Dentists face many considerations when treating patients and prescribing medication. This ADA quick reference, created by a team of dentists, pharmacists, scientists, and experts in pharmacology, serves as a clinical educational resource to deliver concise and accurate information about prescribed medications used in dentistry. The second edition of the ADA Dental Drug Handbook has been revised to include the latest, most up-to-date information to assist in treating patients. This handbook presents information on commonly encountered drugs in the dental office in an easy-to-follow format, making it a go-to drug reference for dental professionals.Topics include: Drugs used in dentistry, such as analgesics, antifungals, antivirals, anxiolytics, fluorides, local anesthetics and corticosteroids; Detailed, full-color drug monographs with black box warnings, cautions and contraindications, potential adverse reactions, possible drug interactions and more; Sample prescriptions with dosage, frequency and route of admnistration; Smoking cessation, salivary management and oral lesion treatment; OTC products with the ADA Seal of Acceptance;ADA resources on procedures such as general anesthesia, antibiotic prophylaxis and medication-related osteonecrosis of the jaw. Useful tables presenting adverse drug reactions, drug-drug interactions and generic brands; Drug management for pediatrics, emergency situations, and special care conditions such as hypertension, pregnancy and substance abuse disorder.

This book explores in depth the relationships between nutrition and oral health. Oral health is an integral part of general health across the life course, and this book examines nutritional and oral health considerations from childhood through to old age, with particular attention focused on the consequences of demographic changes. Current knowledge on the consequences of poor diet for the development and integrity of the oral cavity, tooth loss, and the progression of oral diseases is thoroughly reviewed. Likewise, the importance of maintenance of a disease-free and functional dentition for nutritional well-being at all stages of life is explained. Evidence regarding the impact of oral rehabilitation on nutritional status is evaluated, and strategies for changing dietary behaviour in order to promote oral health are described. Nutrition and Oral Health will be an ideal source of information for all who are seeking a clearly written update on the subject. 

Clinical Cases in Dental Hygiene is an indispensable resource to understanding both the theory and practice of dental hygiene, illustrated by real-life cases in a clinically relevant format.  Offers a unique case-based format that supports problem-based learning Promotes independent learning through self-assessment and critical thinking Includes a wealth of relevant cases for understanding dental procedures and management of patients Covers all essential topics within the scope of dental hygiene

Featuring over 800 clear, high-quality photographs and radiographic illustrations, this fully updated Fifth Edition of Color Atlas of Common Oral Diseases is designed throughout to help readers recognize and identify oral manifestations of local or systemic diseases. The new edition includes expanded and updated content and is enhanced by new images, new case studies, a stronger focus on national board exam prep, and more.The book's easy-to-navigate, easy-to-learn-from standard format consists of two-page spreads that provide a narrative overview on one page with color illustrations on the facing page. To integrate oral diagnosis, medicine, pathology, and radiology, the overviews emphasize the clinical description of oral lesions, cover the nature of various disease processes, and provide a brief discussion of cause and treatment options.

The updated and authoritative reference to medications used in dental practice  The revised and updated second edition of The Dentist's Drug and Prescription Guide offers a practical and quick reference to medications commonly prescribed in dental practice.  With contributions from experts on the topic, this comprehensive book takes an accessible question-and-answer format, providing answers to common questions dentists ask about drugs. The most updated information on drugs is presented throughout, including the current antibiotic prophylaxis guidelines and newer osteoporosis drugs.  A new section describes how to manage patients on medications, and includes new chapters on the important topics of opioid prescribing and abuse and pain management. Alternative effective medications for opioids are discussed in detail.  Putting all the prescription and drug information needed in daily dental practice at your fingertips, The Dentist's Drug and Prescription Guide is an essential reference for practicing dental clinicians and dental hygienists. This important book:  Offers a comprehensive and accessible guide to essential information about medications used in dental practice Presents detailed information about drugs in an easy-to-use question-and-answer format Provides answers to commonly asked questions about drugs Refers to current, evidence-based pharmacology information, tailored for the dental clinician Features information on opioid prescribing and abuse and pain management  Written for both general and specialist dentists and dental hygienists, the revised second edition of The Dentist's Drug and Prescription Guide is a must-have reference for the most current information available on medications used in the dental profession.

This book reviews the principles of infection control and the guidelines and standards of care in multiple countries, discussing them within the context of the practice of dentistry. The aim is to enable dental practitioners to ensure that the appropriate measures are adopted for each patient contact, thereby minimizing the risk of transmission of infection - a goal that is becoming ever more important given the threats posed by new or re-emerging infectious diseases and drug-resistant infections. Readers will find information and guidance on all aspects of infection control within the dental office: hand and respiratory hygiene, use of personal protective equipment, safe handling of sharps and safe injection practices, management of occupational exposures, maintenance of dental unit water quality, surface disinfection, and the cleaning and sterilization of dental instruments. Infection Control in the Dental Office will be an invaluable asset for all dental practitioners, including dentists, dental specialists, dental hygienists, and dental assistants.

This largely revised second edition comprehensively reviews the need and rationale for the integration of medical and dental patient data. The reader will find extensive guidance on issues involved with care and data integration, and how to achieve an integrated model of healthcare. The book discusses how the use of state-of-the-art, fully integrated (dental-medical), electronic health records can improve clinical, financial as well as societal outcomes. In the book you will also find different aspects that play a role in integration including existing clinical software implementations (and their paths for integration), clinical touch points, and how current and future developments will facilitate the integration process in a more efficient way.   This second edition of Integration of Medical and Dental Care and Patient Data details the available methods and technologies for successfully integrating patient medical and dental data. It is, therefore, an important and timely update for informaticians and a broad range of both dental and medical professionals and other health professionals (dental assistants, hygienists, nurses) as well as clinical students entering the professional environment.

This full-color text prepares dental professionals to promptly and proactively recognize and manage medical emergencies that may occur in the dental office. It details how to anticipate potential emergencies and what resources must be on hand to deal effectively with these situations. The book is arranged in eight sections concentrating on topics such as prevention of emergencies through patient evaluation (medical history) and specific types of more common emergencies that practitioners may encounter. "It successfully fulfils its aim of stimulating all members of the dental team to improve and maintain their skills in the effective prevention, recognition and management of medical emergencies."Reviewed by: European Journal of Orthodontics, March 2015  "..very easy to read and provides a very comprehensive reference for a variety of medical emergencies." Reviewed by S.McKernon on behalf of British Dental Journal, July 2015 A logical format reflects the way emergencies are encountered in a dental practice, with chapters organized by commonly seen clinical signs and symptoms, such as unconsciousness or altered consciousness, respiratory distress, seizures, drug-related emergencies, chest pain, and cardiac arrest. Step-by-step procedures include detailed, numbered instructions for stabilizing and treating victims (PCABD) in common medical emergencies. Full-color illustrations demonstrate emergency techniques in realistic clarity. Summary tables and boxes make it easy to find essential concepts and information. Quick-reference algorithms in the appendix include step-by-step diagrams showing the decision-making process in common emergency situations. A differential diagnosis chapter ends each of the book's parts on common emergencies. UPDATED content includes the most current guidelines for drug-related emergencies, unconsciousness, altered consciousness, and cardiac arrest as well as protocols for obstructed airway management. UPDATED PCABD boxes reflect the American Heart Association's new sequence of steps for stabilizing and treating victims with an easy-to-remember acronym: Positioning, Circulation, Airway, Breathing, and Definitive Management. UPDATED! Emergency drug and equipment kit instructions help you assemble emergency kits and ensure that your dental office has safe, current materials on hand.

Offering the most realistic NBDHE review and practice available, Mosby's Review Questions for the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination includes both a print book and companion website to prepare you for exam success. In the book, you'll review with more than 1,250 Component A practice questions - with each answer including a rationale for both correct and incorrect answer options. Online, you can review the same questions plus an additional 420 case-based items related to Component B in 1) practice mode or 2) timed, exam-simulation mode with randomized tests that match the number and distribution of questions on the NBDHE. From a team of dental hygiene experts including lead editor Barbara Bennett, this Q&A resource is an excellent supplement to any NBDHE content review book! More than 1,680 multiple-choice questions provide comprehensive practice spanning the entire NBDHE, with 1,250+ items relating to Component A - more than six times the number of questions on the actual exam! - and 420 case-based questions related to Component B. Rationales accompany each question, fully explaining why each answer choice is either correct or incorrect and thus serving as secondary content review. Distribution of questions matches each category on the NBDHE test specifications, ensuring that you have adequate practice for each content area. An Evolve companion website includes all 1,250+ questions from the book plus additional case studies with color images and accompanying questions, available either in practice mode with instant feedback or in exam-simulation format with results and feedback provided at the end of the exam. A test creator and timer on Evolve generates NBDHE-style tests that mimic the number and distribution of questions on the NBDHE and also provides realistic practice with time management during the exam. 16 detailed case studies on Evolve, each of which includes a patient medical/dental history, completed periodontal chart, oral radiographs, clinical photographs, and 20-35 multiple-choice questions for patients in the five main categories covered on the NBDHE (adult periodontitis, pediatric, geriatric, special needs, and medically compromised). References to text sources make it easy to review or find more information on specific topics.

Think all NBDHE study guides are the same? Think again With easy to understand lessons and practice test questions designed to maximize your score, you'll be ready. You don't want to waste time - and money - retaking an exam. You want to accelerate your education, not miss opportunities for starting your future career Every year, thousands of people think that they are ready for the NBDHE but realize too late when they get their score back that they were not ready at all. They weren't incapable, and they certainly did their best, but they simply weren't studying the right way. There are a variety of methods to prepare for the National Board Dental Hygiene Exam...and they get a variety of results. Trivium Test Prep's NBDHE study guide provides the information, secrets, and confidence needed to get you the score you need - the first time around. Losing points on the NBDHE can cost you precious time, money, and effort that you shouldn't have to spend. What is in the book? In our National Board Dental Hygiene Exam study guide, you get the most comprehensive review of all tested concepts. The subjects are easy to understand, and have fully-explained example questions to ensure that you master the material. Best of all, we show you how this information will be applied on the real exam; NBDHE questions are included so that you can know, without a doubt, that you are prepared. Our study guide is streamlined and concept-driven so you get better results through more effective study time. Why spend days or even weeks reading through meaningless junk, trying to sort out the helpful information from the fluff? We give you everything you need to know in a concise, comprehensive, and effective package.

With a comprehensive and student-friendly format, Foundations of Periodontics for the Dental Hygienist, Sixth Edition equips dental hygiene students with modern, evidence-based coverage of periodontal anatomy, the periodontal disease process, and classification of periodontal disease. Using an easy-to-follow, detailed outline format, leading experts in the field provide readers with an accessible account of the complex subject of periodontics. Rich with engaging features and student resources, the Sixth Edition has been revised and updated throughout to reflect the hygienist's increasingly important role in periodontal therapy, while detailing how students can confidently apply what they have learned to clinical patient care.

An accessible and thorough guide to debonding and fixed retainer bonding Debonding and Fixed Retention in Orthodontics: An Evidence-Based Clinical Guide reviews the protocols, materials, and techniques required at two key stages of orthodontic treatment. The book has been written as a reference guide and the chapters introduce the best-supported and most efficient approaches to each stage of debonding and fixed retainer bonding treatments, from choice of material through to final results. The book includes relevant procedures including orthodontic appliance removal, appliance debonding, the use of rotating instruments, and enamel cleaning. The authors also provide guidance on topics such as the failure and adverse effects of fixed retainers, enamel structural defects, periodontal effects, and aerosol production, to aid in positive result retention. Readers will also find: Two extensive sections covering debonding and fixed retainer bonding Evidence-based guidelines for each stage of treatment Summaries of the side effects of procedures on hard and soft dental tissues Tips to avoid potential unfavorable sequelae Detailed lists of existing methods and their clinical implications Debonding and Fixed Retention in Orthodontics is written for orthodontic specialists, clinicians, and postgraduate dental students looking to build knowledge and ensure the best results during these two stages of orthodontic therapy.

Build the skills you need to provide effective community oral health care! Community Oral Health Practice for the Dental Hygienist, 5th Edition describes the role of the public health professional in improving the oral health care of people throughout the community. It discusses key topics such as access to care, the assessment needed for program planning, social responsibility and government policy, cultural diversity, and career options in public health. Written by respected dental educator Christine French Beatty, this book helps you prepare for the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) and to develop the core competencies needed in the practice setting. Comprehensive, cutting-edge coverage provides everything you need to know to succeed in community dental hygiene practice. Practice-oriented content includes learning objectives in each chapter, opening statements with lists of key facts, mini-scenarios, and Dental Hygiene Competencies. Applying Your Knowledge sections in each chapter provide opportunities to apply what you have learned to local public health problems. Chapters on assessment and measurement help in planning and evaluating community oral health programs. Test-Taking Strategies and Community Cases chapter offers tips and practice questions to help you prepare for the NBDHE, and tests your understanding of content in relation to real-world community situations.  Chapters on population health and oral health programs describe issues affecting access to care as well as common oral diseases and conditions affecting the community, helping you prioritize, plan, implement, and evaluate practical solutions. Learning resources on an Evolve companion website reinforce your understanding with quizzes and case studies. NEW! Comprehensive, cutting-edge content is updated on topics including national initiatives, Healthy People 2030, data on the status of oral health and factors that affect access to oral healthcare, cultural competence, oral health programs in the community, applied research, and the different career paths for dental hygienists.  EXPANDED! Coverage of dental hygiene competencies and interprofessional collaborative practice is enhanced to reflect changes in the oral health profession. UPDATED! Community Case sections in each chapter include sample cases along with test questions. F EXPANDED! Additional photographs and illustrations depict key concepts.

The most comprehensive dental hygiene review book available, Darby's Comprehensive Review of Dental Hygiene, 9th Edition offers an all-inclusive review to help you pass the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE) on the first try. Written by a team of expert editors and authors, this affordable, all-in-one review tool includes a wealth of chapter review questions, case studies, outline-style review of all exam topics, and four computerized practice exams that simulate the NBDHE test-taking experience. It's everything you need for NBDHE success! Comprehensive coverage offers an all-inclusive review for the NBDHE and is supplemented with practice questions. Outline format visually organizes the content and presents information in summary style for easy review and study. Logical chapter organization covers the three main areas of the NBDHE - the scientific basis for dental hygiene practice, the provision of clinical dental hygiene services, and community health and research principles. Case presentations throughout help you prepare for Component B of the board examination. Expert editor and chapter authors are leading educators, researchers, and practitioners in their specific areas who have an in-depth knowledge of what it takes to succeed on the NBDHE. NEW! Review chapter content includes new information on alternative practice settings, infection control guidelines, pediatric care, risk assessment, dental hygiene diagnosis, the electronic health record (EHR), and more. REVISED! Four simulated NBDHE exams on the companion Evolve website feature completely updated information and provide authentic test-taking experience with study and exam modes, question rationales, mapping to NBDHE categories, and timer functionality. UPDATED! Chapter review questions have been revised to reflect the latest developments in dental hygiene practice and include answers and rationales. NEW! Updated art program features modern illustrations and updated clinical photos to accompany content review and case studies.

Back and better than ever, Darby and Walsh's Dental Hygiene: Theory and Practice, 5th Edition offers everything you need to succeed in your coursework, at certification, and in clinical practice. No other dental hygiene text incorporates the clinical skills, theory, and evidence-based practice in such an approachable way. All discussions - from foundational concepts to diagnosis to pain management - are presented within the context of a unique patient-centered model that takes the entire person into consideration. New to this fifth edition is a much more streamlined approach - one that stays focused on need-to-know information, yet also houses expanded content on things like alternative practice settings, pediatric care, risk assessment, and dental hygiene diagnosis to give you added context when needed. This edition is also filled with new modern illustrations and new clinical photos to augment your learning. If you want a better grasp of all the dental hygienist's roles and responsibilities in today's practice, they Darby and Walsh's renowned text is a must-have. Focus on research and evidence-base practice provide proven findings and practical applications for topics of interest in modern dental hygiene care. Step-by-step procedure boxes with accompanying illustrations, clinical photos, and rationales outline the equipment required and the steps involved in performing key procedures. Critical thinking exercises, cases, and scenarios help hone your application and problem-solving skills. Feature boxes highlight patient education, law, ethics, and safety. UNIQUE! Discussions of theory provide a solid foundation for practice. Key terms are called out within chapters and defined in glossary with cross-references to chapters. Practice quizzes enable you to self-assess your understanding. NEW! Streamlined approach focuses on the information you need to know along with the practical applications. NEW! Added content covers alternative practice settings, new infection control guidelines, pediatric care, risk assessment, dental hygiene diagnosis, the electronic health record (EHR), and more. NEW! Modern illustrations and updated clinical photos give you a better picture of how to perform essential skills and utilize clinical technology. NEW! Online procedures videos guide you step-by-step through core clinical skills. NEW! Editorial team brings a fresh perspective and more than 30 years of experience in dental hygiene education, practice, and research.

Dentists face many considerations when treating patients and prescribing medication. This ADA quick reference, created by a team of dentists, pharmacists, scientists, and experts in pharmacology, serves as a clinical educational resource to deliver concise and accurate information about prescribed medications used in dentistry. The second edition of the ADA Dental Drug Handbook has been revised to include the latest, most up-to-date information to assist in treating patients. This handbook presents information on commonly encountered drugs in the dental office in an easy-to-follow format, making it a go-to drug reference for dental professionals.Topics include: Drugs used in dentistry, such as analgesics, antifungals, antivirals, anxiolytics, fluorides, local anesthetics and corticosteroids; Detailed, full-color drug monographs with black box warnings, cautions and contraindications, potential adverse reactions, possible drug interactions and more; Sample prescriptions with dosage, frequency and route of admnistration; Smoking cessation, salivary management and oral lesion treatment; OTC products with the ADA Seal of Acceptance;ADA resources on procedures such as general anesthesia, antibiotic prophylaxis and medication-related osteonecrosis of the jaw. Useful tables presenting adverse drug reactions, drug-drug interactions and generic brands; Drug management for pediatrics, emergency situations, and special care conditions such as hypertension, pregnancy and substance abuse disorder. Includes e-book with access information printed on the inside front cover.

A text, quick reference, and clinical manual for diet and nutrition in oral health  Despite the increasingly important relationships between nutrition and oral health, many dental health professionals may still be hesitant to give nutrition guidance to their patients. Diet and Nutrition in Oral Health is designed to enable readers to answer patient questions and integrate nutrition into clinical practice just as comfortably as they would fluoride and other preventive modalities. Filled with models, guidelines, and practical suggestions, the book can be used as a how-to manual for diet screening and guidance. Readers can also use the book and appendix as a reference on specific nutrition topics, life-cycle groups, or health-related conditions. For educators, an Instructor's Manual with lecture outlines, topics for discussion, and lecture PowerPoints is available to supplement your course.

This book reviews the principles of infection control and the guidelines and standards of care in multiple countries, discussing them within the context of the practice of dentistry. The aim is to enable dental practitioners to ensure that the appropriate measures are adopted for each patient contact, thereby minimizing the risk of transmission of infection - a goal that is becoming ever more important given the threats posed by new or re-emerging infectious diseases and drug-resistant infections. Readers will find information and guidance on all aspects of infection control within the dental office: hand and respiratory hygiene, use of personal protective equipment, safe handling of sharps and safe injection practices, management of occupational exposures, maintenance of dental unit water quality, surface disinfection, and the cleaning and sterilization of dental instruments. Infection Control in the Dental Office will be an invaluable asset for all dental practitioners, including dentists, dental specialists, dental hygienists, and dental assistants.

This full-color text prepares dental professionals to promptly and proactively recognize and manage medical emergencies that may occur in the dental office. It details how to anticipate potential emergencies and what resources must be on hand to deal effectively with these situations. The book is arranged in eight sections concentrating on topics such as prevention of emergencies through patient evaluation (medical history) and specific types of more common emergencies that practitioners may encounter. "It successfully fulfils its aim of stimulating all members of the dental team to improve and maintain their skills in the effective prevention, recognition and management of medical emergencies."Reviewed by: European Journal of Orthodontics, March 2015  "..very easy to read and provides a very comprehensive reference for a variety of medical emergencies." Reviewed by S.McKernon on behalf of British Dental Journal, July 2015 A logical format reflects the way emergencies are encountered in a dental practice, with chapters organized by commonly seen clinical signs and symptoms, such as unconsciousness or altered consciousness, respiratory distress, seizures, drug-related emergencies, chest pain, and cardiac arrest. Step-by-step procedures include detailed, numbered instructions for stabilizing and treating victims (PCABD) in common medical emergencies. Full-color illustrations demonstrate emergency techniques in realistic clarity. Summary tables and boxes make it easy to find essential concepts and information. Quick-reference algorithms in the appendix include step-by-step diagrams showing the decision-making process in common emergency situations. A differential diagnosis chapter ends each of the book's parts on common emergencies. UPDATED content includes the most current guidelines for drug-related emergencies, unconsciousness, altered consciousness, and cardiac arrest as well as protocols for obstructed airway management. UPDATED PCABD boxes reflect the American Heart Association's new sequence of steps for stabilizing and treating victims with an easy-to-remember acronym: Positioning, Circulation, Airway, Breathing, and Definitive Management. UPDATED! Emergency drug and equipment kit instructions help you assemble emergency kits and ensure that your dental office has safe, current materials on hand.