LibGuides: Medical Assisting : Primary Library Resources

Medical Assisting Welcome!

Primary Library Resources

Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to highest quality search engines for your field.

Biological Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.
Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides access to the full-text of hundreds of journals published or distributed by Elsevier. Subjects include: Nursing, Allied Health, Veterinary Medicine, Technology, & the Sciences.

You must create an account to use Learning Express resources.

Medical Assistant Flash Review:
This handy guide features definitions for more than 600 concepts you are sure to find on your Certified Medical Assistant (AAMA) exam or any other Registered Medical Assistant test. It covers key topic areas, including core medical assisting knowledge, anatomy and physiology, clinical and administrative procedures, and more.

Medical Assistant: Preparation for the RMA and CMA Exams, 2nd Edition:
Get the job you want by scoring well on the Certified Medical Assistant or the Registered Medical Assistant exam. This up-to-date guide reviews every area tested by the official exams. It also includes tips for higher scores, overcoming anxiety, and more.

Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to high quality search engines that will help you find the resources you need.

Career & Technical Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Discover periodicals and reference book content designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, periodicals, reference works, and multimedia. Provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Nursing & Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provide access to scholarly content supporting nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.
TDS Health (Stat!Ref) This link opens in a new window
This online resource includes over 60 electronic nursing and dental textbooks which are cross-searchable with full text. All titles are the most recent online editions. Stat!Ref was rebranded as TDS Health in late 2019.

No time to search? The library's databases also provide access to hundreds of thousands of eBooks. Take a look at the recommended title(s) linked below.

Essential Knowledge and Skills for Healthcare Assistants and Assistant Practitioners by Zoë Rawles
ISBN: 9781315106755
Publication Date: 2019-03-04
This fully updated and revised edition of Essential Knowledge and Skills for Healthcare Assistants and Assistant Practitioners is a practical and comprehensive text designed to equip you with the necessary clinical skills for your profession. This book: 　 * equips you with the knowledge to provide the safest and most effective patient care possible; * provides evidence-based guidelines to ensure best practice that is matched to the National Occupational Standards and the Care Certificate; * includes new chapters on administering injections, ear irrigation and examining the feet of people with diabetes, and an entirely rewritten chapter on protocols; * addresses the evolving role of the healthcare assistant and training opportunities; * supplies comprehensive coverage of both primary and secondary care settings, with an emphasis on primary care; * covers accountability, communication skills, confidentiality and reflection; and * uses a light-hearted and accessible style, with definitions, case studies and activities to aid understanding. 　 This is an indispensable guide for all those training as healthcare assistants and assistant practitioners, and an introductory textbook for students embarking on nursing and health and social care programmes.
Medical Assisting Simplified by Joanna Holly
ISBN: 9781284209297
Publication Date: 2020-05-05
Medical Assisting Simplified: Pharmacology presents the core basic concepts of pharmacology in a light-hearted, humorous, readable, extremely practical style that makes teaching and learning fun. A host character guides students through pharmacology concepts needed to pass certification exams required by CAAHEP and ABHES. Boxes with eye-catching icons provide practical advice about workplace scenarios and other topics. More than 175 full-color illustrations enhance visual learning.
Jones and Bartlett Learning's Administrative Medical Assisting by Julie Ledbetter
ISBN: 9781284218169
Publication Date: 2020-05-07
Designed to ensure that every medical assisting graduate can quickly trade a cap and gown for a set of scrubs, Jones & Bartlett Learning's Administrative Medical Assisting, Fourth Edition is more than just a textbook--it's an engaging, dynamic suite of learning resources designed to train medical assisting students in the administrative skills they'll need in today's rapidly changing health care environment.
Fundamentals of Care by Ian Peate
ISBN: 9781119212201
Publication Date: 2017-03-20
Fundamentals of Care is an accessible introductory textbook for all health care assistants; assistant practitioners and social care support workers who are undertaking the newly introduced, mandatory Care Certificate, as well as offering a resource for providing care and support. Practically focused, each chapter begins with the outcomes associated with each standard, which helps contextualise and focus the reader on the content and relevance to the Care Certificate. The book also includes exercises to encourage the reader to stop, look, listen and act, thinking cap activity promotes further thinking and application to care and support provision along with case studies and resource files. Written to help the reader come to terms with the role and function of the heath and care assistants, Fundamentals of Care offers support to those undertaking the Care Certificate and to assist those who already work as health and care assistants, helping them in their quest to enhance safe and effective care.
Human Simultation for Nursing and Health Professions by Linda Wilson; Leland Rockstraw
ISBN: 9780826106698
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
" Today there is an explosion in the use of simulation in nursing and health professions education. The contributors to this text are experts in this format of teaching. They are the designers of the learning spaces, the authors of simulation cases and evaluation methods, the experts who program the human patient simulators and who teach the patient actors to enact the clinical scenarios?I consider this a handbook on the design, evaluation and practice of simulation for clinical education. If you are a faculty member with concerns about how your students will make the transition from student to professional, use simulation in your curriculum and learn for yourself that pretending is simulation for life but simulation is pretending for the delivery of exquisite clinical care. Gloria F. Donnelly, PhD, RN, FAAN Dean and Professor Drexel University College of Nursing and Health Professions Human simulation is changing the face of clinical education in the health professions. Its use has expanded beyond medical school to encompass nursing and mental health clinical education. This comprehensive guide to establishing and managing a human simulation lab has been written by nationally acclaimed simulation experts and is geared for undergraduate, graduate, and professional settings. The text takes the reader step-by-step through the process of planning, organizing, implementing, and maintaining a simulation lab. It describes the required technology, how to train standardized patients, how to implement a simulation, evaluation and analysis of the simulation experience, and how to develop a business plan. The guide details simulation in undergraduate and graduate nursing programs, physician's assistant programs, and mental health education, as well as the use of simulation with critically ill patients, and in perioperative, perianasthesia, women's health, and rehabilitation science settings. Key Features: Offers a blueprint for developing, implementing, and managing a human simulation lab Details use of simulation in numerous nursing and mental health settings along with case studies Provides tools for evaluation and analysis of the simulation experience Presents undergraduate and graduate nursing simulation scenarios and pedagogical strategies Discusses simulation training and required technology Includes templates for writing cases for BSN and MSN levels "
Jump-Starting Careers As Medical Assistants and Certified Nursing Assistants by Jennifer Culp
ISBN: 9781477716977
Publication Date: 2013-12-30
Developing a career as a medical assistant or certified nursing assistant can be a very rewarding and exciting experience that allows job seekers to work in the medical field with only two years of college. This engaging text gives readers all of the advice they need to get started on their career, with important information on job basics like resumes and interviews. It includes sidebars with perspectives from professionals currently working in the field: the challenges and the rewards to working one-on-one with doctors, nurses, and patients.
Magill's Medical Guide by Salem Press
ISBN: 9781682176313
Publication Date: 2018-04-30
Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, biology, and issues in an easy-to-use A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. In addition to completely new essays in this edition, all entries from the previous edition have been evaluated and updated by a panel of Medical Editors to ensure their currency and accuracy.
Basic ICD-10 Exercises by Lou Ann Schraffenberger
ISBN: 9781584262480
Publication Date: 2012-10-01
Basic ICD-10-CM/PCS Coding Exercises was created to give beginning coders practical, skill-building experience. Designed with industry expert input, it can be used as a companion to Basic ICD 10-CM/PCS Coding or as a stand-alone workbook for students new to coding practice.
CPT® 2018 Professional Edition by American Medical Association
ISBN: 9781622026005
Publication Date: 2017-09-30
CPT® 2018 Professional Edition is the definitive AMA-authored resource to help health care professionals correctly report and bill medical procedures and services. Providers want accurate reimbursement. Payers want efficient claims processing. Since the CPT® code set is a dynamic, everchanging standard, an outdated codebook does not suffice. Correct reporting and billing of medical procedures and services begins with CPT® 2018 Professional Edition. Only the AMA, with the help of physicians and other experts in the health care community, creates and maintains the CPT code set. No other publisher can claim that. No other codebook can provide the official guidelines to code medical services and procedures properly. New for 2018! New modifiers added to Appendix A Editorial revisions of the code ranges located in the parenthetical notes for reseqenced codes to provide more succinct ranges The addition of proprietary laboratory analyses (PLA) codes at the end of the Pathology/Laboratory section An update of all procedural illustrations from spot color to full color More detailed section titles and section labeling to improve code look up Features and Benefits The CPT® 2018 Professional Edition codebook covers hundreds of code, guideline and text changes and features:CPT® Changes, CPT® Assistant, and Clinical Examples in Radiology citations - provides cross-referenced information in popular AMA resources that can enhance your understanding of the CPT code set A comprehensive index - aids you in locating codes related to a specific procedure, service, anatomic site, condition, synonym, eponym or abbreviation to allow for a clearer, quicker search Anatomical and procedural illustrations - help improve coding accuracy and understanding of the anatomy and procedures being discussed Coding tips throughout each section - improve your understanding of the nuances of the code set Enhanced codebook table of contents - allows users to perform a quick search of the codebook's entire content without being in a specific section Section-specific table of contents - provides users with a tool to navigate more effectively through each section's codes Summary of additions, deletions and revisions - provides a quick reference to 2018 changes without having to refer to previous editions Multiple appendices - offer quick reference to additional information and resources that cover such topics as modifiers, clinical examples, add-on codes, vascular families, multianalyte assays and telemedicine services 18 comprehensive E/M code selection tables - aid physicians and coders in assigning the most appropriate evaluation and management codes Adhesive section tabs - allow you to flag those sections and pages most relevant to your work

Find physical books by searching our online catalog on the library's homepage. You can browse in person and pick up these books by visiting your local library branch. Here are our hours and locations.

Buck's Workbook for Step-By-Step Medical Coding, 2022 Edition by Elsevier
ISBN: 9780323790390
Publication Date: 2021-12-27
Build your coding skills with this practical workbook! Matching the chapters in the bestselling Buck's Step-by-Step Medical Coding, this workbook offers coding review and practice with more than 1,200 theory, practical, and reporting exercises. Included are 100 original source documents to familiarize you with reports similar to those you will encounter on the job. It's a complete review of all the code sets covered in the text, including ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS, and inpatient coding! UNIQUE! 100 real-world coding reports provide experience with reports similar to those you will encounter in practice. Theory exercises include fill-in-the-blank, multiple choice, and true or false questions. Practical exercises offer additional practice with line coding. Coding answer format mirrors that of Buck's main text (including "multiple codes needed" icons to indicate when more than one code should be assigned). Answers to odd-numbered questions are available in Appendix B, allowing you to check your accuracy.
CPT®-plus! : a comprehensive guide to current procedural terminology. by Practice Management Information Corporation
ISBN: 9781946868251
Introduction -- CPT coding fundamentals -- CPT coding & billing issues -- 2022 additions, deletions and revisions -- CPT modifiers -- Anatomical illustrations -- Evaluation & management guidelines -- Evaluation and management -- Anesthesia -- Surgery -- Radiology -- Pathology/Laboratory -- Medicine -- Category II codes -- Category III codes -- Alphabetical index.
ICD-10-CM : International classification of diseases, 10th revision, Clinical modification, color coded, 2023 by Practice Management Information Corporation
ISBN: 9781570667107
Publication Date: 2022
The PMIC version of ICD-10-CM includes all official codes, descriptions, indexes and tables plus special features to help you code easier, better and faster. The PMIC ICD-10-CM includes: Comprehensive introduction to ICD-10-CM The official ICD-10-CM coding guidelines All official ICD-10-CM codes and complete descriptions The official Alphabetical Index to the Tabular List All official tables, including the Table of Drugs and Chemicals and the Neoplasm Table Chapter specific guidelines preceding each chapter Definitions of medical terms at the code level Symbols and color-coding for faster and easier coding Thumb indexing to help you locate codes faster
Medical Assisting by Michelle Blesi
ISBN: 9781337909815
Publication Date: 2017-12-20
Clear and easy to understand, MEDICAL ASSISTING: ADMINISTRATIVE AND CLINICAL COMPETENCIES UPDATE, Eighth Edition delivers all of the knowledge base, skills, and behaviors required for an entry-level medical assistant, including a comprehensive updated section on the structure and function of body systems. The book has been streamlined and updated to include the latest in Nutrition, the Affordable Care Act (ACA), ICD-10, updated electronic health records throughout the entire text, as well as personal effectiveness topics such as, professionalism, teamwork and time management. Updated and innovative, the 8th edition of Medical Assisting: Administrative and Clinical Competencies uses multiple in-text features and exclusive technology products to prepare you for a successful career in medical assisting, and give you an advantage in today's competitive marketplace. The updated printing of the eighth edition includes new ICD-10 coding information, as well as revised and updated coding content.
Administrative Medical Assisting by Laura Durham
ISBN: 9781451115796
Publication Date: 2012-06-05
We're pleased to introduce the third edition of Lippincott Williams & Wilkins' Administrative Medical Assisting, the medical assisting text designed to address the challenges of medical assisting faculty and to provide the necessary content for programs that address administrative skills separately from clinical skills. This dynamic package of text and resources represents more than just a textbook, instead providing a suite of learning resources. This is the one text aimed at making sure that every graduate can quickly change their cap and gown for a set of scrubs and immediately be a vital member of the medical office. We do this by: Providing the content in an engaging style that speaks to students. Putting pedagogy to work in the text through key features like patent education boxes, competency checklists, procedure boxes, etc. Constantly reinforcing the learning through additional online ancillaries such as games and activities, animations, and ESL resources to round out the experience. Helping instructors lessen planning time, with robust instructor resources. Competency mapping tools help faculty members and students track their progress through the material. New content in the third edition focuses on addressing crucial changes in policy and technology. Without changing the engaging writing style we're known for, we've made sure that the content is up-to-date and in-line with the needs of the market. We've added content on emergency preparedness, a crucial topic in today's medical office. In addition, instructors will be happy to find the latest CAAHEP and ABHES competencies clearly addressed throughout the text.

You can search our Journals or browse by subject from the library's homepage. For a quick look at what we have available in this subject area, see the title(s) below.

Journal of Health Sciences and Professions
Peer-reviewed journal covering health sciences and professional education and their practice areas, and working to encourage the development and exchange of knowledge in these areas. Its primary objective is to contribute to the development of health sciences (physiotherapy and rehabilitation, health management, social work, nursing-midwifery, audiology and gerontology) and occupation area by facilitating the global and cross-cultural exchange of information.
British Journal of Healthcare Assistants
Journal of educational evaluation for health professions

Check out the link(s) below to stream videos on this subject. You can also visit Films on Demand to browse their entire collection.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
A collection of short videos about job searching, soft skills for workplaces, and career information for a variety of industries.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video allows you to view this collection of videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Our collection includes videos about careers, business, science, health, social science, art & literature, history, and more, with a combined total of over 29,000 full-length video titles in over 275,000 segments.

Medical Assistant Many young people are interested in entry-level health care jobs that balance clinical duties with administrative functions. This program illustrates the ins and outs of just such a position—the certified medical assistant. The video examines a CMA’s typical responsibilities, such as maintaining patient records, managing a physician’s schedule, and preparing examining rooms, as well as the skills a successful medical assistant will need—including data entry, customer service, specimen collection, and first aid. Incorporating interviews with experienced medical assistants and the specialists who train them, the program describes what it takes to become a CMA, from the best high school courses to take to passing the CMA (AAMA) certification exam. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide containing additional material—including student activities, discussion questions, vocabulary terms, and fast facts—is available online. Correlates to national and state board certification standards. A Meridian Production. (20 minutes)

Daniel Crane Provides Overview of Electronic Medical Assistant Daniel Cane is president and CEO of Modernizing Medicine. In this clip, he provides an overview of the electronic medical assistant.

We can also direct you to resources outside of the library's databases. See below for a selection of websites related to your field.

American Association of Medical Assistants
The mission of the American Association of Medical Assistants is to provide the medical assistant professional with education, certification, credential acknowledgment, networking opportunities, scope-of-practice protection, and advocacy for quality patient-centered health care.
Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Assistants

Want to learn more about a particular career? These resources will help you learn more about the potential a career field holds.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource for career exploration and planning that allows users to quickly find the valuable career information they need, whether it’s industry and professions articles, school planning resources, or skills and career advice.
Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 2010-20 decade.

When searching for information in the sciences it is important to know that there are two main types of information you will encounter: primary and secondary sources.

Primary sources are resources that report the results of original scientific research, written by those who did the research, that has not been published anywhere else.

If a publication comments on, evaluates, or discusses the original research report, then it is a secondary source, not a primary one.

	Primary Source	Secondary Source
DEFINITIONS	Original materials that have not been filtered through interpretation or evaluation by a second party.	Sources that contain commentary on or a discussion about a primary source.
TIMING OF PUBLICATION CYCLE	Primary sources tend to come first in the publication cycle.	Secondary sources tend to come second in the publication cycle.
FORMATS--depends on the kind of analysis being conducted.	Conference papers, dissertations, interviews, laboratory notebooks, patents, a study reported in a journal article, a survey reported in a journal article, and technical reports.	Review articles, magazine articles, and books.
Example: Scientists studying Genetically Modified Foods.	Article in a scholarly journal reporting methodology and results of an original research study on GMO foods.	Article or book analyzing, comparing, and commenting on the results of a number of original research studies.

Source: The Evolution of Scientific Information (from Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science, vol. 26) & GTCC Library Guide.

A Rough Guide to Spotting Bad Science

Medical Assisting

Contact

Social Media