LibGuides: Course Guide Template: Cite!

What are citations?

What are citations, and why do I need them?

A citation is your way of telling readers how to find the information, data, opinions, and quotes upon which you based your paper.

A citation includes:

The authors' names
Title of the work
Date of publication
Information about the publisher
Volume and issue numbers for articles
Page numbers
Online access information

Choose the style that's right for your course or subject area. Include more than one only if you know different instructors require different styles.

What is APA Style?

APA stands for American Psychological Association. APA style was created by social scientists to standardize scientific writing. Some fields that use it include: Allied Health, Business, Criminal Justice, Education, Political Science, and Social Work.

What is MLA Style?

MLA stands for Modern Language Association. MLA style was created by scholars to standardize writing in the humanities and liberal arts. Some fields that use it include: English, Literature, and Art. Get extra help with formatting from the MLA Style Center website. link will open in a new window

What is NLM Style?

NLM stands for National Library of Medicine. NLM style was created by the National Library of Medicine to standardize citations in medical fields.

Library sources to help you with your citations...

Choose the right sources to include for your subject or course area (APA, MLA, etc.)

The Complete Guide to Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism by Colin Neville
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780335241033
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
This book demystifies the referencing process and provides essential guidance to make sure you are not committing plagiarism. It provides clear guidelines on why and when to reference as well as how to correctly cite from a huge range of sources.Tackling all the main forms of referencing including APA and MLA , in an accessible and comprehensive manner.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association
ISBN: 9781433832161
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
The style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, educators, and professionals in psychology, sociology, business, economics, nursing, social work, and justice administration. The Manual offers an authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system and comprehensive coverage.
Book available in print at all three campus libraries

Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
"Citing Medicine provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations" (Patrias 2015). Available for free online.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The MLA Handbook treats every aspect of research writing, from selecting a topic to submitting the completed paper. The eighth edition is a comprehensive, up-to-date guide to research and writing in the online environment.
Book available in print at all three campus libraries

Citations in MLA

This video will walk you through the process of citing your sources in MLA Style, Based on the MLA Handbook, 8th edition.

This short video from North Carolina State University Libraries link will open in a new window covers the basics of citations: why we use them and how we create them.

Help!

Need a little extra help?

Contact your librarian. Change to your email address

Or use the links below to get more in-depth help and information.

Include links to resources to help with this process. These can be our proprietary resources, databases, or resources from other institutions.