. This title is specifically designed for a high school and undergraduate audience and is edited to align with secondary or high school curriculum standards. This title is an indispensible reference for anyone looking to excel in the information technology field.
Networking, a Beginner's Guide, Fifth Edition by Bruce Hallberg
ISBN: 9780071633550
Publication Date: 2009-10-19
A practical guide to networking fundamentals Fully up to date with the latest technologies, this introductory handbook covers wired and wireless network design, configuration, hardware, protocols, security, backup, recovery, virtualization, and more. After laying the groundwork, Networking: A Beginner's Guide, Fifth Edition explains, step-by-step, how to install, set up, and administer Windows Server 2008, Exchange Server 2010, Fedora 10, and Apache. If you're beginning a career in networking or looking to refresh your skills, you need this detailed reference. Learn about network cabling, topologies, hardware, and the OSI Model Set up a small office and home office (SOHO) wired or wireless network Connect LANs and WANs Work with network protocols--TCP/IP, UDP, DHCP, HTTP, FTP, SMTP, VoIP, and others Enable remote access through a VPN or other methods Secure your network and handle backup and disaster recovery Install, configure, and administer Windows Server 2008, Exchange Server 2010, Fedora 10, and Apache Understand virtualization technologies, and learn how to set up and use VMware Server Learn how the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 affects networking and IT professionals Bruce Hallberg has been involved in IT for more than 25 years and has consulted for Fortune 1000 firms on the implementation of management information and networking systems. He is the bestselling author of more than 20 books.
Networking All-In-One for Dummies by Doug Lowe
ISBN: 9781119689010
Publication Date: 2021-05-04
Your ultimate one-stop networking reference Designed to replace that groaning shelf-load of dull networking books you'd otherwise have to buy and house, Networking All-in-One For Dummies covers all the basic and not-so-basic information you need to get a network up and running. It also helps you keep it running as it grows more complicated, develops bugs, and encounters all the fun sorts of trouble you expect from a complex system. Ideal both as a starter for newbie administrators and as a handy quick reference for pros, this book is built for speed, allowing you to get past all the basics--like installing and configuring hardware and software, planning your network design, and managing cloud services--so you can get on with what your network is actually intended to do. In a friendly, jargon-free style, Doug Lowe--an experienced IT Director and prolific tech author--covers the essential, up-to-date information for networking in systems such as Linux and Windows 10 and clues you in on best practices for security, mobile, and more. Each of the nine minibooks demystifies the basics of one key area of network management. Plan and administrate your network Implement virtualization Get your head around networking in the Cloud Lock down your security protocols The best thing about this book? You don't have to read it all at once to get things done; once you've solved the specific issue at hand, you can put it down again and get on with your life. And the next time you need it, it'll have you covered.
Troubleshooting and Maintaining PCs All-In-One for Dummies by Dan Gookin
ISBN: 9781119740308
Publication Date: 2021-03-03
Show your PC who's boss Nothing's more annoying than a tech malfunction, especially when it's your PC--with the exception of perhaps wading through reams of random, unreliable theories online looking for a solution, or paying an expensive tech geek to show up to perform a five-minute fix. The latest edition of Troubleshooting & Maintaining Your PC All-in-One For Dummies puts all this frustration behind you and gets you straight to work solving the problem yourself! In his straightforward, friendly style, Dan Gookin--bestselling tech author and all-round Mr. Fixit--packs everything you need to know into 5-books-in-1, giving you the knowledge and process to hit on the right solution, fast. From identifying common problems to methodically narrowing down to the correct fix, you'll save hours of frustrating research--and experience the sweet, righteous satisfaction of having achieved it all yourself. Pick up quick fixes Understand and reconnect networks Restore memory Boost your PC's performance Every problem has a solution and PCs are no different: get this book and you'll never catch yourself shouting at your monitor or frustrated with the motherboard again--well, maybe not quite so often.

You can search our Journals or browse by subject from the library's homepage. For a quick look at what we have available in this subject area, see the title(s) below.

International Journal of Computer Network and Information Security
International Journal of Software Engineering
Provides a forum for software engineering research and publishes empirical results relevant to both researchers and practitioners.

Check out the link(s) below to stream videos on this subject. You can also visit Films on Demand to browse their entire collection.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video allows you to view this collection of videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Our collection includes videos about careers, business, science, health, social science, art & literature, history, and more, with a combined total of over 29,000 full-length video titles in over 275,000 segments.

IT Networks: Computer networks are at the foundation of information and communication technology. A thorough understanding of network design and function is therefore crucial. This program provides a helpful overview of the world of networks for those who are exploring the IT field. Topics include wireless LANs, mobile devices, hardware and software components, wired and wireless protocols, the strengths and limitations of wired and wireless systems, and network security. Whether viewers are embarking on a career in information technology or business, the video is suited to burgeoning professionals who want a better grasp of the infrastructure that drives 21st-century communications. Viewable/printable educational resources are available online. (20 minutes)

We can also direct you to resources outside of the library's databases. See below for a selection of websites related to your field.

Association for Computing Machinery
ACM, one of the world’s largest educational and scientific computing societies, provides access to resources that advance computing as a science and a profession.
IEEE Computer Society
The IEEE Computer Society is a leading computing membership organization that provides "trusted information and career-development source for a global workforce of technology leaders including: professors, researchers, software engineers, IT professionals, employers, and students –our future technology leaders." (from the site's description)
TechAmerica
TechAmerica is the public sector and public policy department of CompTIA, advocating before decision-makers at the state, federal and international levels of government. Representing technology companies of all sizes, TechAmerica is committed to expanding market opportunities and driving the competitiveness of the U.S. technology industry around the world.

Want to learn more about a particular career? These resources will help you learn more about the potential a career field holds.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource for career exploration and planning that allows users to quickly find the valuable career information they need, whether it’s industry and professions articles, school planning resources, or skills and career advice.
Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 2010-20 decade.