OER are educational materials that are distributed at no cost with legal permission for the public to freely use, share, and build upon the content. OER are and always will be free, but not all free resources are OER.
Free resources may be temporarily free or may be restricted from use at some time in the future (by adding access fees). Free (but not open) resources may not be modified, adapted or redistributed without obtaining special permission from the copyright holder.
Works that are in the public domain are no longer protected by copyright and may be freely used without obtaining permission from the copyright owner. Learn more about public domain at Copyrightlaws.com.
The CCCC Library and NC LIVEsubscribe to numerous paid databases containing eBooks, streaming videos, articles, etc. which are under copyright and are licensed for use by our college. These are available at no cost to students, faculty, and staff, and may be linked or embedded in Blackboard.
This database contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Books are available in the subjects of art, business, education, humanities, medical science, performing arts, political science, social science, technology, and more.
This easy-to-use curriculum and reference resource delivers one of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content designed specifically for schools and libraries of all kinds, as well as additional subject-based material.
A collection of more than 1,000 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
This collection of eBooks covers careers, education, medical, health, religion, philosophy, science, technology, sustainability, U.S. history, and world history. Included are several encyclopedias: Encyclopedia of American History; Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology; Encyclopedia of the World's Nations and Cultures; Encyclopedia of World Religions; and others.
Streaming video allows you to view this collection of videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Our collection includes videos about careers, business, science, health, social science, art & literature, history, and more, with a combined total of over 29,000 full-length video titles in over 275,000 segments.
Stream hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. This database includes literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.