LibGuides: ACA: Library Orientation: Library Resources

Welcome!

Tips on Using Library Resources

Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the database linked below. This link will take you to highest quality search engine, Summon.

Find Online Resources!

Search all of our databases at once using the Library's Summon tool!

Find physical books by searching our online catalog on the library's homepage. You can browse in person and pick up these books by visiting your local library branch. Here are our hours and locations.

Find physical books, DVDs and more in the Library!

Sometimes you need material that can't be found online. The Library catalog at CCCC has books, movies, and other media available for checkout.

*Helpful hint: if you can't find the tile or author you're looking for in a CCCC Library, try selecting "All CCLINC Libraries" from the drop down menu to see if you can find it in another community college in North Carolina. If so, we can place a hold and get the book for you in a few days!

Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to high quality search engines that will help you find the resources you need.

Educational Resources

Opposing Viewpoints
Best resource for helping pick a topic for an argumentative paper. Offers pros and cons on hundreds of current issues. Click on the light bulb "Browse Issues" to see a full list of available topics. Also a great resource for finding keywords on topics.
CQ Researcher
Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy. Great resource for argumentative papers and keywords.
Academic OneFile (Gale OneFile)
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources for all academic disciplines. Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, including full-text coverage of the New York Times since 1995. Updated daily. Check out under Topic Finder, "Go to Topic Finder" then type in your subject. The Visualizer will present associated keywords that can help you with your search.
Credo Reference
Premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas. If you like Mind Maps, look here! Type your keywords in the search box, and go. Mind Map results are linked, so you can easily search related terms.
Films on Demand
Streaming video allows you to view this collection of videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Our collection includes videos about careers, business, science, health, social science, art & literature, history, and more, with a combined total of over 29,000 full-length video titles in over 275,000 segments.

Lifestyle Resources

hoopla
Downloadable audio and eBooks on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. Compatible with all popular e-readers. An app is available for download. Users will need to make a personal account to use this resource.
Consumer Reports
Popular collection of product reviews and recommendations for cars, appliances, electronics, personal finance, and health information.
HeritageQuest Online
Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.
NoveList
Looking for your next great read? Many different aspects of a book may catch your attention. NoveList calls these different aspects “story elements” and include appeal terms, themes, and genres. Their team tags each book with appropriate story elements, making it easy to see if a book is right for you.
Auto Repair Source
Powered by the automotive experts at MOTOR, Auto Repair Source provides the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls.
Feature Films for Education
Stream hundreds of full-length feature films for educational instructional purposes. This database includes literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more. This resource works best in Firefox. If you are attempting to access via Chrome or Safari and having trouble, try clearing your cache and cookies. Or try watching your video in Firefox.

Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the research guides below. These guides will take you to high quality resources that will help you find the resources you need in various categories.

CCCC Research Guides a.k.a. LibGuides
LibGuides are helpful, online guides created by librarians. These guides gather reliable resources on specific subjects or topics, making it easier for students and faculty to find the information they need for their research projects. It's like having a knowledgeable assistant to guide you through the overwhelming world of information.

Springfield (Massachusetts) College Library Services. "The CRAP Test - Springfield College Library Services." YouTube, 25 Aug 2018, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=27XYeUbzz34.

How to tell if something is C.R.A.P.

Currency: Scholarly information should be current. When evaluating an article, find the date of publication. In certain fields, anything older than five years is not considered current.

Relevance: Information you find should be relevant to your topic.

Does it apply directly to your topic?
Does the whole article apply, or only small parts?
How detailed is the information?

Reliability: Is the information reliable? Can you count on it being true? Check for...

References and citations
Peer-review status
Is it consistent with the other information you've found? If not, does it acknowledge this discrepancy and explain it?
Is there any potential for bias from the author?

Authority: Make sure you can identify the author of the article and they have the authority to write on the subject. Anyone can share their opinion online--but you're looking for experts! So, identify...

How many authors?
What are their credentials (degrees, jobs at universities)?
Have they written other articles or books on related subjects?
Is their any potential for bias?

Purpose: Why was the article written? Can you tell? Knowing what an author hoped to do or gain by writing and publishing an article tells you a lot about how useful it is in an academic setting. Ask yourself...

Who is the intended audience?
Is the article meant to inform, entertain, persuade, sell, or add to an already existing scholarly conversation?
Does the article share the results of a study, experiment, or analysis?

ACA: Library Orientation

Summon Search

Search all of our databases at once using the Library's Summon search tool.

Catalog Search

Welcome!

Tips on Using Library Resources

Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the database linked below. This link will take you to highest quality search engine, Summon.

Find Online Resources!

Find physical books by searching our online catalog on the library's homepage. You can browse in person and pick up these books by visiting your local library branch. Here are our hours and locations.

Find physical books, DVDs and more in the Library!

Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to high quality search engines that will help you find the resources you need.

Educational Resources

Lifestyle Resources

Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the research guides below. These guides will take you to high quality resources that will help you find the resources you need in various categories.

How to tell if something is C.R.A.P.

Currency: Scholarly information should be current. When evaluating an article, find the date of publication. In certain fields, anything older than five years is not considered current.

Relevance: Information you find should be relevant to your topic.

Does it apply directly to your topic?

Does the whole article apply, or only small parts?

How detailed is the information?

Reliability: Is the information reliable? Can you count on it being true? Check for...

References and citations

Peer-review status

Is it consistent with the other information you've found? If not, does it acknowledge this discrepancy and explain it?

Is there any potential for bias from the author?

Authority: Make sure you can identify the author of the article and they have the authority to write on the subject. Anyone can share their opinion online--but you're looking for experts! So, identify...

How many authors?

What are their credentials (degrees, jobs at universities)?

Have they written other articles or books on related subjects?

Is their any potential for bias?

Purpose: Why was the article written? Can you tell? Knowing what an author hoped to do or gain by writing and publishing an article tells you a lot about how useful it is in an academic setting. Ask yourself...

Who is the intended audience?

Is the article meant to inform, entertain, persuade, sell, or add to an already existing scholarly conversation?

Does the article share the results of a study, experiment, or analysis?