This book is aimed at new mechanical design engineers – to improve your employability and to help you ‘hit the ground running’. It also contains useful information and checklists for more experienced designers. It’s a quick read, listing real-world, non-academic, practical experiences which you won’t find in an engineer’s technical reference book. It includes design and drafting guides, good advice for everyday design and general office life, advice on job interviews, how to handle meetings, insights into other departments, looking after yourself in a work environment and more.

Collection of selected, peer reviewed papers from the International Workshop on Materials and Mechanical Engineering (WMME 2013), November 20-22, 2013, Xianning, China. The 57 papers are grouped as follows: I. Research and Processing of Materials, II. Mechanical Science and Engineering

This special issue contains research papers on modern technologies for obtaining and processing materials, technologies for obtaining welded joints and additive technologies. The book is intended for a wide range of specialists engaged in the development and production of heavy-duty metal structures, as well as for students, undergraduates, graduate and postgraduate students of technical colleges and universities.

Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook is a straight-talking and forward-thinking reference covering the design, specification, selection, use and integration of machine elements fundamental to a wide range of engineering applications. Develop or refresh your mechanical design skills in the areas of bearings, shafts, gears, seals, belts and chains, clutches and brakes, springs, fasteners, pneumatics and hydraulics, amongst other core mechanical elements, and dip in for principles, data and calculations as needed to inform and evaluate your on-the-job decisions. Covering the full spectrum of common mechanical and machine components that act as building blocks in the design of mechanical devices, Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook also includes worked design scenarios and essential background on design methodology to help you get started with a problem and repeat selection processes with successful results time and time again. This practical handbook will make an ideal shelf reference for those working in mechanical design across a variety of industries and a valuable learning resource for advanced students undertaking engineering design modules and projects as part of broader mechanical, aerospace, automotive and manufacturing programs. Clear, concise text explains key component technology, with step-by-step procedures, fully worked design scenarios, component images and cross-sectional line drawings all incorporated for ease of understanding Provides essential data, equations and interactive ancillaries, including calculation spreadsheets, to inform decision making, design evaluation and incorporation of components into overall designs Design procedures and methods covered include references to national and international standards where appropriate

This book focuses on cases and studies of interest to mechanical engineers and industrial technicians. The considered applications in this volume are widely used in several industrial fields particularly in the automotive and aviation industries. Readers will understand the theory and techniques which are used in each application covered in each chapter. The book contents include the following topics: Numerical analysis of hydrokinetic turbines Computational fluid dynamics of a CuO based nanofluid in mini-channel cross-sections Orthodontic biomechanics of a NiTi arch wires Reynold's number effects on fluid flow through Savonius rotors Effect of operating parameters on Zn-Mn alloys deposited from additive-free chloride bath Optical properties and stability of a blue-emitting phosphor (Sr2P2O7:Eu2+) Under UV and VUV excitation Numerical study of the influence of nanofluid type on thermal improvement in a three dimensional mini channel Electrochemical studies and characterization of Zn-Mn coatings deposited in the presence of novel organic additives Prediction of fire and smoke propagation under a range of external conditions Structural design of a 10 kW H-Darrieus wind turbine The presented case studies and development approaches aim to provide the readers, such as graduate students, PhD candidates and professionals with basic and applied information broadly related to mechanical engineering and technology.

Valued as a standard in the course, Juvinall and Marshek's Fundamentals of Machine Component Design continues to focus on the fundamentals of component design - free body diagrams, force flow concepts, failure theories, and fatigue design, with applications to fasteners, springs, bearings, gears, clutches, and brakes.  Problem-solving skills are developed by the implementation of a proven methodology which provides a structure for accurately formulating problems and clearly presenting solutions.  This edition includes additional coverage of composites, the material selection process, and wear/wear theory, along with new and updated examples and homework problems.

For more than 100 years, Machinery's Handbook has been the most popular reference work in metalworking, design, engineering and manufacturing facilities, and technical schools and colleges throughout the world. It is universally acknowledged as an extraordinarily authoritative, comprehensive, and practical tool, providing its users with the most fundamental and essential aspects of sophisticated manufacturing practice. The 30th edition of the "Bible of the Metalworking Industries" contains major revisions of existing content, as well as new material on a variety of topics. It is the essential reference for mechanical, manufacturing, and industrial engineers, designers, draftsmen, toolmakers, machinists, engineering and technology students, and the serious home hobbyist.    New to the 30th Edition: Expanded metrology section, including v-blocks and micrometer, vernier, and dial calipers. New fluid power section covering pneumatic,hydraulic, and vacuum theory and applications. New powder metallurgy section, including additive manufacturing. Even more useful specs, including tap drill sizes for Unified threads, reaming allowances for  drilling, mesh and grit sizes, rules for figuring tapers, and assembly with pins and studs. Recently added information on sheet metal and presses, keys and keyways, shaft alignment, taps and tapping, helical coil screw thread inserts, metric screw threads, miniature screws, fluid mechanics, solid geometry, statistics,  calculating hole coordinates and thread dimensions, and distinguishing between bolts and screws. Plus . . . Many thoroughly reworked and renovated sections throughout.  Comprehensive tables of  contents at the beginning of each section and extensive indexing. Hundreds of new and thousands of refined and redone illustrations and equations. Updated standards. Expanded metric content.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality,authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. THOUSANDS OF DRAWINGS AND DESCRIPTIONS COVER INNOVATIONS IN MECHANICAL ENGINEERING Fully revised throughout, this abundantly illustrated reference describes proven mechanisms and mechanical devices. Each illustration represents a design concept that can easily be recycled for use in new or modified mechanical, electromechanical, or mechatronic products. Tutorials on the basics of mechanisms and motion control systems introduce you to those subjects or act as a refresher. Mechanisms and Mechanical Devices Sourcebook, Fifth Edition, contains new chapters on mechanisms for converting renewable energy into electrical power, 3D digital prototyping and simulation, and progress in MEMS and nanotechnology based on carbon nanotubes. A new chapter on stationary and mobile robots describes their roles in industry, science, national defense, and medicine. The latest advances in rapid prototyping are also discussed. This practical guide will get you up to speed on many classical mechanical devices as well as the hot new topics in mechanical engineering. COMPREHENSIVE INDEX MAKES IT EASY TO FIND SUBJECTS OF INTEREST GLOSSARIES OF TERMS ON: CAMS, GEARS, MECHANICS, MOTION CONTROL, ROBOTICS, WIND TURBINES, PUMPS, AND 3D DIGITAL PROTOTYPING AND SIMULATION COVERAGE OF MOBILE ROBOTS THAT EXPLORE MARS, PERFORM MILITARY DUTIES AND PUBLIC SERVICE, HANDLE AUTOMATED DELIVERY, CONDUCT SURVEILLANCE FROM THE AIR, AND SEARCH UNDER THE SEA DETAILS ON THE MECHANISMS IN RENEWABLE-ENERGY AND WIND-TURBINE AND SOLAR-THERMAL FARMS AND WAVE-MOTION POWER PLANTS Mechanisms and Mechanical Devices Sourcebook, Fifth Edition, covers: Basics of mechanisms * Motion control systems * New stationary and mobile robots * New mechanisms for renewable power generation * Drives and mechanisms with linkages, gears, cams, genevas, and ratchets * Clutches and brakes * Latching, fastening, and clamping devices and mechanisms * Chains, belts, springs, and screws * Shaft couplings and connections * Motion-specific devices * Packaging, conveying, handling, and safety mechanisms and machines * Torque, speed, tension, and limit control systems * Instruments and controls: pneumatic, hydraulic, electric, and electronic * New 3D digital prototyping and simulation techniques * New rapid prototyping methods * New directions in mechanical engineering

Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of physical science. This helpful resource provides high school and undergraduate researchers with a solid foundation to begin their study of physical science. The volume begins with a helpful introduction to the field, followed by over 100 detailed entries. Entries range from 1-5 pages in length and include a detailed overview of the topic, written in clear, understandable language. Entries also include key terms, related fields and are further supplemented with photos, illustrations, charts, models and diagrams. Coverage in this volume is diverse, providing helpful guidance to the full spectrum of physical science studies, including: Properties & States of Matter Properties of Elements Chemical Bonding & Equations Gravity Force, Motion & Power Energy Electricity Magnetic Forces Heat & Termperature Nuclear Energy ... and so much more . This volume provides readers with the necessary information to learn about and fully understand the major concepts in physical science. This volume will be a welcome addition to science collections of all sizes.

Study faster, learn better, and get top grades Modified to conform to the current curriculum, Schaum's Outline of Engineering Mechanics: Dynamics complements these courses in scope and sequence to help you understand its basic concepts. The book offers extra practice on topics such as rectilinear motion, curvilinear motion, rectangular components, tangential and normal components, and radial and transverse components. You'll also get coverage on acceleration, D'Alembert's Principle, plane of a rigid body, and rotation. Appropriate for the following courses: Engineering Mechanics; Introduction to Mechanics; Dynamics; Fundamentals of Engineering. Features: 765 solved problems Additional material on instantaneous axis of rotation and Coriolis' Acceleration Support for all the major textbooks for dynamics courses Topics include: Kinematics of a Particle, Kinetics of a Particle, Kinematics of a Rigid Body, Kinetics of a Rigid Body, Work and Energy, Impulse and Momentum, Mechanical Vibrations