Massages energize, revitalize, and renew both body and spirit, and have even been proven to restore and promote good health. But to safely practice massage, you need to understand how the body works. Everyone from new students to experienced massage therapists can benefit from this unique book dedicated to the practice of massage. The world of massage at your fingertips! This comprehensive book explores seven of the world's best-known styles of massage: Swedish, Fusion, Shiatsu, Thai, River Stone, Reflexology, and Reiki. Massage Anatomy uniquely combines an understanding of the human body with different massage styles, making it an excellent resource for practitioners of all levels. Detailed anatomical illustrations and approachable text demonstrate body planes, muscle groups, and crucial areas like the nervous and lymphatic systems. There is also a helpful reference section on massage terminology and a glossary of muscles. Discover the ancient secrets practiced by Native Americans and Egyptians using warm stones that are applied to the body. Feel the "spirit life force" of reiki, a centuries-old Japanese technique used to promote peace and well-being. And find out how to combine Swedish, deep-tissue, and sports massage techniques for a fabulous massage fusion. Next to strong hands, this comprehensive guide book is a massage therapist's most important tool--an invaluable resource for new students and experienced therapists alike.* Includes double-sided poster of massage techniques and muscle systems.

Success in massage therapy begins with a solid foundation in the fundamentals! Mosby''s Fundamentals of Therapeutic Massage, 6th Edition helps you build the skills you need, from assessing problems and planning treatment to mastering massage techniques and complementary bodywork. Case studies bring concepts to life, and guidelines to professionalism include topics such as ethics, legal issues, and best business practices. ''How-to'' videos on an Evolve companion website demonstrate manipulation techniques, body mechanics, positioning and draping, and more. If you want to prepare for certification exams and succeed in practice, this resource from massage therapy expert Sandy Fritz is your text of choice. Research Literacy and Evidence-Based Practice chapter includes new research findings and explains how research is done, and how to read and understand it. Comprehensive coverage includes all of the fundamentals of therapeutic massage, including massage techniques, equipment and supplies, hygiene, working with special populations, and business considerations; it also prepares you for success on the National Certification Exam (NCE), the National Certification Exam for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB), and the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx). Over four hours of video on Evolve demonstrate techniques and body mechanics - each clip is narrated and performed by author Sandy Fritz - and include a demo of practice management software.  An entire chapter is dedicated to case studies which offer practice with clinical reasoning and prepare you to address common conditions encountered in professional practice. Step-by-step, full-color photographs demonstrate massage techniques and protocols by body area. A workbook/textbook format facilitates study and review with matching exercises, fill-in-the-blank questions, drawing exercises, and critical thinking questions. Coverage of body mechanics helps you to create an ergonomically effective massage environment and to determine appropriate pressure, drag, and duration application while applying massage methods. A spa chapter describes the massage therapy services offered at spas and looks at the spa as a possible career track in massage. Adaptive Massage chapter explains how to address the needs of specific populations, from pregnant women and infants to hospice patients and people with physical impairments. Example boxes reinforce specific concepts by showing real-life situations. Coverage of multiple charting methods helps you develop record-keeping and documentation skills, including SOAP and computer charting with simulation on Evolve. Foot in the Door boxes outline the professional skills expected by prospective employers. Learning features include chapter outlines, objectives, summaries, key terms, practical applications, and workbook sections. In-depth HIPAA coverage shows how to store records in a HIPAA-compliant manner and describes HIPAA requirements and training. NEW ELAP-compliant content ensures that your skills and knowledge of massage therapy meets the recommendations of the Entry-Level Analysis Project. NEW Focus on Professionalism boxes summarize key information about ethics and best business practices. NEW Mentoring Tips provide practical insight into important topics and on being a massage therapy professional. NEW Learn More on the Web boxes in the book and on the Evolve companion website suggest online resources for further reading and research. NEW Quick Content Review in Question Form on Evolve reinforces the key material within each chapter and increases critical thinking skills. UPDATED content keeps you current with the information needed to pass your exams and succeed in practice.

Written by massage therapy expert Sandy Fritz, this unique review resource prepares you for all of your massage therapy exams - both routine semester exams and tests administered for licensure, such as the National Certification Exam and the MBLEx. This comprehensive review features updated content and questions based on the currently administered licensing exams. Plus, a companion Evolve website comes loaded with 8 practice exams and a variety of review activities such as labeling exercises, crossword puzzles, electronic coloring book, games, and much more! And for studying on the go, Mosby offers a new mobile app featuring 125 test questions. No other massage review on the market gives you such complete exam preparation! Full color format with 347 illustrations (showing various massage techniques as well as anatomy & physiology) presents information in a more visual, engaging way and helps you retain information better than reviewing text alone. Over 1300 practice questions in the text provide the opportunity to assess your readiness for exams. Over 40 labeling exercises are available throughout the book to help kinesthetic learners retain information. Logical text organization presents review content with illustrations and examples followed by review questions and exams to help you hone test-taking skills as you master facts, learn how to apply them, complete practice questions by topic, and then work through a realistic exam experience. Written to be versatile so it can be used to prepare for licensing exams, as well as classroom exams allows you to prepare for massage licensure exams as well as your regular course load along the way. Answer key printed in the back of the text with rationales provides you additional feedback so you can better understand why answers are correct or incorrect. Esteemed author Sandy Fritz delivers quality content that students and instructors know they can rely on. NEW! Updated content and questions based on the changes to licensing exams delivers the most up-to-date, relevant questions ensuring you'll be fully prepared to pass the current exams. NEW! Companion website offers 8 practice exams, numerous review activities such as labeling exercises, crossword puzzles, Body Spectrum electronic coloring book, online flashcards, med term games, animations and more. NEW! Mobile app with practice test questions offers increased flexibility to study on the go and in shorter intervals.

How do diseases and disorders affect the design of massage treatment plans? What precautions are needed? When is massage contraindicated? Develop the knowledge you need to evaluate a client based on how diseases and disorders affect the systems of the body and the critical-thinking skills to apply that knowledge in practice. "A 'functional approach' to pathophysiology fosters understanding of the inter-relationship between body systems and human function. Clients are concerned about how a disorder affects their quality of life and ability to function. My goal for this book is to guide readers to use clinical reasoning to create client-specific, outcome-based massage treatment plans from this vital information--signs, symptoms, diagnosis, and client functional concerns."--Virginia S. Cowen, PhD, LMT, RYT, CSCS The Plus Code inside new, printed texts gives you access to a wealth of instructor and student resources online at DavisPlus, including your Davis Digital Version, animations, flash cards, case studies, quizzes, and podcasts recorded by the author.

For practitioners of massage therapy, sports massage, remedial massage, and physical therapy, soft tissue release is a powerful tool in treating chronic pain conditions such as shoulder impingement, tennis elbow, and iliotibial band friction syndrome. Soft tissue release also aids post-surgical recovery and is used in the treatment of highly trained athletes, dancers, and musicians who wish to tackle those small but key tissue areas needed to maintain and improve their performance. The soft tissues consist of muscle fibers, myofascia, tendons, and ligaments. The all-encompassing nature of this connective tissue is becoming increasingly fascinating to bodywork practitioners of all kinds, including massage therapists, physical therapists, chiropractors, osteopaths, orthopedic nurses and doctors, and sports therapists. Treatment of the soft tissues continues to gain momentum, and there are many exciting research developments that demonstrate how manipulation of these tissues can have profound effects on the structure and function of the musculoskeletal system. Skilled release of the soft tissues reduces the need for adjustments or joint mobilizations, because appropriate release improves joint movement. Freeing the joints and enhancing the health of the soft tissues also facilitates a superior and lasting response to rehabilitation programs. The Soft Tissue Release Handbook is aimed at practicing therapists who wish to address the soft tissues precisely and effectively, whether as an adjunct to existing bodywork techniques or as a treatment modality in itself. The skills presented in this book can be immediately applied in the clinic with existing and new clients. Graphic illustrations of the key muscles involved in movement, as well as over 200 full-color photographs of the technique in action, make this an easy-to-use and practical guide.

Massage: it's the natural, time-tested, non-invasive, chemical-free therapy for so many of the body's systems. Its proven benefits range from boosting the circulation to maintaining mobility and strengthening weakened joints. Here, designed for safe, effective home use, is an easy-to-follow illustrated introduction to basic massage techniques, with detailed sequences for every part of the body--including Indian head massage, hand and foot massage, self-massage, and whole-body massages. This comprehensive guide is ideal for anyone who wants to learn the essentials of professional massage."

Learn the healing power of touch with a new, up-to-date reference from The Complete Guide to Modern Massage. Massage is a natural method to relieve pain and reduce stress--and anyone can learn how to do it. The Complete Guide to Modern Massage offers an updated reference to learn popular techniques and feel the physical and emotional benefits of massage. From classic styles such as Swedish or Shiatsu to new favorites like Ayurvedic and Thai, this massage guide offers illustrated, step-by-step instruction to master techniques from around the world. Complete with massage practices for pain relief, you'll learn how to heal your family, friends, partners, and even yourself of common ailments with your own two hands. The Complete Guide to Modern Massage includes: An introduction to massage that outlines the history and basic principles of massage and how they relate to modern practice. World-famous massage techniques that include Deep Tissue, Reflexology, Tui Na, Cranialsacral, Reiki, and more! Restorative applications for healing common ailments including headaches, neck pain, PMS, lower back pain, and more. Easy-to-follow guidance with illustrations, and simple step-by-step directions to master every technique. Give and receive rejuvenating massages with world-famous techniques and step-by-step instructions from The Complete Guide to Modern Massage.

Deep Tissue Massage describes how to use 83 compressive and stretching techniques in ways that are safe and effective for you and your clients. The reference contains step-by-step guidelines and over 165 color photos, which will help you deliver comfortable and satisfying massages to your clients. The techniques are organized by the part of the body being massaged (trunk, lower limbs, and upper limbs) and by the positioning of the client (three-quarter lying, supine, prone, and seated). Once you have learned about the techniques, you will then learn about incorporating them into effective routines by moving the client from one position to the next. Discover those techniques and treatment positions that appeal to you, and discard those that you find less helpful. You will find many of these techniques easy to apply and will quickly be able to include them as part of your practice.

Salvo''s Pathology presents more than just a parade of diseases. It takes the reader through health assessment and client consultation, covers sanitation and hygiene, refreshes on physiology pertinent to the pathology and pathophysiology covered in the text, and talks about general contraindications and endangerment sites before moving into the pathologies themselves. More than 300 pathologic conditions are covered in chapters divided by system. An entire chapter on Cancer and another on Mental and Emotional Illness are new additions to this edition. Each pathology presents the following information: Description, Signs and Symptoms, Etiology, Treatment, and Precautions. Pathologies are also accompanied by full color illustrations and photos plus a traffic light icon indicating whether it is safe to proceed with massage (green), there are cautions (yellow), or the massage is contraindicated (red). Local contraindications are distinguished with an "L," to indicate massage is unsafe only in certain areas and the therapist can proceed with the massage for the rest of the body. Helpful appendices and a glossary round out the book. A traffic light icon appears before each pathology in the book, designating whether massage is contraindicated (red), local contraindication (yellow), or indicated (green) for that particular pathology. Consistent format for each chapter makes it easy to find key information with learning objectives, list of pathologies, system overview, and pathologies, including description, etiology, signs and symptoms, treatment, and massage considerations. Student-friendly features in each chapter include learning objectives and self-tests that measure your comprehension. Medical Technology boxes highlight special populations, such as clients in wheelchairs or with pacemakers, and explain what the medical device is, and what special precautions or contraindications you should be aware of before working on these clients. Spotlight on Research boxes summarize recent studies of massage therapy and its effects. Student resources on an Evolve companion website include interactive activities, video clips of techniques, animations, the Body Spectrum coloring book, flashcards, review questions, additional case studies, an image collection, an audio glossary, study tips, stress-busting tips, research updates, and more. Mosby''s Pathology for Massage Therapists Online reinforces content covered in the book and provides a dynamic way to learn key concepts, with features including recall activities, rollover glossary terms and definitions, animations, quizzes, and Clinical Tips boxes. (Available separately.) Over 300 NEW full-color photographs help you recognize common diseases and conditions. UPDATES of commonly seen pathologies include Alzheimer''s disease, diabetes, obesity, and post-traumatic stress. NEW Aging and Massage chapter reviews key concepts such as frail or robust, discusses palliative care, and reviews the need for treatments specifically geared toward the elderly. NEW student-friendly features in each chapter include Think about It, which provides a chance to review real-world cases and consider treatment options; Webquests that introduce useful websites such as Mayo Clinic and the CDC; and Discussion, which challenges you to find answers to thought-provoking questions. NEW Clinical Tips boxes provide brief, practical hints gleaned from the author''s first-hand experience in clinical practice. NEW 911 boxes prepare you for emergencies such as heart attacks and strokes that may occur in a massage setting. NEW Caution boxes serve as a companion to the 911 box, providing tips on how to avoid aggravating specific client conditions and what adjustments to make to ensure successful, safe practice. NEW Chat Room boxes include interesting and need-to-know facts on pathologies, quotes, statistics, reminders on important points covered in the text, and more. NEW! List of pathologies with page number references is included on the inside front cover for fast lookup of pathologies.

Trail Guide to the Body, 5th Edition, A hands-on guide to locating muscles, bones and more Before you can assess or treat a muscle, you first must be able to locate it. This acclaimed book delivers beautifully illustrated information for learning palpation and the musculoskeletal system. It makes mastering the essential manual therapy skills interesting, memorable and easy. With 504 pages and 1,400 illustrations covering more than 162 muscles, 206 bones, 33 ligaments and 110 bony landmarks, this text provides an invaluable map of the body. This new edition includes an extensive 56-page appendix that describes the common trigger point locations and pain patterns of 100 muscles. Trail Guide to the Body is a highly recommended textbook for the state licensing tests administered by both the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCBTMB) and the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) and is one of only five books on their official examination reference lists. In addition, the Board of Certification program for athletic trainers in the U.S. uses our high-quality Trail Guide to the Body illustrations in their various products, including exams. Whether you are a massage therapist, physical therapist, sports trainer or student in any bodywork modality, Trail Guide to the Body is for you!