LibGuides: Emergency Medical Training: Primary Library Resources

Welcome!

Primary Library Resources

Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to highest quality search engines for your field.

TDS Health (Stat!Ref) This link opens in a new window
This online resource includes over 60 electronic nursing and dental textbooks which are cross-searchable with full text. All titles are the most recent online editions. Stat!Ref was rebranded as TDS Health in late 2019.

Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to high quality search engines that will help you find the resources you need.

Biological Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Discover periodicals and reference book content designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, periodicals, reference works, and multimedia. Provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource containing citations (not full articles) to biomedical articles and life science journals.
Salem Health This link opens in a new window
The Salem Health resources include searchable online databases of health encyclopedias owned by the CCCC libraries. These titles are also available in print at the libraries. These titles are also available in print at the libraries. Lee: Psychology and Mental Health; Magill's Medical Guide.
State Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
Health-related research and reports and a collection of health statistics.

No time to search? The library's databases also provide access to hundreds of thousands of eBooks. Take a look at the recommended title(s) linked below.

Black's Medical Dictionary by Harvey Marcovitch
ISBN: 9781472943071
Publication Date: 2017-08-24
Black's Medical Dictionary has been the best-selling medical dictionary for over 100 years. It is invaluable as a home reference and for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists. It contains over 5000 definitions and descriptions of medical terms and concepts with over 1000 diagrams, drawings and colour illustrations. It also provides helpful appendices on common medical tests and procedures, travel and health, measurements in medicine, health economics, complementary and alternative medicine, and an address list of support professional organisations.
The Complete First Aid Pocket Guide by John Furst
ISBN: 9781507208892
Publication Date: 2018-11-13
From minor cuts and burns, to heart attacks and strokes, this handy, take-anywhere guide gives you the knowledge and advice you need to recognize and respond to any medical emergency. Be prepared for any medical emergency and handle it safely and efficiently with The Complete First Aid Pocket Guide. Quickly identify signs and symptoms of a wide range of medical conditions andlearn how to recognize the difference between a minor injury or illness, and those that are more serious with this essential handbook. Each section of The Complete First Aid Pocket Guide includes a quick list of signs and symptoms to look for and step-by-step first aid instructions for dealing with each situation, all in user-friendly, simple language that's easy to understand. Medical issues covered include: --First aid basics, including roles and responsibilities of a first aider, managing an incident, activating emergency services, and infection control --Lifesaving skills including the recovery position, cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), and use of an automated external defibrillator (AED) --Minor injuries and conditions, including soft tissue injuries, splinters, blisters, eye injuries, nosebleed, diarrhea, and vomiting --Traumatic injuries including severe bleeding, amputation, shock, fractures, crush injuries, burns, and head and neck injuries --Medical emergencies including heart attack, stroke, asthma, anaphylaxis, hypoglycemia, meningitis, seizures, poisoning, and emergency childbirth --Environmental conditions including hypothermia, frostbite, heat stroke, sunburn, and lightning strike --Pediatric emergencies and illnesses, including assessing an unresponsive child or baby, pediatric cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), choking, croup, and febrile seizures --First aid kit lists for home, vehicles, and outdoor use With an appendix featuring an A-to-Z list of every condition covered, it's easy for you to quickly find the exact information you need in any situation you may face. With its small trim and portable size, The Complete First Aid Pocket Guide is the perfect addition to a home first aid kit, car first aid kit, disaster-survival bag, as well as a pocket companion for EMTs and other first responders in the field.
Emt by Pat Ivey
ISBN: 9781497625181
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
A cardiac technician takes you to the front lines of emergency medicine--from tragic car accidents to gunshot wounds--in this "fast-moving" memoir (Booklist). This book takes the reader to the front lines of medicine, from a serious automobile accident on a dark country road to a woman in cardiac arrest to a young man with near‑fatal gunshot wounds. For these patients and countless others, treatment cannot wait until they are wheeled into a distant emergency room. If lives are to be salvaged, care must begin with the life‑saving skills of Emergency Medical Technicians. "I could never work on a rescue squad," is a statement the author has heard over and over throughout her years of squad service and readily admits it once described her own feelings. "If I can do it, so can you," is her response to those whose fear and self‑doubt hold them back. "Anything is possible." EMT: Beyond the Lights and Sirens is more than a personal account of Pat Ivey's rescue squad experiences. It is a story of courage and hope and letting go of past losses. It is a book for anyone who has ever struggled to go beyond who they are. Step aboard the ambulance. Witness the tender moments amidst tragedy. Experience the joy and the anguish, and share the tears and laughter of volunteer rescue squad personnel who respond around the clock to the cries of others. In this heartwarming and compelling book, Pat Ivey takes the reader beyond the lights and sirens on a journey they will never forget.
Emt Emergency Medical Technician by Christopher Coughlin
ISBN: 9780738612355
Publication Date: 2018-01-05
REA's EMT Crash Course® Everything you need for the exam - in a fast review format! REA's EMT Crash Course® is the only book of its kind for the last-minute studier or any prospective Emergency Medical Technician who wants a quick refresher before taking the NREMT Certification Exam. Targeted, Focused Review - Study Only What You Need to Know Written by an EMS Program Director and NREMT paramedic with 30 years of experience, EMT Crash Course® relies on the author's careful analysis of the exam's content and actual test questions. It covers only the information tested on the exam, so you can make the most of your valuable study time. Our fully indexed targeted review covers all the official test categories including airway, ventilation, oxygenation, trauma, cardiology, medical, and EMS operations and is packed with practice questions and answers at the end of each chapter. Also included are tips and insights on résumé building, information on finding additional training opportunities, and more. Expert Test-taking Strategies Our experienced EMT author explains the structure of the NREMT Certification Exam, so you know what to expect on test day. He also shares detailed question-level strategies and shows you the best way to answer questions. By following our expert tips and advice, you can score higher on every section of the exam. Must-know Key Terms Knowing the right medical terminology can make a real difference in your test score. That's why we cover more than 400 EMT terms you need to know before you take your exam. Full-length Online Practice Exam The book comes with a true-to-format online practice test with diagnostic feedback, topic-level scoring, and detailed answer explanations to help students gauge their test-readiness. No matter how or when you prepare for the EMT exam, REA's EMT Crash Course® will show you how to study efficiently and strategically, so you can get a great score! About the Author Dr. Christopher Coughlin is the EMS Program Director for Glendale Community College in Glendale, Arizona. Dr. Coughlin has been an NREMT paramedic since 1991 and was one of the first 850 nationally certified flight paramedics (FP-C) in the United States. Dr. Coughlin earned his AAS in Advanced Emergency Medical Technology from Glendale Community College; his B.A. in Adult Education from Ottawa University, Phoenix, Arizona; his M.Ed. in Educational Leadership from Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff, Arizona, and his Ph.D. in Professional Studies from Capella University, Minneapolis, Minnesota.
EMT Flashcard Book, 4th Ed by Jeffrey Lindsey
ISBN: 9780738612478
Publication Date: 2019-01-15
REA's EMT Flashcard Book, 4th Edition Raise your score with 400 must-study test questions! REA's flashcard book for the EMT exam helps you check your test-readiness and get a high score. Our flashcard book is the perfect refresher and offers a quick and convenient way to practice answering questions while pinpointing your strengths and weaknesses. Written by an expert with nearly 30 years of experience in the fire and EMS arenas, our flashcards give you full scenarios to evaluate in a multiple-choice format, just like the actual test. The book contains 400 must-study questions that cover all the test categories on the EMT exam: airway and breathing, cardiology, medical, obstetrics and pediatrics, and trauma. Handy icons help you locate questions by subject, so you can review and test your knowledge in specific areas. The book also includes fun facts about the medical/EMT profession and its history. Unlike most flashcards that come loose in a box, our flashcards are bound in an organized, portable book that makes studying a breeze. Our concise question and answer format makes it easy to find the right answer, and we give details explaining why the answer is correct. REA's EMT flashcards are perfect for on-the-go review and ideal for individual, classroom, or group study.
Manual of Clinical Paramedic Procedures by Pete Gregory; Ian Mursell
ISBN: 9781405163552
Publication Date: 2010-02-08
'I can enthusiastically recommend the Manual of Clinical Paramedic Procedures as the book that I wish had been available to me when I was studying to become a paramedic.' From the foreword by Professor Malcolm Woollard, Chair, College of Paramedics; Professor in Pre-hospital and Emergency Care & Director, Pre-hospital, Emergency & Cardiovascular Care Applied Research Group, Coventry University Clinical procedures are a fundamental aspect of care for practitioners working in pre-hospital settings. The Manual of Clinical Paramedic Procedures is written specifically to support the practice of paramedics, ambulance technicians, first responders and volunteer ambulance personnel. It presents up-to-date, evidence-based expert knowledge, enabling paramedics to deliver effective, patient-focused care. This accessible handbook provides a comprehensive exploration of core competencies and skills, looking at topics including Aseptic Technique, Airway Management, Assisted Ventilation, Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation, Defibrillation and External Cardiac Pacing, Observations, Pain Assessment & Management, Respiratory Therapy, Spinal Management and Venepuncture. Each chapter provides the relevant anatomy & physiology, evidence-based rationales for each procedure, and contraindications of use. Key features: The first UK text to explore clinical procedures for paramedics With further reading and illustrations throughout All procedures include the rationale for the action recommended Guides paramedics in the clinical application of evidence-based procedures
The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management by Calvin A. Brown, John C. Sakles, and Nathan W. Mick
ISBN: 9781496351982
Publication Date: 2017-06-28
Wilderness EMS by Seth C. Hawkins (Editor)
ISBN: 9781496349453
Publication Date: 2017-12-21
Wilderness EMS is designed for EMS providers and leaders who deliver medical care in the wilderness, and those practicing wilderness medicine as part of a formal team. The textbook is a comprehensive, expertly-written reference ideal for this fast-changing and multidisciplinary specialty. This first-of-its-kind text provides specialized instruction and best practices for wilderness EMS practitioners and students - crucial information for the success of today's rescue missions. A strong foundation in evidence-based medicine, clinical experience, and field applicability makes it especially useful for any EMS provider in a wilderness environment. Features: Addresses WEMS system needs: education, incident command, medical oversight, medicolegal considerations, equipment needs, research, and pharmacology, promoting strong skills in multiagency interactions and transitions of care. Extensive discussion of history of wilderness EMS, including first-ever comprehensive timeline. Covers wilderness, austere, and remote management of specific medical and traumatic conditions, including cold injuries and heat illnesses, lightning injuries, animal bites and envenomations, psychiatric emergencies, low-pressure altitude and high-pressure diving physiology and illnesses, drowning, infectious disease, and much more. Offers information on basic rigging and patient packaging; high- and low-angle rescue; swiftwater and open water rescue; use of ground and air-based rescue vehicles; caving rescue; Search and Rescue (SAR); mountaineering rescue; and wilderness management of special events and severe storms. Features a full-color format with abundant photographs, illustrations, tables, boxes, and references for further study. Includes the most comprehensive list available of WEMS Abbreviations for clear communication, and extensive discussion of optimizing language use for clarity in wilderness EMS operations and publications. Presents the expert guidance and knowledge of contributing authors from throughout the U.S., including physicians, nurses, paramedics, EMTs, statewide and local EMS medical directors, therapists, rescue team chiefs, pharmacologists, SAR team members, swiftwater rescue technicians, and many more. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click _
The Washington Manual of Emergency Medicine by Mark D. Levine (Editor)
ISBN: 9781496379252
Publication Date: 2017-09-30
Each high-quality volume in the esteemed Washington Manual series brings together contributions from faculty and residents at the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. The Washington Manual of Emergency Medicine, the latest addition to the series, focuses on practical content on how physicians actually practice emergency care. Comprehensive and concise, it also acts as a handy quick-reference, delivering need-to-know information at your fingertips, even in point-of-care situations. Features: Goes beyond the scope of a traditional emergency medicine reference to address topics such as interactions, treatments, and patient stabilization. Organized into practice-facing sections focusing on content for emergency medicine professionals. Ideal for students and residents in emergency departments, emergency medicine physicians, and advanced practice nurses and physician assistants. Each chapter follows a templated structure so you can uncover information quickly and apply it to a care situation effectively. Covers issues appropriate for emergency departments: toxicology, end-of-life procedures, psychiatric care, ultrasound, violence in the ER, procedural skills, and more. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline. Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks. Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design. The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click.

Find physical books by searching our online catalog on the library's homepage. You can browse in person and pick up these books by visiting your local library branch. Here are our hours and locations.

EMT-Basic Exam by LearningExpress Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781576857908
Publication Date: 2011-10-16
Now completely updated, this best-selling guide offers test takers the advantage they need to ace the EMT exam, including: --ELEVEN practice exams based on the most recent DOT/NHTSA curriculum-PLUS a free online link to an additional test --Strategies to help test takers score their best, from reducing test anxiety to understanding how standardized tests work--Information on how to pinpoint and fill in the gaps in areas where more study is needed

You can search our Journals or browse by subject from the library's homepage. For a quick look at what we have available in this subject area, see the title(s) below.

Advances in Human Biology
Covers technical and clinical studies related to health, ethical and social issues in field of Biochemistry, Genetics, Anatomy, Physiology, Microbiology, Pathology, Pharmacology, Biotechnology), fields of Medicine and Dentistry.
Emergency Medicine Journal : EMJ
Case Reports in Emergency Medicine
Annals of Emergency Medicine
Annals of Emergency Medicine, the official journal of the American College of Emergency Physicians, is an international, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to improving the quality of care by publishing the highest quality science for emergency medicine and related medical specialties. Annals publishes original research, clinical reports, opinion, and educational information related to the practice, teaching, and research of emergency medicine. In addition to general emergency medicine topics, Annals regularly publishes articles on out-of-hospital emergency medical services, pediatric emergency medicine, injury and disease prevention, health policy and ethics, disaster management, toxicology, and related topics.
The American Journal of Emergency Medicine
Visual Journal of Emergency Medicine
The Visual Journal of Emergency Medicine publishes image-based case discussions representing the entire core curriculum and subspecialties of clinical emergency medicine. Images include clinical photos, EKGs, ultrasound images, plain radiographs, and representative CT and MR images. Each image-based case will include a question and answer set. Published in a mobile optimized online format, the journal provides a multidisciplinary clinical and educational publishing opportunity for emergency physicians, emergency medicine and other residents, fellows, emergency nurses, physician assistants, EMTs, paramedics, and clinicians in related fields.

Check out the link(s) below to stream videos on this subject. You can also visit Films on Demand to browse their entire collection.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video allows you to view this collection of videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Our collection includes videos about careers, business, science, health, social science, art & literature, history, and more, with a combined total of over 29,000 full-length video titles in over 275,000 segments.

EMT With the growth of America’s urban populations has come an increased demand for medical first responders—most notably, the emergency medical technician. This program guides students through the duties of the EMT-Basic and EMT-Paramedic, the skills and personality traits both require, and the financial and personal advantages that these positions offer. Featuring interviews with veterans of the profession, the program describes the 110-hour class and national or state registry exam an aspiring EMT must complete, along with specific functions—for EMT-Bs, supporting an ambulance team in the field and during patient transport, maintaining vitals and airwave access, controlling bleeding, basic splinting, and applying a cervical collar; and for EMT-Paramedics, traction splinting, patient status assessment, and other functions that prepare patients for emergency room care. Both the Hollywood-style excitement and the routine aspects of EMT life are emphasized, in addition to the best high school courses and volunteer opportunities in which a would-be EMT should get involved. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. Correlates to national and state board certification standards. A Meridian Production. (22 minutes)

Emergency Medical Technician—Career Q&A: Professional Advice and Insight What is it like to be an emergency medical technician? In this Career Q&A video interview, Jeff Broyles talks about his career path, what he does on the job, and the keys to success working as an emergency medical technician. He also offers candid advice on breaking into the profession as well as insight into the industry’s biggest challenges and how the field may change in the next ten years.

We can also direct you to resources outside of the library's databases. See below for a selection of websites related to your field.

Want to learn more about a particular career? These resources will help you learn more about the potential a career field holds.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource for career exploration and planning that allows users to quickly find the valuable career information they need, whether it’s industry and professions articles, school planning resources, or skills and career advice.
Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 2010-20 decade.

When searching for information in the sciences it is important to know that there are two main types of information you will encounter: primary and secondary sources.

Primary sources are resources that report the results of original scientific research, written by those who did the research, that has not been published anywhere else.

If a publication comments on, evaluates, or discusses the original research report, then it is a secondary source, not a primary one.

	Primary Source	Secondary Source
DEFINITIONS	Original materials that have not been filtered through interpretation or evaluation by a second party.	Sources that contain commentary on or a discussion about a primary source.
TIMING OF PUBLICATION CYCLE	Primary sources tend to come first in the publication cycle.	Secondary sources tend to come second in the publication cycle.
FORMATS--depends on the kind of analysis being conducted.	Conference papers, dissertations, interviews, laboratory notebooks, patents, a study reported in a journal article, a survey reported in a journal article, and technical reports.	Review articles, magazine articles, and books.
Example: Scientists studying Genetically Modified Foods.	Article in a scholarly journal reporting methodology and results of an original research study on GMO foods.	Article or book analyzing, comparing, and commenting on the results of a number of original research studies.

Source: The Evolution of Scientific Information (from Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science, vol. 26) & GTCC Library Guide.

A Rough Guide to Spotting Bad Science

Emergency Medical Training

Contact

Social Media