Covers topics including computer applications, data communications and data transmission systems, electronic data processing, information science and information theory, radio and television.
Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to high quality search engines that will help you find the resources you need.
This essential reference offers you a well-organized resource for accessing the basic electrical engineering knowledge you need for your work. Whether youre an experienced engineer who appreciates an occasional refresher in key areas, or a student preparing to enter the field, Electrical Engineering: A Pocket Reference provides quick and easy access to fundamental principles and their applications. You also find an extensive collection of time-saving equations that help simplify your daily projects.Supported with more than 500 diagrams and figures, 60 tables, and an extensive index, this unique book is organized to help you find the information you need in an instant, from DC and AC systems, electric and magnetic fields, networks, to signals and systems, digital and analog electronics, and power supplies. You also find appendices with useful mathematical relations in a notation suitable for their application. Produced with a special flexible, moisture-resistant cover, no other reference source concentrates so much practical and fundamental electrical engineering knowledge in one compact and valuable volume.
The Electrical Engineer's Handbook is an invaluable reference source for all practicing electrical engineers and students. Encompassing 79 chapters, this book is intended to enlighten and refresh knowledge of the practicing engineer or to help educate engineering students. This text will most likely be the engineer's first choice in looking for a solution; extensive, complete references to other sources are provided throughout. No other book has the breadth and depth of coverage available here. This is a must-have for all practitioners and students! The Electrical Engineer's Handbook provides the most up-to-date information in: Circuits and Networks, Electric Power Systems, Electronics, Computer-Aided Design and Optimization, VLSI Systems, Signal Processing, Digital Systems and Computer Engineering, Digital Communication and Communication Networks, Electromagnetics and Control and Systems. About the Editor-in-Chief... Wai-Kai Chen is Professor and Head Emeritus of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Illinois at Chicago. He has extensive experience in education and industry and is very active professionally in the fields of circuits and systems. He was Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems, Series I and II, President of the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society and is the Founding Editor and Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Circuits, Systems and Computers. He is the recipient of the Golden Jubilee Medal, the Education Award, and the Meritorious Service Award from the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society, and the Third Millennium Medal from the IEEE. Professor Chen is a fellow of the IEEE and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. * 77 chapters encompass the entire field of electrical engineering. * THOUSANDS of valuable figures, tables, formulas, and definitions. * Extensive bibliographic references.
Real-world engineering problems are rarely, if ever, neatly divided into mechanical, electrical, chemical, civil, and other categories. Engineers from all disciplines eventually encounter computer and electronic controls and instrumentation, which require at least a basic knowledge of electrical and other engineering specialties, as well as associa
Ugly's Electrical References, is the gold standard on-the-job reference tool of choice for electrical industry professionals.Offering the most pertinent, up-to-date information used by electricians, including: updated NEC code and table change information, mathematical formulas, NEMA wiring configurations, conduit bending guide, ampacity and conduit fill information, transformer and control circuit wiring diagrams, and conversion tables. New Features:* Updated to reflect changes to the 2020 National Electrical Code (NEC)* Expanded coverage of the following topics: o Junction Box size calculationso Selecting, testing, and using multimeters to measure voltage, resistance, and currento Selecting, testing, and using a clamp-on ammeter to measure currento Selecting, testing, and using a non-contact voltage tester
In this digital age, as the role of electronic circuits becomes ever broader and more complex, a thorough understanding of the key concepts of circuits is a great advantage. This book offers a thorough reference guide to the theory, elements and design of basic electric circuits, providing a solid foundation for those who plan to move into the field of electronics engineering, and essential information for anyone who uses electric circuitry in their profession or research. The book is designed to be accessible to newcomers to the field while also providing a useful review for more advanced readers. It has been extensively revised and expanded for this new edition to provide a clear source of information on this complex topic. Materials are presented visually with less text and more outlines so that readers can quickly get to the heart of each topic, making studying and reviewing more effective.
Find physical books by searching our online catalog on the library's homepage. You can browse in person and pick up these books by visiting your local library branch. Here are our hours and locations.
Electricity & Electronics presents solid information about the fundamentals of electricity and electronics. The dual approach of this text teaches principles and theory accompanied by hands-on learning. Text content provides a thorough grounding in electrical principles, circuitry, and components. Additional topics include electronic communication and data systems, such as radio, television, and computers. A full chapter in this edition is devoted to microcontrollers. * Experiments are included in numerous chapters with step-by-step instructions. * Projects are provided for a number of chapters, and include complete parts lists and schematics.
Electronics is fascinating ? want to make something of it? This book shows you how! You can make all sorts of things, once you understand what electronics is and how it works. nbsp; This book helps you out with that part, explaining the whole thing in plain English. Learn how electricity functions, how to harness it and put it to work, what tools you need to build circuits, what you can make with them, and how to do it safely. Mystery solved ? understand what makes your iPod, remote control, and computer work Essential stuff ? outfit your electronics lab with all the necessary tools, including some that will surprise you Schematic road maps ? learn to read schematics and understand how they help your project get where it?s going Symbols of power ? recognize all the identifiers for power sources, grounds, and components Tools of the trade ? discover how to use a multimeter, logic probe, oscilloscope, and solderless breadboard Break it down ? get to know the ins and outs of components such as resistors, capacitors ,diodes and transistors Getting it together ? find out how integrated circuits make all the rest possible and learn to work with them & Analyze it ? understand the rules that govern current and voltage and learn how to apply them Open the book and find: The difference between electronics and electricity A list of essential tools Cool projects you can build quickly Great places to find parts Important safety tips What a sine wave is Interesting stuff about speakers, buzzers, and DC motors Ohm?s Law and how to use it
Best-sellingDemystifiedauthor and electronics expert Stan Gibilisco has penned the perfect introductory book for consumers, hobbyists, and students alike. Coverage includes essential topics such as current and power supplies, wireless, digital principles, measurement and monitoring, transducers and sensors, location and navigation, and more.
THE MOST COMPLETE AND CURRENT GUIDE TO ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING For more than a century, the Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers has served as the definitive source for all the pertinent electrical engineering data essential to both engineering students and practicing engineers. It offers comprehensive information on the generation, transmission, distribution, control, operation, and application of electric power. Completely revised throughout to address the latest codes and standards, the 16th Edition of this renowned reference offers new coverage of green technologies such as smart grids, smart meters, renewable energy, and cogeneration plants. Modern computer applications and methods for securing computer network infrastructures that control power grids are also discussed. Featuring hundreds of detailed illustrations and contributions from more than 75 global experts, this state-of-the-art volume is an essential tool for every electrical engineer.
Up-to-date, easy-to-follow coverage of electricity and electronics In Teach Yourself Electricity and Electronics, Fifth Edition, a master teacher provides step-by-step lessons in electricity and electronics fundamentals and applications. Detailed illustrations, practical examples, and hundreds of test questions make it easy to learn the material quickly. This fully revised resource starts with the basics and takes you through advanced applications, such as communications systems and robotics. Solve current-voltage-resistance-impedance problems, make power calculations, optimize system performance, and prepare for licensing exams with help from this hands-on guide. Updated for the latest technological trends: Wireless Systems Fiber Optics Lasers Space Communications Mechatronics Comprehensive coverage includes: Direct-Current Circuit Basics and Analysis * Resistors * Cells and Batteries * Magnetism * Inductance * Capacitance * Phase * Inductive and Capacitive Reactance * Impedance and Admittance * Alternating-Current Circuit Analysis, Power, and Resonance * Transformers and Impedance Matching * Semiconductors * Diode Applications * Power Supplies * Bipolar and Field-Effect Transistors * Amplifiers and Oscillators * Digital and Computer Basics * Antennas for RF Communications * Integrated Circuits * Electron Tubes * Transducers, Sensors, Location, and Navigation * Acoustics and Audio Fundamentals * Advanced Communications Systems Make Great Stuff! TAB, an imprint of McGraw-Hill Professional, is a leading publisher of DIY technology books for makers, hackers, and electronics hobbyists.
You can search our Journals or browse by subject from the library's homepage. For a quick look at what we have available in this subject area, see the title(s) below.
Mastery of electrical concepts and laws is necessary to any understanding of physics and its applications. This powerhouse series—eight engaging programs covering all the essentials of electricity—is hands-on enough for both the electrical shop and the physics lab and theoretical enough for use in the science classroom. Filled with outstanding 3-D animations, Electricity: A 3-D Animated Demonstration makes the principles of electricity easier to understand and discuss. Future electricians and electrical engineers will both benefit from this valuable educational tool. Viewable/printable instructor’s guides are available online. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A Shopware Production. 8-part series, 18–34 minutes each.
From the Films on Demand collection. A brief history of electronics with seven segments. It starts with valves and vacuum tubes in the 1940s. The ENIAC computer consisted of both. In 1948, the transistor replaced valves. In 1959, the first integrated circuit was made, and since then they have become smaller and more complex.
Streaming video allows you to view this collection of videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Our collection includes videos about careers, business, science, health, social science, art & literature, history, and more, with a combined total of over 29,000 full-length video titles in over 275,000 segments.
We can also direct you to resources outside of the library's databases. See below for a selection of websites related to your field.
IEEE is the world's largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity. IEEE and its members inspire a global community through IEEE's highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities. IEEE, pronounced "Eye-triple-E," stands for the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. The association is chartered under this name and it is the full legal name.
NCEES is a national nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing professional licensure for engineers and surveyors. It develops, administers, and scores the examinations used for engineering and surveying licensure in the United States.
NSPE, in partnership with the State Societies, is the organization of licensed Professional Engineers (PEs) and Engineer Interns (EIs). Through education, licensure advocacy, leadership training, multi-disciplinary networking, and outreach, NSPE enhances the image of its members and their ability to ethically and professionally practice engineering. - See more at: http://www.nspe.org/membership/about-nspe/mission-and-vision#sthash.RRURALsB.dpuf
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource for career exploration and planning that allows users to quickly find the valuable career information they need, whether it’s industry and professions articles, school planning resources, or skills and career advice.
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 2010-20 decade.