The Uniform Crime Reporting Program collects data on the age, race, and sex of persons arrested for all crimes except traffic violations.
Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to high quality search engines that will help you find the resources you need.
The Project MUSE Basic Research Collection is an interdisciplinary collection in the humanities and social sciences. This database searches articles from journals in these disciplines, covering topics like religion, literature, philosophy, cultural studies, anthropology, women's studies, film and the arts.
No time to search? The library's databases also provide access to hundreds of thousands of eBooks. Take a look at the recommended title(s) linked below.
ASIS Book of The Year Runner Up. Selected by ASIS International, the world's largest community of security practitioners. In today's litigious business world, cyber-related matters could land you in court. As a computer security professional, you are protecting your data, but are you protecting your company? While you know industry standards and regulations, you may not be a legal expert. Fortunately, in a few hours of reading, rather than months of classroom study, Tari Schreider's Cybersecurity Law, Standards and Regulations (2nd Edition), lets you integrate legal issues into your security program. Tari Schreider, a board-certified information security practitioner with a criminal justice administration background, has written a much-needed book that bridges the gap between cybersecurity programs and cybersecurity law. He says, "My nearly 40 years in the fields of cybersecurity, risk management, and disaster recovery have taught me some immutable truths. One of these truths is that failure to consider the law when developing a cybersecurity program results in a protective façade or false sense of security." In a friendly style, offering real-world business examples from his own experience supported by a wealth of court cases, Schreider covers the range of practical information you will need as you explore - and prepare to apply - cybersecurity law. His practical, easy-to-understand explanations help you to: Understand your legal duty to act reasonably and responsibly to protect assets and information. Identify which cybersecurity laws have the potential to impact your cybersecurity program. Upgrade cybersecurity policies to comply with state, federal, and regulatory statutes. Communicate effectively about cybersecurity law with corporate legal department and counsel. Understand the implications of emerging legislation for your cybersecurity program. Know how to avoid losing a cybersecurity court case on procedure - and develop strategies to handle a dispute out of court. Develop an international view of cybersecurity and data privacy - and international legal frameworks. Schreider takes you beyond security standards and regulatory controls to ensure that your current or future cybersecurity program complies with all laws and legal jurisdictions. Hundreds of citations and references allow you to dig deeper as you explore specific topics relevant to your organization or your studies. This book needs to be required reading before your next discussion with your corporate legal department. This new edition responds to the rapid changes in the cybersecurity industry, threat landscape and providers. It addresses the increasing risk of zero-day attacks, growth of state-sponsored adversaries and consolidation of cybersecurity products and services in addition to the substantial updates of standards, source links and cybersecurity products.
The modern corrections system is a complex structure, with opportunities in many different professions. Teens with an interest in medicine, social work, psychology, and education--to name just a few fields--are likely to find a rewarding career in the corrections system. This book explains the many different career paths available and describes some of the educational requirements needed. It speaks plainly about the pros and cons of working in what can be a very volatile environment.
Sponsored by the Communication, Information Technologies, and Media Sociology section of the American Sociological Association (CITAMS), this volume of Studies in Media and Communicationsfeatures social science research that examines the practices, patterns, and messages related to representations of crime in mass media around the world. Chapters focus on a wide range of fact-based and fictional accounts of criminality as depicted in print and broadcast news, documentary and video-on-demand films, and television programs. Stories about crime and criminality have long been the mainstay of news and entertainment media content, and the intersection of crime and media is a common topic in scholarly research. Moreover, substantial evidence indicates that these media depictions are highly influential as people in economically advanced societies - who tend to have little personal experience with crime-form perceptions about criminality, crime rates, characteristics of criminals, and even their own likelihood of victimization. Thus, ongoing examination of crime images within various types of mass media aids in understanding the associated messages and meanings that are disseminated to consumers. This volume will enhance the knowledge of junior and senior scholars in criminology, sociology, journalism, and communication/media studies, particularly because of its inclusion of crime stories in a variety of formats and that represent media content from nations spanning five continents.
A vital collection for reforming criminal justice After five decades of punitive expansion, the entire U.S. criminal justice system-- mass incarceration, the War on Drugs, police practices, the treatment of juveniles and the mentally ill, glaring racial disparity, the death penalty and more -- faces challenging questions. What exactly is criminal justice? How much of it is a system of law and how much is a collection of situational social practices? What roles do the Constitution and the Supreme Court play? How do race and gender shape outcomes? How does change happen, and what changes or adaptations should be pursued? The New Criminal Justice Thinking addresses the challenges of this historic moment by asking essential theoretical and practical questions about how the criminal system operates. In this thorough and thoughtful volume, scholars from across the disciplines of legal theory, sociology, criminology, Critical Race Theory, and organizational theory offer crucial insights into how the criminal system works in both theory and practice. By engaging both classic issues and new understandings, this volume offers a comprehensive framework for thinking about the modern justice system. For those interested in criminal law and justice, The New Criminal Justice Thinking offers a profound discussion of the complexities of our deeply flawed criminal justice system, complexities that neither legal theory nor social science can answer alone.
In The Social Life of Forensic Evidence, Corinna Kruse provides a major contribution to understanding forensic evidence and its role in the criminal justice system. Arguing that forensic evidence can be understood as a form of knowledge, she reveals that each piece of evidence has a social life and biography. Kruse shows how the crime scene examination is as crucial to the creation of forensic evidence as laboratory analyses, the plaintiff, witness, and suspect statements elicited by police investigators, and the interpretations that prosecutors and defense lawyers bring to the evidence. Drawing on ethnographic data from Sweden and on theory from both anthropology and science and technology studies, she examines how forensic evidence is produced and how it creates social relationships as cases move from crime scene to courtroom. She demonstrates that forensic evidence is neither a fixed entity nor solely material, but is inseparably part of and made through particular legal, social, and technological practices.
Find physical books by searching our online catalog on the library's homepage. You can browse in person and pick up these books by visiting your local library branch. Here are our hours and locations.
Children and Crime offers a multidisciplinary and research-based approach to the study of child maltreatment and juvenile delinquency. Connie M. Tang first examines children as victims of maltreatment, exploring how developmental trauma and societal factors influence children's behavior and psyche. Topics covered include child neglect, physical abuse, sexual abuse, and psychological abuse. Later chapters address how children come into conflict with the law and discuss gang membership and substance abuse. Engaging, real-life case studies illustrate the intersectionality of race, gender, and crime, as well as the role of Child Protective Services and juvenile courts. In particular, Tang examines how abuse and neglect can later play a role in a child's delinquency. Children and Crime provides an innovative and accessible text for psychology, social work, and criminal justice courses in child abuse, neglect, and delinquency.
"This text provides students and instructors with a detailed examination of communication in the criminal justice system. Specific issues confronting criminal justice practitioners in their daily activities, including interactions with the public, are explored. The text demonstrates appropriate methods of communication and provides direction for overcoming difficulties in the communication process." --Brooke Miller, PhD, University of North Texas "I would certainly describe this book as a must-have as an addition to any course that has a writing component. The information contained is necessary for students of criminology . . . [and] will aid students in formal writing as well as those going into the criminal justice field." --Dianne Berger-Hill, MAS, Old Dominion University Effective Communication in Criminal Justice is the perfect companion for any criminal justice course that discusses communication and writing. Authors Robert E. Grubb and K. Virginia Hemby teach students how to be both effective writers and communicators--essential skills for anyone interested in criminal justice. Going beyond report writing, this book helps readers become more confident presenters and digital communicators while encouraging students to adapt their communication styles to meet the needs of diverse populations. Students will not only improve their communication and writing skills but also gain specific strategies for succeeding in careers related to policing, courts, corrections, and private security.
Innocence Project attorney M. Chris Fabricant presents an insider's journey into the heart of a broken, racist system of justice and the role junk science plays in maintaining the status quo Praise from John Grisham, author of A Time for Mercy: "No one in America will ever know the number of innocent people convicted, sent to prison, and even executed because of the flood of rotten forensics and bogus scientific opinions presented to juries. In this intriguing and beautifully crafted book, Innocence Project lawyer M. Chris Fabricant illustrates how wrongful convictions occur, and he makes it obvious how they could be prevented." "Fierce and absorbing . . . Fabricant chronicles the battles he and his colleagues have fought to unravel a century of fraudulent experts and the bad court decisions that allowed them to thrive." --Washington Post "Junk Science is a book that should be on every true-crime reader's shelves. It is an eye-opening and infuriating tour through the failed idealism of forensic science as a discipline, how certain techniques like analyzing fibers and bite marks wilt under scrutiny, and how the criteria for 'experts' in a courtroom can be laughable at best and dangerous at worst, causing scores of innocent people to lose decades behind bars (or, in some heartbreaking instances, their lives.)." --Slate, one of "The Best New True Crime That Won't Make You Feel Gross" From CSI to Forensic Files to the celebrated reputation of the FBI crime lab, forensic scientists have long been mythologized in American popular culture as infallible crime solvers. Juries put their faith in "expert witnesses" and innocent people have been executed as a result. Innocent people are still on death row today, condemned by junk science. In 2012, the Innocence Project began searching for prisoners convicted by junk science, and three men, each convicted of capital murder, became M. Chris Fabricant's clients. Junk Science and the American Criminal Justice System chronicles the fights to overturn their wrongful convictions and to end the use of the "science" that destroyed their lives. Weaving together courtroom battles from Mississippi to Texas to New York City and beyond, Fabricant takes the reader on a journey into the heart of a broken, racist system of justice and the role forensic science plays in maintaining the status quo. At turns gripping, enraging, illuminating, and moving, Junk Science is a meticulously researched insider's perspective of the American criminal justice system. Previously untold stories of wrongful executions, corrupt prosecutors, and quackery masquerading as science animate Fabricant's true crime narrative.
Multiculturalism, Crime, and Criminal Justice provides an overview of the problems and promises of cultural diversity in society and within all facets of the criminal justice system. It focuses on how different marginalized groups - African Americans, Hispanic Americans, Asian Americans,Native Americans, women, the LGBTQ community, the elderly, and juveniles - are impacted by law enforcements, the courts, and correctional agencies, addressing the issues that each group faces. It also examines how multiculturalism affects those who work within the criminal justice system, includingmembers of minority groups.
America's criminal justice system is grappling with multiple issues--police-officer involved deaths and violence; mass incarceration; racial, gender and sexual orientation bias; the death penalty; public corruption; juvenile justice; disparate sentencing; and the ill effects of Three Strikes laws. These and other issues are examined through the lens of the author's experience as both a career prosecutor and educator of prosecutors. Roadways to Justice tells remarkable stories of selected cases, trials, and, above all else, quests for justice. The book argues that the criminal justice system can be changed, and it offers inspiration, practical solutions and roadmaps for how to reform that system. This volume is ideal for anyone interested in understanding how the criminal justice system really works, and it is an indispensable handbook for the new wave of lawyers, law makers, and others who want to improve it.Ronald Clark was a career prosecutor in King County, Washington, Senior Training Counsel at the National Advocacy Center in Columbia, South Carolina where state and local prosecutors were trained, and he is currently a Distinguished Practitioner in Residence at Seattle University Law School where he teaches trial advocacy, pretrial advocacy, essential lawyering skills and visual litigation and technology. With an insider's perspective, Clark reflects on fifty-plus-years of struggles to reform the criminal justice system.
You can search our Journals or browse by subject from the library's homepage. For a quick look at what we have available in this subject area, see the title(s) below.
A quarterly journal covering developments and issues in United States constitutional and criminal law. Publishes articles contributed by scholars and practitioners, and notes written by the student staff. Also publishes the Annual Survey of White Collar Crime, a guide to developments in the field of white collar crime.
This peer-reviewed, multidisciplinary Journal of Digital Forensics, Security and Law (JDFSL) focuses on the advancement of the field by publishing the state of the art in both basic and applied research conducted worldwide.
Check out the link(s) below to stream videos on this subject. You can also visit Films on Demand to browse their entire collection.
Streaming video allows you to view this collection of videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Our collection includes videos about careers, business, science, health, social science, art & literature, history, and more, with a combined total of over 29,000 full-length video titles in over 275,000 segments.
We can also direct you to resources outside of the library's databases. See below for a selection of websites related to your field.
Access data from a variety of crime reports, including the National Crime Victimization Survey, the Federal Court Cases Integrated Database, and more. Access reports and studies on topics ranging from domestic violence to terrorism.
A state law enforcement agency with original jurisdiction in the following areas: drug and arson investigations, environmental crimes, election law violations, human trafficking, weapons of mass destruction, child sexual abuse in day care centers, computer crimes against children and crimes involving state property.
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource for career exploration and planning that allows users to quickly find the valuable career information they need, whether it’s industry and professions articles, school planning resources, or skills and career advice.
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 2010-20 decade.