The bestselling step-by-step framing guide--updated and expanded to meet 2018 codes and standards Complete Book of Framing, Second Edition--Updated and Expanded is a comprehensive guide to rough carpentry and framing, written by an expert with over forty years of framing experience. This book guides the reader through step-by-step framing instructions for floors, walls, roofs, door and window openings, and stairs. Hundreds of full-color illustrations and photos enable novice and professional framers to understand and master framing techniques. This Updated and Expanded Second Edition includes the framing techniques of the 2018 International Building Code (IBC), International Residential Code (IRC), and updated OSHA rules. It also includes new coverage of today's electric tools, wind and earthquake framing, medical and physiological factors of framing, and a revised safety chapter. Builders will find information on nailing patters, overall layout, engineered wood patterns, and green framing. In addition, the book offers readers tools and techniques for preparing for a job and managing a team. This Second Edition--Updated and Expanded:  Includes hundreds of full-color illustrations depicting step-by-step framing techniques Offers guidance on today's electric tools and structural enhancements for natural disasters Features a revised chapter on safety to reflect the medical and physiological factors of framing Meets the framing techniques of the 2018 International Building Code (IBC), International Residential Code (IRC), and Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) standards Complete Book of Framing: An Illustrated Guide for Residential Construction, Second Edition--Updated and Expanded is an excellent resource for framers, carpenters, and contractors of all experience levels. Framer-friendly tips throughout the book show how to complete framing tasks efficiently and effectively. 

Design your own sustainable home Many people dream of building a beautiful, environmentally friendly home. But until now there has been no systematic guide to help potential builders work through the complete process of imagining, planning, designing, and building their ideal, sustainable home. Essential Sustainable Home Design walks potential homebuilders through the process starting with key concepts, principles, and a project vision that will guide the house to completion. Coverage includes: How to clarify your ideas and create a practical pathway to achieving your dream A criteria matrix to guide design, material, and systems decisions Creating a strong, integrated design team and working with professionals and code officials to keep the project on track from start to finish. Key building science concepts that make for a high-performance, durable building Primer on building logistics, material sourcing, and protocols to ensure that the initial vision for the project comes to fruition. One-page summaries and ratings of popular sustainable building materials and system options. Ideal for owner-builders and sustainable building contractors working with clients aiming to design and build a sustainable home. Chris Magwood has designed and built some of the most innovative, sustainable buildings in North America, including the first off-grid, straw bale home in Ontario. He is co-founder and director the Endeavour Centre for Innovative Building and Living and co-editor of the Sustainable Building Essentials series. Chris is the author of Essential Prefab Straw Bale Construction, Essential Hempcrete Construction, Straw Bale Details, More Straw Bale Building , and Making Better Buildings .

Modern Construction Handbook has become a modern classic of building construction literature. In the USA, it is used as a reference work for many architectural courses. With the chapters "Material", "Wall", "Roof", "Structure", "Environment" and "Applications" it systematically explores the subject and provides a clear and efficient structure to the reader. For the fourth edition, many of the 3D illustrations have been updated and, likewise, the technical information has been brought up to date. "Applications" showcases current developments, such as those relating to mass customization manufacture of components, and presents material and construction innovations. A compact and systematic handbook filled with information, produced for students and young architects alike.

Securing the Outdoor Construction Site: Strategy, Prevention, and Mitigation offers a holistic view of security planning for vulnerable capital projects, providing the strategic and tactical plans needed to protect large areas with a minimum investment in personnel and equipment. This book is a one-stop reference that provides effective security strategies, methods, and tactics to mitigate the theft of equipment and how to avoid these incidents altogether. In addition, the book outlines the true costs of construction site theft to organizations in terms of lost time, equipment, and brand reputation, along with increased insurance premiums and danger to personnel. It lists the types of theft that regularly occur at sites, explores their underlying causes, and documents their worldwide financial significance. Finally, readers will learn how to conduct a construction site survey with loss prevention in mind, and how to budget for the unexpected. Provides complete guidelines for implementing a loss prevention program for any large outdoor construction project Offers proven strategies for minimizing capital loss and costly delays using a minimum number of personnel and security technologies Demonstrates how to develop proactive partnerships with law enforcement to stop theft before it occurs Includes the latest data on outdoor construction theft and its impact Draws on case studies and examples from around the world

Unpacking Construction Site Safety provides a different perspective of safety in practice. * examines how useful the concept of safety actually is to the development of effective management interventions * providing new insights and information to the audience, and assist in a more informed development of new approaches in practice * aimed at safety and construction management practitioners as well as academics

Improve Your Ability to Read and Interpret All Types of Construction Drawings Blueprint Reading is a step-by-step guide to reading and interpreting all types of construction drawings. Filled with hundreds of illustrations and study questions, this easy-to-use resource offers a complete overview of construction drawing basics for every aspect of the construction process- from site work, foundations, and structural systems to interior work and finishes. Covering all the latest technological advances, noted architect Sam Kubba offers detailed information on: Blueprint standards-ANSI, ISO, AWS, and ASME Computer-aided design (CAD) and computer-aided design and drafting (CADD) Lines, views, elevations, and dimensions Layouts of all construction drawing types-architectural, structural, mechanical, and electrical Specifications-MasterFormat and UniFormat Symbols-materials, electrical, plumbing, HVAC, and others How to avoid costly pitfalls on construction projects You'll also find a glossary of terms for quick reference, convenient tables and charts for identifying symbols and abbreviations, and much more. Inside This Skills-Building Guide to Construction Drawing Basics * Blueprint Standards * Blueprints and Construction Drawings: A Universal Language * Understanding Lines * Types of Views * Understanding Dimensions * Layout of Construction Drawings * Understanding Industrial Blueprints * The Meaning of Symbols * Understanding Schedules * Specifications * ISO Issues, Codes, and Building Regulations * Construction Business Environment

BUILDING CODES ILLUSTRATED STAY INFORMED OF THE LATEST UPDATES TO THE INTERNATIONAL BUILDING CODE WITH THE LEADING VISUAL REFERENCE In the newly revised Seventh Edition of Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to Understanding the 2021 International Building Code®, architectural drawing expert Francis D.K. Ching and well known architect ­Steven R. Winkel deliver a beautifully illustrated and intuitively written handbook for the 2021 International Building Code (IBC). The authors provide brand new chapters on plumbing fixture counts, elevators, special construction, and existing buildings while updating the remainder of the material to align with recent changes to the IBC. Easy to navigate and perfect as a quick-reference guide to the IBC, Building Codes Illustrated is a valuable visual resource for emerging professionals. The book also includes: Thorough introductions to navigating the Code, use and occupancy, special uses and occupancies, and building heights and areas Full explorations of the types of construction, fire resistive construction, interior finishes, fire-protection systems, and means of egress Practical discussions of accessibility, interior environment, exterior walls, roof assemblies, and structural provisions In-depth examinations of special inspections and tests, soils and foundations, building materials and systems, and elevators Perfect for students of architecture, interior design, construction, and engineering, the latest edition of Building Codes Illustrated is also ideal for professionals in these fields seeking an up-to-date reference on the 2021 International Building Code.

The Careers series is designed to cater high school and undergraduate college students as well as those searching for a new career, whether in the same field or a completely unrelated one. These titles examine the thriving industries and the exact careers where job seekers can excel and help them make the best decision on which career path or area of study to pursue. From Surveyors to Architects to Engineers, Careers in Building Construction explores a variety of growing fields to help young adults gain a head start in learning more about the many career opportunities available for those who want to pursue a career in building construction. Careers in Building Construction highlights over 30 career paths in building construction, including: Building Surveyor; Construction Manager; Construction Worker; Planner; Project Architect; Site Engineer; Plus much more! Individual chapters provide real-world insight into these professions, including: A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, Areas with the Highest Employment Levels, alongside Conversations with Real Professionals.

This affordable, real-world guide to success in construction estimating is loaded with tips, checklists, worksheets, data tables, and step-by-step tutorials to help you navigate every step of the estimating process. The text focuses on "how-to" essentials, with on-the-spot answers, visual examples and a strong focus on key factors affecting profit, such as marketing, bid planning, drawing review, scope planning, quantity take-off, pricing, quote evaluation, cost summary, and bid closing for all trades and divisions. Drawing on extensive experience in the industry, the author provides practical solutions for the unprecedented challenges that construction professionals face today, including fierce competition, material price volatility, skilled labor shortages, and strict regulations. He also illuminates the relationship between estimating and project management, with coverage of overhead expenses, value engineering, turnover meeting, and change order pricing.

A companion to Understanding Green Building Guidelines, this primer explains green building products--what they are and how to choose them. From eco-friendly sheetrock to sustainable paint finishes, the green building movement is gaining momentum. But with new products, manufacturers, and standards being introduced routinely, how are architects or designers to know what's best for their projects? This book summarizes what is available and the considerations for selecting sustainable materials.