Call Us
Email Us
Chat With Us
Request Library Instruction
The Library offers customized instruction sessions to support student success in research, information literacy, and academic integrity. Instruction can be tailored to your course goals or tailored around a specific assignment. And they can be delivered in multiple formats.
In addition to class-length sessions, instructors are welcome to request 15-minute refresher sessions in their classrooms. Refresher sessions include an overview of how to use Summon Search, the class-related Library Research Guide, and how to get help.
Instruction Options:
Topics We Can Cover:
How to Request Instruction:
Use the form below to tell us more about your class, assignment, and preferred format. We’ll reach out to confirm the session and tailor it to your needs.
Request a Library Instruction Session
Please submit your request at least two weeks in advance whenever possible to allow time for preparation.
Pro Tip:
Instructors who collaborate with librarians often see stronger student research outcomes, especially on projects that require outside sources.
Still have questions? Email us at cccclib@cccc.edu or reach out to your department’s liaison librarian.
Embedded Librarian Support
Want a librarian right there in your Blackboard course to support your students as they research, write, and cite?
With our Embedded Librarian service, a librarian is added to your course for a set period of time (or the full semester) to provide targeted research help, resource recommendations, and assignment support - all from within the Blackboard environment your students already use.
Librarians are already embedded in ENG 111, ENG 112, PSY 150, and SOC 210, and we’re happy to partner with you in other courses, too!
What an Embedded Librarian Can Do:
Ideal For:
How to request library instruction:
Use our Library Instruction Request Form and select “Embedded Librarian,” or email cccclib@cccc.edu directly to start a conversation.
Meet Your Subject Librarians
Every academic program at CCCC has a dedicated librarian who serves as a point of contact for research help, instruction, and resource support. These Subject Librarians work closely with faculty to support student learning and ensure the library’s collections and services align with curriculum needs.
How Subject Librarians Support Faculty:
Your subject librarian is:
Allison Sills (Health Sciences at Lee Campus) asills@cccc.edu
Mari Wimberley (UT and CTE for Lee Campus) mwimb770@cccc.edu
Morgan Pruitt (UT, CTE, Laser & Photonics for Harnett Campus) mpruitt@cccc.edu
Dana Haven (UT, Sustainable Agri, and Electrical Systems Tech for Chatham Campus) dhave903@cccc.edu
Need help or want to connect?
E-mail cccclib@cccc.edu
We’re here to partner with you - in the classroom, in Blackboard, and in support of your students' success.
Course Reserves for Instructors
Make it easy for your students to access required readings and materials - place them on Course Reserve with the Library. Course reserves are materials that the library sets aside for your students to use for a specific course.
Materials on Reserve are kept at the circulation desk at the Lee and Harnett campuses, and at the reference desk at the Chatham Main Campus.
Library Reserves allow the greatest access by a large number of students to a few number of materials. Course reserves can include textbooks, readings, films, and other course-related resources, available in either physical or digital format.
What Can Be Placed on Reserve?
Loan Periods
Loan periods are flexible and can be chosen based on your course needs.
How to Submit a Request:
To place an item on reserve, fill out the Course Reserve Request Form or contact us directly at cccclib@cccc.edu.
Please submit requests at least one week before your students will need the material.
Collection Development: Partner with the Library
The Library’s collection is built to support the teaching, learning, and research needs of students and faculty at CCCC. We welcome your input!
Faculty play a vital role in helping us maintain a collection that is current, relevant, and aligned with the curriculum. Whether you’re teaching a new course, updating a syllabus, or identifying gaps in your subject area, we’re here to collaborate.
What You Can Request:
How We Prioritize Purchases:
How to Make a Recommendation:
Tip:
Want to refresh your program’s subject area in the collection? We can provide collection reviews or reports and help you update materials based on currency or emerging trends in your field.
For more information, check out this CCCC webpage!
We’re happy to help build a collection that supports your teaching and inspires your students!
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for Faculty
Need something the Library doesn’t own? We can get it for you - fast and free.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows faculty (and students!) to borrow materials from other libraries across the state, region, and beyond. Whether you’re conducting research, updating course materials, or seeking a hard-to-find title, ILL helps you access the resources you need to support your teaching and scholarship.
What You Can Request:
Turnaround Time:
We’ll always keep you updated if there’s a delay or special circumstance.
How to Make a Request:
No cost, no hassle — we’re happy to help you get what you need.
Computer Lab Reservations for Faculty
Need a space where your students can work on research, writing, or library-based activities with access to computers? The Library’s computer lab is available for faculty reservations for instructional use.
Our computer lab is an ideal space for:
Lab Features:
How to Reserve the Lab:
Lab Use Guidelines:
The Lee Library computer lab is not completely enclosed. Please be aware that sound travels throughout the library and may disturb studying students unless voices are kept in low tones.
Additional Notes:
Questions about lab availability or how to make the most of your session? Reach out to us at cccclib@cccc.edu. We’re happy to help you plan an engaging and productive visit!
Custom Library Videos for Your Course
Looking for a quick, effective way to support your students’ research skills without using up class time? Let the Library help!
We can create custom instructional videos designed specifically for your course needs. These short, focused videos help students learn how to navigate library tools, develop research skills, and use information ethically. They can be embedded directly into your Blackboard course from the Library’s YouTube Channel or Edpuzzle, which includes built-in questions.
Premade Edpuzzles on the videos listed above (and more!) are already available! Please visit the My School tab in Edpuzzle and look for Allison Sills.
Have a unique topic or assignment? We can tailor content to match your course and learning goals.
Email asills@cccc.edu to get started. Tell us what you're teaching, your assignment goals, and any specific content you'd like us to include.
Let us help you reinforce your students’ library research skills!
