LibGuides: Healthcare Management Technology: Primary Library Resources

Healthcare Management Technology Welcome!

Primary Library Resources

Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to highest quality search engines for your field.

Biological Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Research on animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, toxicology, virology, microbiology, health and safety science, entomology, and more.
Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides access to the full-text of hundreds of journals published or distributed by Elsevier. Subjects include: Nursing, Allied Health, Veterinary Medicine, Technology, & the Sciences.

Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to high quality search engines that will help you find the resources you need.

Consumer Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.
Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Discover periodicals and reference book content designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, periodicals, reference works, and multimedia. Provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.

No time to search? The library's databases also provide access to hundreds of thousands of eBooks. Take a look at the recommended title(s) linked below.

Dunn and Haimann's Healthcare Management, Eleventh Edition by Rose T. Dunn
ISBN: 9781640552210
Publication Date: 2020-12-30
Healthcare organizations strive to keep pace with breakthroughs in medical science and technology, transparency of service outcomes, an educated customer base, global health threats, and federal regulations. As these elements continue to evolve, organizations are tasked with employing well-trained, dynamic healthcare managers to lead in a time of perpetual transformation. Dunn & Haimann's Healthcare Management provides a definitive overview of healthcare management, organized around five primary functions: planning, organizing, staffing, influencing, and controlling. The book ties these primary functions together through clear explanations of management theories, tools, and other foundational information. It also explores the role of supervisors, behavioral factors, and generational stimuli that motivate employees within the conceptual framework of managing. New features at the end of most chapters, including additional readings, classroom activities, and case study recommendations, reinforce the concepts presented. A healthcare system will always be better positioned to grow and adapt if its managers have mastered the primary functions covered in this book.
Essentials of Healthcare Management by Leigh Cellucci
ISBN: 9781640550308
Publication Date: 2019-03-30
Instructor Resources: This book's Instructor Resources include a test bank, presentation PowerPoint slides, answer guides to the in-book Mini Case Study questions, teaching guides for the part-opener case studies, and a transition guide to the new edition. Healthcare managers are tasked with ensuring an organization's mission is carried out, its goals are achieved, and its work is of high quality. Essentials of Healthcare Management: Cases, Concepts, and Skills provides a solid foundation for developing the skills managers need to help move their organization forward. This introductory book is for those preparing for entry- or midlevel healthcare management jobs. Aligned with the competency categorization developed by the Healthcare Leadership Alliance, it provides a knowledge base and develops aptitude in interpersonal skills such as leadership, professionalism, communication, and teamwork, as well as in business skills such as finance, human resources management, strategy, and marketing. The book is rich with compelling case studies depicting true events and situations. Every chapter opens with a case study to promote experiential learning and to anchor the chapter's subsequent coverage of theories and concepts. Examples include ""Resisting Change,"" ""Strange Behavior,"" ""The Ethics Committee,"" and ""A Longer Than Necessary Hospitalization."" Wrapping up every chapter, mini-case studies such as ""MedMan and Its Cultural Climate,"" ""What Do We Do About Joe?,"" and ""Developing the Budget for the Dialysis Center"" give students the opportunity to apply the theories and concepts covered. Each major part of the book is introduced with a longer case study that instructors can use to highlight the significance of the material addressed in the part's chapters. End-of-chapter questions and exercises are equally well suited for in-class discussion or team assignments. Originally published as Essential Techniques for Healthcare Managers, this book has been extensively revised. All chapters have been significantly rewritten and updated. Particularly notable are enhancements to the coverage of strategy and marketing, operations, quality, and health information technology. The following chapters are entirely new and provide context and background for the subsequent chapters that address interpersonal and business skills: A Brief History of the Development of Healthcare in America Health Policy: Cost, Quality, and Access The Healthcare System Today Medical and Healthcare Environments Blending theory and practical applications, Essentials of Healthcare Management equips future leaders with the skills, knowledge, and confidence they need to be successful healthcare managers.
Healthcare Management Engineering: What Does This Fancy Term Really Mean? by Alexander Kolker
ISBN: 9781461420675
Publication Date: 2011-12-02
This Briefs Series book illustrates in depth a concept of healthcare management engineering and its domain for hospital and clinic operations. Predictive and analytic decision-making power of management engineering methodology is systematically compared to traditional management reasoning by applying both side by side to analyze 26 concrete operational management problems adapted from hospital and clinic practice. The problem types include: clinic, bed and operating rooms capacity; patient flow; staffing and scheduling; resource allocation and optimization; forecasting of patient volumes and seasonal variability; business intelligence and data mining; and game theory application for allocating cost savings between cooperating providers. Detailed examples of applications are provided for quantitative methods such as discrete event simulation, queuing analytic theory, linear and probabilistic optimization, forecasting of a time series, principal component decomposition of a data set and cluster analysis, and the Shapley value for fair gain sharing between cooperating participants. A summary of some fundamental management engineering principles is provided. The goal of the book is to help to bridge the gap in mutual understanding and communication between management engineering professionals and hospital and clinic administrators. The book is intended primarily for hospital/clinic leadership who are in charge of making managerial decisions. This book can also serve as a compendium of introductory problems/projects for graduate students in Healthcare Management and Administration, as well as for MBA programs with an emphasis in Healthcare.
Information Systems for Healthcare Management by Gerald Glandon
ISBN: 9781567935998
Publication Date: 2013-08-30
This bestseller provides readers with the comprehensive knowledge necessary to understand healthcare information technology (HIT) and to hone their skills in HIT management. The book explores the areas where leaders must exhibit basic awareness or competency, including hardware, software, and communication systems; operational, management, and clinical applications; and selection, implementation, and valuation. Each chapter has been updated to reflect current trends and challenges in the field as well as the implications of the 2010 healthcare reform law and other relevant federal mandates. Each chapter also features learning objectives, web resources, and discussion questions. This revised edition includes a glossary that clarifies technical terms as well as a list of abbreviations for important terms. Links to Internet sources are provided to supplement the information on the major topics covered in each chapter. The eighth edition covers the following topics: The five broad forces that will drive future change and potentially have profound impacts on HIT in and across organizations The role that government policy and healthcare reform play in influencing HIT HIT governance and strategic planning in healthcare organizations, including pertinent background, how to organize an HIT strategic planning effort, the importance of system integration, the basics of systems theory, and management control and decision support systems An overview of the various elements of an information system-the devices, programs, and communication networks-and possible configurations that will support clinical service delivery and the associated business processes An exploration of the ten key operational and tactical processes that are critical to maximizing HIT efficiencies and effectiveness, including incident management, change management, configuration management, service-level management, capacity management, and services-continuity management Specific focus on EHR applications and financial applications to reflect the importance of technology in the areas of patient care and financial management The major techniques used to evaluate an HIT investment Instructor Resources: Test bank, answers and discussion points for the end-of-chapter questions and PowerPoint slides.
Introduction to Healthcare Quality Management by Patrice Spath
ISBN: 9781567939859
Publication Date: 2018-03-30
Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint slides, answers to the in-book questions, and a PDF of the American College of Healthcare Executives / NPSF Lucian Leape Institute guide Leading a Culture of Safety: A Blueprint for Success. The ongoing shift to value-based healthcare has driven change in the practices and approaches providers use to evaluate their performance and improve their organizations' clinical, safety, and patient satisfaction outcomes. Now more than ever before, healthcare professionals must know how to apply the essential principles of quality management-measurement, assessment, and improvement. Introduction to Healthcare Quality Management explains the basic principles and techniques of quality management in healthcare. Written for students and professionals with little or no clinical experience, the book focuses primarily on measuring and improving the operational and patient service aspects of healthcare delivery. Real-world case studies and examples provide an applied learning approach that helps readers understand how to measure, assess, and improve an organization's performance and ensure the delivery of reliable, high-quality care. Thoroughly revised with updated references, examples, case studies, activities, and supplementary resources, this edition includes new content on: Strategies for managing quality in population health careUse of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement's Triple Aim framework Value-based reimbursement models Patient-centered discharge planning and case management Improving initiatives aimed at bettering patient health External regulations and accreditation standards Lean and Six Sigma improvement tools and techniques Healthcare application of improvement models from other industries An excellent resource for students and practicing health professionals alike, Introduction to Healthcare Quality Management provides readers with the core knowledge they need to shape innovative change in quality management practices.
Introduction to the Financial Management of Healthcare Organizations by Michael Nowicki
ISBN: 9781567939040
Publication Date: 2017-07-30
Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint slides, answer guides for the in-book discussion questions and case, and a transition guide to the new edition. Financial management challenges are not confined to the CFO's office. Any manager in today's increasingly complex healthcare environment must have a solid grasp of finance fundamentals, and this book provides them. In straightforward language aimed at students and managers outside of finance, Introduction to the Financial Management of Healthcare Organizations covers a full range of topics. The first four sections-Financial Management, Operating Revenue, Working Capital, and Resource Allocation-start with core financial concepts, then delve into issues unique to the healthcare setting. Highlights include the tax status of healthcare organizations, third-party payers and payment methodologies, cost accounting and analysis, rate setting, strategic financial planning, and capital budgeting. A final section on healthcare reform analyzes important trends that will affect healthcare organizations in the future. New to this edition: The latest information on health reform, including the Affordable Care Act of 2010 and the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015 A new section on the Trump administration's plans for healthcare, including possible scenarios for the ACA Updates on financial accounting standards, economic trends, and tax-exempt hospitals Expanded content on Medicare and Medicaid (now separated into distinct chapters), including legislative and regulatory updates and federal fraud and abuse initiatives Significant new information on healthcare quality, access, and cost Readers of this book will not only learn the fundamentals of financial management but also gain experience in applying them. Mini-cases, practice problems, and self-quizzes throughout reinforce essential concepts, and a comprehensive case at the end brings the concepts to life.
Medical Office Management by Marcia Campiolo
ISBN: 9783319138862
Publication Date: 2016-03-14
The present book aims to assist and guide medical doctors in any specialty to manage his/her own clinic or office, allowing a higher and better development of its team/staff and providing tools for a high quality service to patients and customers. It is devoted to be the background for any medical doctor's success in personal career, serving as a foundation for professional growth. In last instance, Medical Office Management is intended to be a practical manual for easy day to day application in medical clinics.
Process-Oriented Healthcare Management Systems by Anita Edvinsson
ISBN: 9781951527303
Publication Date: 2020-04-30
When people need healthcare, few worry about being harmed by someone from the medical team making a mistake. Unfortunately, mistakes do happen, and many of the adverse events are not only serious but also preventable. Many countries struggle with top-heavy systems, in which decisions are made about how care is provided by those who are far from experienced in caring for patients. This must change. Professionals at the sharp end need support, structure, and help organizing necessary information to create a safe culture, a learning environment, and safe patient care-all at lower costs. This handbook provides tools for designing a structure for a management system, as well as the tools for documenting processes within it. The starting point is based on current safety research. The book is designed for medical professionals, managers, project members, politicians, public officials, and executives-all who work with patient safety matters. The content shows a new way to healthcare management, presenting an alternative approach together with concrete advice on how healthcare executives and practitioners can begin to think and act differently in order to provide safe healthcare.

Find physical books by searching our online catalog on the library's homepage. You can browse in person and pick up these books by visiting your local library branch. Here are our hours and locations.

The Cphims Review Guide by Mara Daiker (Editor); Healthcare Information Healthcare Information & Management Systems Society (HIMSS)
ISBN: 9781138337435
Publication Date: 2021-12-23
Whether you're taking the CPHIMS exam or simply want the most current and comprehensive overview in healthcare information and management systems today, this completely revised and updated fourth edition has it all. But for those preparing for the CPHIMS exam, this book is also an ideal study partner. The content reflects the outline of exam topics covering healthcare and technology environments; clinical informatics; analysis, design, selection, implementation, support, maintenance, testing, evaluation, privacy and security; and management and leadership. Candidates can challenge themselves with the sample multiple-choice questions given at the end of the book. The benefits of CPHIMS certification are broad and far-reaching. Certification is a process that is embraced in many industries, including healthcare information and technology. CPHIMS is recognized as the 'gold standard' in healthcare IT because it is developed by HIMSS, has a global focus and is valued by clinicians and non-clinicians, management and staff positions and technical and nontechnical individuals. Certification, specifically CPHIMS certification, provides a means by which employers can evaluate potential new hires, analyze job performance, evaluate employees, market IT services and motivate employees to enhance their skills and knowledge. Certification also provides employers with the evidence that the certificate holders have demonstrated an established level of job-related knowledge, skills and abilities and are competent practitioners of healthcare IT.
Global Healthcare Disasters by Adarsh Garg; D. P Goyal
ISBN: 9781774910047
Publication Date: 2022-06-01
The recent COVID-19 global pandemic exemplifies the need for efficient, reliable, and real-time tools and technology for forecasting and predicting healthcare disasters as well as for helping to restrict subsequent spread and fatality of deadly diseases. This new book discusses many of the innovative and state-of-the-art tools and technology that can help meet the challenges of predicting such disasters. The chapters offer a plethora of useful information for designing healthcare disaster management systems that can be dynamically configurable with implementation of today's modern technology, such as cloud computing, artificial intelligence, IoT, data analytics, and machine learning. These can increase effectiveness in remote sensing technologies, data analytics, data storage, communication networks, geographic information system (GIS), and global positioning System (GPS), to name a few. The book discusses mathematical models using graph-based approaches for analyzing dynamic, heterogeneous, and unstructured data for applications in epidemiology. The authors also address the use of mobile applications for communication efforts and remote monitoring for gauging health and the effectiveness of preventive healthcare measures. The chapters discuss influencing factors that directly or indirectly target public health infrastructure that can lead to or exacerbate global health crises, such as extreme climate changes, refugee health crises, terrorism and cyberterrorism, and technology-related incidents. The book further looks at efficient methods to analyze disasters and how to deliver healthcare in areas of conflict and crisis. This important volume, Global Healthcare Disasters: Predicting the Unpredictable with Emerging Technologies, provides a bounty of useful information for health professionals, academicians, researchers, governmental agencies, and policymakers across the world to predict, mitigate, and manage global health disaster with emerging technologies.
Healthcare Operations Management by Daniel B. McLaughlin; John R. Olson
ISBN: 9781567934441
Publication Date: 2012-07-15
This book focuses on operations management and the strategic implementation of programs, techniques, and tools for reducing costs and improving quality. It covers the basics of operations management and explains how operations and process improvement relate to contemporary healthcare trends, such as evidence-based medicine and pay-for-performance. The book's practical approach includes real-world examples to illustrate concepts and explanations of software tools, such as Excel and Project, that solve operational problems. This second edition has been thoroughly revised to address current issues facing healthcare managers. Major revisions include extensive updates to the chapters on statistical tools, Six Sigma, and the Lean enterprise. The chapter on project management now includes information on agile project management, and the chapter on scheduling and capacity management has been substantially rewritten and expanded. A new chapter on improving financial performance with operations management has been added. Key Features Aligns strategic and operational goals, including the use of project management tools and balanced-scorecard techniques, to execute and monitor projects Includes chapter overviews, a running glossary, Thoroughly explores performance tools, techniques, and programs, including Six Sigma, the Lean enterprise, and simulation Applies process improvement tools to supply chain management, scheduling, and other discussion questions, and problems for each chapter healthcare issues Student Resources Students can access an online book companion that features additional learning tools, including Excel templates, instructional videos, tutorials, exercises, and PowerPoint presentations for each chapter. Also provided are links to webcasts, web demonstrations, and case studies related to specific topics. Book jacket.
Intelligent Healthcare by Chinmay Chakraborty (Editor); Mohammad R. Khosravi (Editor)
ISBN: 9789811681493
Publication Date: 2022-06-03
The book Intelligent Healthcare: Infrastructure, Algorithms, and Management® cover a wide range of research topics on innovative intelligent healthcare solutions and advancements with the latest research developments. Data analytics are relevant for healthcare to meet many technical challenges and issues that need to be addressed to realize this potential. The advanced healthcare systems have to be upgraded with new capabilities such as data analytics, machine learning, intelligent decision making, and more professional services. The Internet of Things helps to design and develop intelligent healthcare solutions assisted by security, data analytics, and machine learning. This book will provide federated learning, Data-driven infrastructure design, analytical approaches, and technological solutions with case studies for smart healthcare. This book aims to attract works on multidisciplinary research spanning across computer science and engineering, environmental studies, services, urban planning and development, Healthcare, social sciences, and industrial engineering on technologies, case studies, novel approaches, and visionary ideas related to data-driven innovative learning and computing solutions and big medical data-powered applications to cope with the real-world challenges for building smart healthcare sectors. Main Features: Ø Immersive technologies in healthcare Ø Internet of medical things Ø Federated learning algorithms Ø Explainable AI in Pervasive Healthcare Ø New management principles using biomedical data Ø Secured healthcare management systems This book aims to set up a better understanding of data scientists, researchers, and technologists under innovative digital health. The reader can find out existing research challenges, current market trends, and low-cost technologies to smoothly address the digital health issue.

You can search our Journals or browse by subject from the library's homepage. For a quick look at what we have available in this subject area, see the title(s) below.

Health Information Management Journal
Is the refereed, journal of the Health Information Management Association of Australia (HIMAA) Ltd. Aims to promote the discipline of health information management through the provision of a forum for presentation of original research, short communications, reviews and commentaries. Scope covers empirical research, management perspectives, workforce planning, practical experience, product technical reviews and applicable newsworthy commentary.
Health Management Technology
Business magazine for healthcare information systems professionals and managers.
International Journal of Technology Assessment in Health Care

Check out the link(s) below to stream videos on this subject. You can also visit Films on Demand to browse their entire collection.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
A collection of short videos about job searching, soft skills for workplaces, and career information for a variety of industries.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video allows you to view this collection of videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Our collection includes videos about careers, business, science, health, social science, art & literature, history, and more, with a combined total of over 29,000 full-length video titles in over 275,000 segments.

Health Care and Technology: STEM Careers in Two Years As executive director of the Life Science Career Alliance, Colleen Hamilton believes that working in health care can “really change people’s lives.” And although she’s well aware of the industry’s challenges, Hamilton firmly believes that you don’t have to be a doctor or a college-educated researcher to find success in the medical field. This program explores the high-tech side of working in the industry, showing that health care technology jobs are not only fulfilling but also lucrative and challenging. Case studies feature Randy, a certified biomedical equipment technician (or CBET) at New Jersey’s Deborah Heart and Lung Center, as well as Luz, a surgical technologist, and Steve, a cath lab technician—both of whom work for Philadelphia’s Hahnemann University Hospital. These employees and their coworkers describe the job searches they went through and the professional, emotional, and financial rewards that come from what they do. (20 minutes)

Electronic Health Records Whether they are needed to ensure properly dispensed prescriptions, monitor a patient’s recovery, or make an urgently needed diagnosis, accurate health records are crucial to a patient’s safety. This program highlights the important work of health information technicians and shows how electronic health records can help make medical care both safer and more efficient. In-depth commentary on medical information technology and its challenges comes from Dr. David Bates, professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School, and Dr. Don Detmer, professor of medical education at the University of Virginia. Both are leading experts in medical informatics. (28 minutes)

Health Information Management Because of a growing need for detailed records, health information management technicians are increasingly in demand. This program looks at the specific duties and peculiarities of the HIM tech’s job, focusing on organizational and process-related skills. Responsibilities highlighted in the video include maintaining databases of medical records, complying with legal and ethical privacy guidelines, managing diagnostic and procedural codes, and producing reports for physicians to analyze. Featuring conversations with skilled practitioners in the field, the program explains the steps to becoming an HIM technician, including graduation from a two-year, CAHIIM-accredited associate degree program and passing the AHIMA written exam. (24 minutes)

We can also direct you to resources outside of the library's databases. See below for a selection of websites related to your field.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Access to research and data produced and collected by the agency. Topics include safety and quality of care, access to care, costs, and structure.
American Association of Healthcare Administration Management
The American Association of Healthcare Administrative Management (AAHAM) is the premier professional organization in healthcare administrative management. Your one-stop resource center for information, education and advocacy in the areas of reimbursement, admitting and registration, data management, medical records, patient relations and so much more.
American Health Information Management Association
Health Information Technology: Best Practices Transforming Quality, Safety, and Efficiency
Health IT
A resource to help health care administrators (as well as patients and doctors) learn more about new information technology that's being implemented in medical practices across the country.
HIM Body of Knowledge through AHIMA
AHIMA's HIM Body of Knowledge™ provides resources and tools to advance health information professional practice and standards for the delivery of quality healthcare.
MedTerms
An online Medical dictionary.
National Library of Medicine, Health Information Technology and Health Data Standards at NLM
Professional Association for Health Care Office Management
PAHCOM is a national organization dedicated to promoting professionalism in physician office practice by providing professional development opportunities, continuing education in health care office management principles and practice, and certification for health care office managers.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services-Health Information Privacy
Information regarding privacy rights for patients.

Want to learn more about a particular career? These resources will help you learn more about the potential a career field holds.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource for career exploration and planning that allows users to quickly find the valuable career information they need, whether it’s industry and professions articles, school planning resources, or skills and career advice.
Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 2010-20 decade.

When searching for information in the sciences it is important to know that there are two main types of information you will encounter: primary and secondary sources.

Primary sources are resources that report the results of original scientific research, written by those who did the research, that has not been published anywhere else.

If a publication comments on, evaluates, or discusses the original research report, then it is a secondary source, not a primary one.

	Primary Source	Secondary Source
DEFINITIONS	Original materials that have not been filtered through interpretation or evaluation by a second party.	Sources that contain commentary on or a discussion about a primary source.
TIMING OF PUBLICATION CYCLE	Primary sources tend to come first in the publication cycle.	Secondary sources tend to come second in the publication cycle.
FORMATS--depends on the kind of analysis being conducted.	Conference papers, dissertations, interviews, laboratory notebooks, patents, a study reported in a journal article, a survey reported in a journal article, and technical reports.	Review articles, magazine articles, and books.
Example: Scientists studying Genetically Modified Foods.	Article in a scholarly journal reporting methodology and results of an original research study on GMO foods.	Article or book analyzing, comparing, and commenting on the results of a number of original research studies.

Source: The Evolution of Scientific Information (from Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science, vol. 26) & GTCC Library Guide.

A Rough Guide to Spotting Bad Science

Healthcare Management Technology

Contact

Social Media