LibGuides: Veterans: Primary Library Resources

Veterans Welcome!

Primary Library Resources

For more information, please contact the CCCC Veterans Upward Bound at veteransub@cccc.edu or (919) 718-7463

About CCCC's Veterans Upward Bound Programs:

What is Veterans Upward Bound Program

Veterans Upward Bound is designed to motivate and assist veterans in the development of academic and other requisite skills necessary for acceptance and success in a program of postsecondary education. The program provides assessment and enhancement of basic skills through counseling, mentoring, tutoring and academic instruction in the core subject areas. The primary goal of the program is to increase the rate at which participants enroll in and complete postsecondary education programs.

Program Services

All Veterans Upward Bound projects must provide instruction in mathematics through pre-calculus, laboratory science, foreign language, composition and literature. Projects may also provide short-term remedial or refresher courses for veterans who are high school graduates but have delayed pursuing postsecondary education. Projects are also expected to assist veterans in securing support services from other locally available resources such as the Veterans Administration, state veterans agencies, veteran associations, and other state and local agencies that serve veterans.

Other services include:

Education or counseling services designed to improve the financial and economic literacy of participants
Instruction in reading, writing, study skills, and other subjects necessary for success in education beyond high school
Academic, financial, or personal counseling
Tutorial services
Mentoring programs
Information on postsecondary education opportunities
Assistance in completing college entrance and financial aid applications
Assistance in preparing for college entrance exams
Information on the full range of Federal Student financial aid programs and benefits
Guidance and assistance in alternative education programs for secondary school dropouts that lead to receipt of a regular secondary school diploma, entry into general education development (GED) programs or postsecondary education

Target Counties

Veterans residing in the following counties in North Carolina are eligible to apply

Lee County
Harnett County
Chatham County
Johnston County
Wake County

Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to high quality search engines that will help you find the resources you need.

Military Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.

No time to search? The library's databases also provide access to hundreds of thousands of eBooks. Take a look at the recommended title(s) linked below.

College Admission Essentials by Ethan Sawyer
ISBN: 9781492678830
Publication Date: 2020-07-21
You can get into the perfect school! You may think that getting an acceptance letter from selective colleges and universities is a mad dash to the top that only the very best students survive, and those who make it are just the lucky ones. Stress levels soar as it feels like the bar is rising higher and everything is out of your control. But that's not true! You can take control, and you can do it in a way that's as effective as it is empowering. From describing your extracurriculars to interviews with admission officers, it comes down to two questions: What matters most to you? How does it manifest in your life? The answers will give direction to every part of the admission process. Ethan Sawyer (the College Essay Guy), along with dozens of top admission experts, will help you stand out by showing colleges and universities how your values and your drive will change you, your alma mater, and the world. Inside you'll find... Advice and insight from a team of counselors, advisors, and deans of admission Interactive exercises that quickly and easily provide the best content for your application Access to a massive database of online resources, including organizational tools and in-depth guides Guidance for veterans, students with learning differences, LGBTQ+ students, students interested in women's colleges or HBCUs, and more www.collegeessayguy.com
Life after the Military by Janelle B. Moore; Don Philpott; Cheryl Lawhorne-Scott
ISBN: 9781605907406
Publication Date: 2011-06-16
Hundreds of thousands of military members are making the transition to civilian life each year. This transition is a move into unfamiliar territory and can be an extremely uncomfortable process. However, there are resources in place that can relieve much of the stress of the challenging situations that may arise. In Life After the Military: A Handbook for Transitioning Veterans, authors Janelle Hill, Don Philpott, and Cheryl Lawhorne-Scott collect all the information needed to settle into life after the military in one volume.The book discusses the many issues that transitioning veterans are faced with such as finding employment, going back to school, managing finances, special benefits available to veterans, and a host of other issues the transitioning veteran is likely to face when making the move to civilian life. It also discusses the emotional and psychological challenges that come with leaving the military and settling into life as a civilian. This book is essential for all who are transitioning out of the military, as well as their loved ones.
Out of Uniform by Tom Wolfe
ISBN: 9781640120006
Publication Date: 2018-04-01
After completing military service, veterans can have a difficult time finding employment when returning to civilian life. Out of Uniform, Second Edition is designed to help all transitioning military personnel, regardless of service, branch, rank, rating, time in service, time in grade, or specialty. Although all service members share common denominators, each individual brings something unique to the job market. Not only does this book cover the basics--search techniques, networking, interview preparation, résumés, negotiation, and a new chapter on social media--it also offers guidance on topics that are often overlooked, specifically the central issues of self-knowledge, interviewing empathy, and the power of questions. In addition to the technical guidance, readers will also discover important information in the anecdotes based on the experiences of soldiers, sailors, air force personnel, and marines. Out of Uniform, Second Edition is an invaluable resource for veterans who want to make the most out of their civilian career opportunities.
PTSD Compensation and Military Service by Veterans' Compensation for Posttraumatic Stress Disorder Committee (Contribution by); National Research Council (U.S) Staff; Board on Behavioral, Cognitive, and Sensory Sciences Staff; Board on Military and Veterans Health Staff; Institute of Medicine Staff
ISBN: 9780309105521
Publication Date: 2007-08-25
The scars of war take many forms: the limb lost, the illness brought on by a battlefield exposure, and, for some, the psychological toll of encountering an extremely traumatic event. PTSD Compensation and Military Service presents a thorough assessment of how the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs evaluates veterans with possible posttraumatic stress disorder and determines the level of disability support to which they are entitled. The book presents a history of mental health disability compensation of military personnel and reviews the current compensation and pension examination procedure and disability determination methodology. It offers a number of recommendations for changes that would improve the fairness, consistency, and scientific foundation of this vital program. This book will be of interest and importance to policy makers, veterans affairs groups, the armed forces, health care organizations, and veterans themselves.
Veterans' Policies, Veterans' Politics by Stephen R. Ortiz (Editor)
ISBN: 9780813042077
Publication Date: 2012-11-27
"Provides a much-needed interdisciplinary approach to the study of the important intersection of veteran policies and political arguments that have helped to define the modern American state."--Robert Saxe, author of "Settling Down": World War II Veterans' Challenge to the Postwar Consensus "An outstanding collection of essays that will engage anyone interested in the veteran experience in modern America. It should be read by political leaders and the general public who want to develop better ways to reintegrate veterans of our wars in Afghanistan and Iraq back into American society."--G. Kurt Piehler, author of Remembering the War the American Way The study of military veterans and politics has been a growing topic of interest, but to date most research on the topic has remained isolated in specific, unconnected fields of inquiry. Veterans' Policies, Veterans' Politics is the first multidisciplinary, comprehensive examination of the American veteran experience. Stephen Ortiz has compiled some of the best work on the formation and impact of veterans' policies, the politics of veterans' issues, and veterans' political engagement over the course of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries in the United States. By examining the U.S. government's treatment of veterans vis-#65533;-vis such topics as health care, disability, race, the GI Bill, and combat exposure, the contributors reveal how debates regarding veterans' policies inevitably turn into larger political battles over citizenship and the role of the federal government. With the conflicts in Afghanistan and Iraq now the longest military operations in U.S. history and the numbers of veterans returning from overseas deployment higher than they've been in a generation, this is a timely and necessary book.

Find physical books by searching our online catalog on the library's homepage. You can browse in person and pick up these books by visiting your local library branch. Here are our hours and locations.

Browse Veterans Books

Browse Financial Health Books

Browse Health Books

Browse Mental Health Books

We can also direct you to resources outside of the library's databases. See below for a selection of websites related to your field.

Education Resources

Military @ CCCC
At Central Carolina Community College, we understand the unique needs of service members and their spouses. This is why we work to make it possible for you to finish your college education, regardless of location. Whether you want to earn points toward promotion or to transfer credits toward a bachelor's degree, our staff will work to build a plan that's right for you. You can count on CCCC to provide the education you deserve.
Student Veterans & Higher Education
Learn more about being a student Veteran, treatment options, self-help tools, and resources to help you overcome challenges.
Veteran Resources & Support
Use Make the Connection to learn how other Veterans confronted their issues and found solutions.
College Foundation of North Carolina
Our planning tools, timelines, test prep resources and financial literacy guidance are everything you need to set a course for college.
Mapping Your Future: Plan Your Career
A career plan helps you determine your skills and interests, what career best suits your talents, and what skills and training you need for your chosen career.
BigFuture: Majors and Career Profiles
See which jobs match your interests and skills.

Veterans Organizations

American Legion
It is the nation’s largest wartime veterans service organization, committed to mentoring youth and sponsorship of wholesome programs in our communities, advocating patriotism and honor, promoting strong national security, and continued devotion to our fellow service members and veterans.
Disabled American Veterans (DAV)
We are dedicated to a single purpose: empowering veterans to lead high-quality lives with respect and dignity. We accomplish this by ensuring that veterans and their families can access the full range of benefits available to them; fighting for the interests of America’s injured heroes on Capitol Hill; and educating the public about the great sacrifices and needs of veterans transitioning back to civilian life.
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
To fulfill President Lincoln's promise "To care for him who shall have borne the battle, and for his widow, and his orphan" by serving and honoring the men and women who are America's veterans.
Veterans of Foreign Wars
Vision: Ensure that veterans are respected for their service, always receive their earned entitlements, and are recognized for the sacrifices they and their loved ones have made on behalf of this great country.

Want to learn more about a particular career? These resources will help you learn more about the potential a career field holds.

Career Center @ CCCC
The Career Center at Central Carolina Community College for additional resources, sample cover letters and resumes, and information on how to contact the career services department.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource for career exploration and planning that allows users to quickly find the valuable career information they need, whether it’s industry and professions articles, school planning resources, or skills and career advice.
Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 2010-20 decade.

Veterans

Contact

Social Media