LibGuides: Diagnostic Medical Sonography: Primary Library Resources

Diagnostic Medical Sonography Welcome!

Primary Library Resources

Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to highest quality search engines for your field.

Biological Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource containing citations (not full articles) to biomedical articles and life science journals.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides access to the full-text of hundreds of journals published or distributed by Elsevier. Subjects include: Nursing, Allied Health, Veterinary Medicine, Technology, & the Sciences.

Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to high quality search engines that will help you find the resources you need.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Premier database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, and continuing education modules.
Consumer Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.
Interactive Human Anatomy (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse yourself in interactive research. Students can delve deep into concepts with tools to zoom, rotate, and explore models, explore guided lessons, and use self-assessments to ensure comprehension.
Nursing & Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provide access to scholarly content supporting nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource containing citations (not full articles) to biomedical articles and life science journals.
Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.

No time to search? The library's databases also provide access to hundreds of thousands of eBooks. Take a look at the recommended title(s) linked below.

Atlas of Ultrasound in Obstetrics and Gynecology by Peter M. Doubilet; Carol B. Benson; Beryl R. Benacerraf
ISBN: 9781496356055
Publication Date: 2018-03-14
Packed with more sonographic images than ever before, the third edition of the Atlas of Ultrasound in Obstetrics and Gynecology helps you better understand and interpret sonographic imagery, and improve diagnostic accuracy of ultrasound images. This comprehensive visual tutorial is split into two distinct sections: obstetrical ultrasound and gynecological ultrasound. Each section covers normal and abnormal anatomy, pathology, and interventional procedures. Features: Includes more than 1,300 ultrasound images that highlight normal and abnormal anatomy, pathological conditions, and procedures. Links to more than 200 video clips that depict, in real-time, diagnoses of sonographic abnormalities. All 3 authors hail from Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School. Additional author brings experience in and greater coverage of gynecological ultrasound. Ideal for residents and physicians in radiology, obstetrics, gynecology, emergency medicine, and family practice. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s ), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook , powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Adapt for unique reading needs , supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
Body Imaging: Thorax and Abdomen by Gabriele A. Krombach (Editor); Andreas H. Mahnken (Editor)
ISBN: 9783132054110
Publication Date: 2018-08-08
Body Imaging: Thorax and Abdomen reflects the realities of your everyday work: it describes the principal anatomic landmarks so that you can orient yourself in the chest and abdomen with speed and confidence, interpret the findings, and make a diagnosis. Features: Description of key anatomic landmarks for rapid, confident orientation in the chest and abdomen Precise, step-by-step guide to making the diagnosis Key points summarized in boxes and tables Comprehensive coverage All the modalities in one volume; no need for lengthy lookups in multiple books Focuses on the sectional modalities of CT and MRI, but includes plain radiographs and ultrasound as well Answers to questions such as: Which modality is preferred? How are abnormalities recognized? How is the correct diagnosis derived? Differential diagnosis: What diseases are possible for any given set of symptoms and findings? Richly illustrated More than 1500 superb images drawn from the latest generation of imaging technology, with explanatory diagrams showing details of anatomy and pathology Your radiology workstation in book form-structured, comparative, easy to use
First Trimester Ultrasound Diagnosis of Fetal Abnormalities by Alfred Z. Abuhamad; Rabih Chaoui
ISBN: 9781451193725
Publication Date: 2017-10-04
Stay up to date with recent advances in the use of ultrasound in early gestation with this comprehensive, full-color reference. First Trimester Ultrasound Diagnosis of Fetal Abnormalities is an authoritative, systematic guide to the role of first trimester ultrasound in pregnancy risk assessment and the early detection of fetal malformations. High-quality illustrations and numerous tables throughout enhance readability, making this text an excellent daily resource in clinical practice. Features: Presents state-of-the-art information accompanied by hundreds of superb illustrations reflecting today's best ultrasound technology. Covers general aspects of first trimester ultrasound, including physical principles and bioeffects, technical aspects, fetal biometry and pregnancy dating, screening for chromosomal aneuploidies, multiple pregnancies, and more. Features a chapter on detailed first trimester ultrasound which presents a new, comprehensive and systematic approach to ultrasound imaging in early gestation. Provides detailed coverage of first trimester ultrasound findings in normal and abnormal conditions, covering various organ systems as well as the placenta and umbilical cord. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click -
Jump-Starting a Career in Ultrasound and Sonography by Corona Brezina
ISBN: 9781508185116
Publication Date: 2018-12-30
Give your readers an essential guide to careers in ultrasound and sonography. Diagnostic medical sonographers perform ultrasound procedures that direct high-frequency sound waves into the body. The returning sound waves can be converted into an image of the body's internal structures. The most familiar use of ultrasound is in visualizing the fetus of a pregnant mother, but ultrasound has numerous medical applications. Many diagnostic medical sonographers specialize in particular areas of imaging, including neurosonography and musculoskeletal ultrasound. Sonographers can earn a good salary in this fulfilling career upon completion of a two-year program. Because ultrasounds are low-risk procedures that yield real-time images, sonography is an in-demand field with bright prospects for increased job growth.
Musculoskeletal Ultrasound Cross Sectional Anatomy by John Cianca
ISBN: 9781620700624
Publication Date: 2017-07-01
This spectacular cross-sectional atlas provides a roadmap of normal sonographic anatomy of the musculoskeletal system with optimized images that emphasize spatial relationships and three-dimensional orientation. The book is designed to help novices acquire pattern recognition skills to resolve images into their anatomic components by pairing ultrasound scans with cross-sectional drawings. It will enhance familiarity with musculoskeletal anatomy as it appears on ultrasound imaging for practitioners at any level. Using a sectioned approach, the authors present a visual baseline for evaluating tendon, muscle, ligament, and nerve problems in the upper extremity, lower extremity, and cervical regions. Multiple high resolution views of each structure are accompanied by original illustrations that document the structures in the sonograph and serve as a reference to decipher the image and foster understanding of anatomic relationships and ultrasound appearances. The atlas is an indispensable tool for clinicians learning diagnostic ultrasound, as they can use the anatomical images for comparisons with their own scans. For the seasoned practitioner, the organized format with high-resolution examples makes this an essential reference for confirming exam findings. KEY FEATURESOrients users to anatomical relationships best seen in cross section and necessary to effective utilization of diagnostic ultrasoundOver 150 ultrasound images cover musculoskeletal anatomy from the shoulder to the footEach ultrasound image has a correlative drawing in cross-sectional or regional format with the scanned area depicted within a highlighted frame to enhance understanding of the scanned anatomyEach image is accompanied by a body icon illustrating the level of the scan for each regionBrief text points and legends emphasize key features and landmarks and offer technical tips for obtaining and interpreting scans
Pediatric Sonography by Marilyn J. Siegel
ISBN: 9781496370563
Publication Date: 2018-10-13
Pediatric Sonography has long been recognized as the leading technical reference in its field. Now, the fifth edition continues in that tradition, providing up-to-date guidance on sonographic image decision-making, examination, and interpretation in both children and adolescents. Each chapter covers a specific organ system and the disease processes associated with it. Overflowing with over 1800 updated figures, including Doppler sonograms and full color illustrations. Briskly covers all aspects of sonography in children and adolescents, including imaging techniques, instrumentation, examination, and diagnosis. Depicts the presentation of normal anatomy and identifies technical errors that may affect your interpretation of the sonographic image. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Ultrasound for Primary Care by Paul Bornemann (Editor)
ISBN: 9781496366986
Publication Date: 2020-09-16
Master high-yield point-of-care ultrasound applications that are targeted specifically to answer questions that arise commonly in the outpatient clinic! Written for primary care providers in Family Medicine, Pediatrics and Internal Medicine, Ultrasound for Primary Care is a practical, easy-to-read guide. Learn to incorporate ultrasound to augment your physical exam for evaluation of thyroid nodules, enlarged lymph nodes, pericardial effusion, chronic kidney disease, and a host of musculoskeletal issues, and much more. Additionally, included are chapters on ultrasound for guidance of procedures including joint injections, lumbar puncture and needle biopsy, to name a few. Well-illustrated and highly templated, this unique title helps you expand the scope of your practice and provide more effective patient care. Puts key concepts in the perspective of common questions that arise in primary care with case-based clinical vignettes that exemplify the situations in which these questions arise Presents information in highly templated chapters that provide a clinical vignette, review of the evidence, description of protocol, illustrations, ultrasound view of anatomy, pearls and pitfalls, algorithms, billing codes, and more. Features additional chapters on procedures, covering Musculoskeletal Aspirations and Injections, Central Line Placement, Thoracentesis, Core Needle Biopsy, and many more. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Ultrasound Imaging in Reproductive Medicine by Laurel A. Stadtmauer (Editor); Ilan Tur-Kaspa (Editor)
ISBN: 9783030166984
Publication Date: 2019-08-08
Now in an updated edition, this is the most comprehensive book on modern ultrasound imaging in assisted reproductive technology (ART) and reproductive medicine. Fully revised and expanded, it covers emerging technologies possible with the improvement in ultrasound equipment. 3-D monitoring of ovarian follicles, bidirectional vibrant color and Doppler, and improved 3-D and 4-D imaging of reproductive structures are discussed. MRI-guided ultrasound procedures are covered, and comparisons of 3-D imaging with MRI imaging for uterine anomalies is reviewed with an emphasis on the advantages of 3-D performed in the gynecologist's office, and as a less expensive modality. The overall approach of the original edition is maintained, starting with ultrasound safety and technique and diagnosis of the ovary, uterus and fallopian tubes (both normal and pathologic), followed by both male and female infertility and ART treatments and procedures. Ultrasound monitoring of follicular development, the endometrium, and as an aid in embryo transfer to maximize IVF success rates are reviewed. Topics new to this edition include updated information on the diagnosis of benign and malignant adnexal masses, 3-D follicle monitoring, and the diagnosis of adenomyosis and endometriosis, including deep inseminated endometriosis. Additionally, the evaluation of endometrial receptivity, the use of contrasts for fallopian tube patency, controversies regarding septate uterus versus arcurate uterus with the use of 3-D ultrasound, and 3-D ultrasound with saline infusion sonogram and early pregnancy ultrasound are all discussed. An excellent resource for reproductive medicine and ART specialists, gynecologists and ultrasonographers alike, Ultrasound Imaging in Reproductive Medicine, Second Edition covers all that clinicians need to know about the role of ultrasound, from the first time a woman comes into the clinic for treatment, including ART, to early pregnancy monitoring. See better, do ART better.

Find physical books by searching our online catalog on the library's homepage. You can browse in person and pick up these books by visiting your local library branch. Here are our hours and locations.

Diagnostic Ultrasound, 2-Volume Set by Carol M. Rumack; Deborah Levine
ISBN: 9780323401715
Publication Date: 2017-09-20
Now fully updated with more than 2,000 new images, 200 new videos, and new content throughout, Diagnostic Ultrasound, 5th Edition, by Drs. Carol M. Rumack and Deborah Levine, remains the most comprehensive and authoritative ultrasound resource available. Spanning a wide range of medical specialties and practice settings, it provides complete, detailed information on the latest techniques for ultrasound imaging of the whole body; image-guided procedures; fetal, obstetric, and pediatric imaging; and much more. Up-to-date guidance from experts in the field keep you abreast of expanding applications of this versatile imaging modality and help you understand the "how" and "why" of ultrasound use and interpretation. Covers all aspects of diagnostic ultrasound with sections for Physics; Abdominal, Pelvic, Small Parts, Vascular, Obstetric, and Pediatric Sonography. Uses a straightforward writing style and extensive image panels with correlative findings. Features 5,000 images - more than 2,000 brand-new - including new 2D and 3D imaging as well as the use of contrast agents and elastography. Includes a new virtual chapter on artifacts with individually labelled images from throughout the book, displaying artifacts with descriptive legends by category and how they can be used in diagnosis or corrected for better quality imaging. Features more images and new uses for contrast agents in the liver, breast, and in pediatric applications. Includes current information on imaging more diagnostic dilemmas, such as Zika virus in the fetus and newborn. Includes 400 video clips showing real-time scanning of anatomy and pathology. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Diagnostic Ultrasound: Abdomen and Pelvis by Aya Kamaya; Jade Wong-You-Cheong
ISBN: 9780323376433
Publication Date: 2015-10-15
Diagnostic Ultrasound: Abdomen and Pelvis combines anatomy, diagnosis, and differential diagnosis information specific to the abdomen and pelvis, presenting multiple vantage points to ensure clarity and full comprehension of each topic. This image-rich resource provides examples and insight into the full spectrum of imaging appearances observed in various entities to aid in decision support. With 23 new chapters and approximately 2,500 images, it is the most comprehensive, up-to-date reference on this rapidly changing imaging modality. Coverage of new topics including liver transplantation, bowel ultrasound, and other various abdominal and pelvic entities Detailed anatomy section shows transducer placement in association with imaging, with a robust collection of CT/MR correlations Time-saving reference features include succinct and bulleted text, a variety of test data tables, key facts in each chapter, annotated images, and an extensive index Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
OB/GYN Sonography by Jim Baun; Marie De Lange
ISBN: 9780941022873
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Ob/Gyn Sonography: An Illustrated Review--Step 1 in Davies' 1-2-3 Step Ultrasound Education & Test Preparation program--is an efficient and powerful silver-bullet review for the national registry examination in obstetric and gynecologic sonography. It thoroughly covers the ARDMS exam outline, succinctly and systematically explaining and illustrating each exam topic with easy-to-read text, more than 1000 anatomic illustrations and diagnostic scans, 49 tables containing normal fetal measurements and other clinical reference data, bulleted lists of key facts, and self-assessment exercises. Ob/Gyn Sonography: An Illustrated Review is also a practical, manageable, reader-friendly text and reference for students, cross-training sonographers, practicing sonographers, and interpreting physicians that has been peer-reviewed by 19 nationally known experts. A complete CME application and quiz at the end of the book make it possible to earn 15 hours of SDMS-approved continuing medical education credit anywhere, anytime, at your convenience.
Practical Musculoskeletal Ultrasound by Eugene McNally
ISBN: 9780702034770
Publication Date: 2014-05-29
Practical Musculoskeletal Ultrasound is your ideal, accessible guide to all of today?s clinically useful musculoskeletal ultrasound techniques and their major applications in patient diagnosis and management. This thoroughly updated radiology reference encompasses all of the most recent advances in ultrasound technology, delivering the unmatched guidance you need to conduct an effective ultrasound examination, obtain optimal images, and expertly interpret your findings. "..comprehensive and insightful." Reviewed by: Dr. Paula Richards on behalf of RAD Magazine, December 2014 Balance the advantages of musculoskeletal ultrasound (superficial soft-tissue injury) with its limitations (deep or intra-articular structures). Obtain an optimal field of view with anatomic/sonographic correlations throughout. Apply quick, accurate, and cost-effective methods of assessment through a focus on those areas where MSK ultrasound has the most clinical impact. Apply all of the latest knowledge in MSK ultrasound with expanded coverage of the shoulder, elbow, wrist, hand, hip, knee, foot, and ankle, as well as interventional radiology techniques. Make the most definite interpretations and diagnoses with help from hundreds of new line drawings and scans, as well as the addition of real-time videos online to complement each image. Reference differential diagnosis tables to quickly deduce the most likely clinical problem being assessed. Access the complete radiology text and all of the images and video clips online at Expert Consult.
Sonography Principles and Instruments by Frederick W. Kremkau
ISBN: 9780323597081
Publication Date: 2020-01-07
Enhance your imaging skills with the latest sonographic technologies and prepare for the ARDMS SPI certification exam! Sonography: Principles and Instruments, 10th Edition explains how diagnostic ultrasound works and covers the essentials of ultrasound physics and instrumentation, including Doppler imaging, artifacts, safety, and quality assurance. More than 1,300 illustrations include ultrasound scans, helping to demonstrate imaging anatomy, motion, and flow. In simplifying complicated concepts, Dr. Kremkau succeeds where other texts do not. With the right blend of imaging fundamentals, current techniques, and exam practice questions, this book is ideal for both students and experienced practitioners. Emphasis on the fundamentals of physics and sonography prepares you for the ARDMS SPI (Sonography Principles & Instrumentation) certification exam. Coverage of current technology includes the progress made with contrast agents and 3D, along with the more general aspects of transducers and instruments. Straightforward explanations simplify complicated concepts. Over 120 ultrasound scans with a full-color design represent what you will encounter in the clinical setting. Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter give you a measurable outcome to achieve. Key terms are listed at the beginning of each chapter and bolded in the text for fast and convenient lookup. Key Points are marked with an icon and special type, highlighting the most important information to help you study more efficiently. Bulleted review at the end of each chapter identifies key concepts. End-of-chapter exercises test your knowledge and understanding with a blend of multiple-choice, matching, and true/false questions. Glossary at the end of the book serves as a quick reference to key terms, letting you look up definitions without having to search through each chapter. Appendices offer convenient access to a list of symbols and equations, plus a mathematics review. Student resources on the Evolve companion website enhance learning with videos, a physics review, an image collection, and advanced concepts.

You can search our Journals or browse by subject from the library's homepage. For a quick look at what we have available in this subject area, see the title(s) below.

Advances in Human Biology
Covers technical and clinical studies related to health, ethical and social issues in field of Biochemistry, Genetics, Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology, Pathology, Pharmacology, Biotechnology), fields of Medicine and Dentistry.
Journal of Diagnostic Medical Sonography
Journal publishing peer-reviewed articles for the continuing professional education of diagnostic medical sonographers.

Check out the link(s) below to stream videos on this subject. You can also visit Films on Demand to browse their entire collection.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
A collection of short videos about job searching, soft skills for workplaces, and career information for a variety of industries.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video allows you to view this collection of videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Our collection includes videos about careers, business, science, health, social science, art & literature, history, and more, with a combined total of over 29,000 full-length video titles in over 275,000 segments.

Diagnostic Medical Sonographer—Career Q&A: Professional Advice and Insight What is it like to be a diagnostic medical sonographer? In this Career Q&A video interview, Eileen Mathers talks about her career path, what she does on the job, and the keys to success in her field. She also offers candid advice on breaking into the profession as well as insight into the industry’s biggest challenges and how the field may change in the next ten years.

Understanding Musculoskeletal Ultrasound Technology Ultrasound imaging, which uses high-frequency sound waves to produce pictures of the inside of the body, can be used to diagnose and treat conditions and injuries of the musculoskeletal system: the muscles, tendons, ligaments, joints, and soft tissue throughout the body. This program explores musculoskeletal ultrasound technology, showing viewers how it works and how it is being used as an important diagnostic tool. It also highlights the benefits of musculoskeletal ultrasound images for both patients and physicians—and takes a look into the future of this technology. (27 minutes)

We can also direct you to resources outside of the library's databases. See below for a selection of websites related to your field.

National Center for Biotechnology Information
The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
Science Daily: Biology
Your resource for the latest research news
American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine (AIUM)
The American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine is a multidisciplinary medical association of more than 9000 physicians, sonographers, scientists, students, and other health care providers. Established more than 50 years ago, the AIUM is dedicated to advancing the safe and effective use of ultrasound in medicine through professional and public education, research, development of guidelines, and accreditation.
American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonography® (ARDMS®)
The American Registry for Diagnostic Medical Sonography® (ARDMS®) administers examinations and awards credentials in areas of ultrasound. Through its mission, ARDMS empowers sonographers to provide exceptional patient care through rigorous assessments and continual learning.

ARDMS administers examinations and awards the following credentials:
• Registered Diagnostic Medical Sonographer® (RDMS®)
• Registered Diagnostic Cardiac Sonographer® (RDCS®)
• Registered Vascular Technologist® (RVT®)
• Registered Musculoskeletal™ Sonographer(RMSKS™)

Want to learn more about a particular career? These resources will help you learn more about the potential a career field holds.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource for career exploration and planning that allows users to quickly find the valuable career information they need, whether it’s industry and professions articles, school planning resources, or skills and career advice.
Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 2010-20 decade.

Want to take a practice test? These resources contain tests associated with your field of study.

Learning Express / PrepStep This link opens in a new window
Practice tests, interactive tutorials, and eBooks for students adult learners. Includes practices tests such as GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS, and supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen, study for entrance exams for health science programs, and much more.

Diagnostic Medical Sonography

Contact

Social Media