Provides access to content supporting research in all fields of psychology abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.
Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to high quality search engines that will help you find the resources you need.
This accessible practice-building reference establishes a clear social justice lens for providing culturally-responsive and ethical multicultural counseling for all clients. Rooted in the principles of Culture-Infused Counseling, the book's practical framework spotlights the evolving therapeutic relationship and diverse approaches to working with clients' personal and relational challenges, including at the community and system levels. Case studies illustrate interventions with clients across various identities from race, gender, and class to immigration status, sexuality, spirituality, and body size, emphasizing the importance of viewing client's presenting concerns within the contexts of their lives. Chapters also model counselor self-awareness so readers can assess their strengths, identify their hidden assumptions, and evolve past basic cultural sensitivity to actively infusing social justice as an ethical stance in professional practice. Included in the chapters: · Culture-infused counseling, emphasizing context, identities, and social justice · Decolonizing and indigenous approaches · Social class awareness · Intersectionality of identities · Clients' spiritual and religious beliefs · Weight bias as a social justice issue · Culturally responsive and socially just engagement in counselling women · Life-making in therapeutic work with transgender clients · Socially-just counseling for refugees · Multi-level systems approaches to interventions While Counseling in Cultural Contexts is geared toward a student/training audience, practicing professionals will also find the case study format of the book to be informative and stimulating.
This book is designed for individuals undecided about their future, beyond a desire or "a calling" to work with people, and provides excellent cutting edge information about a large variety of human service professions and occupations.
The foundations of health and wellbeing are laid down in pregnancy and the early years. Health for all Children takes a life course approach to child health, starting in pregnancy and extending to the age of seven to include transition into school, and to cover the foundation years ineducation. This new edition summarizes the evidence supporting preventive health care and health promotion; providing an effective, community-based response to the needs of families and children.Each chapter summarizes evidence of effectiveness in the topic area, in health promotion, and in universal and selective interventions. The fifth edition starts in pregnancy and runs until age seven taking into account Government policies and different models of delivery of the child healthprogramme. Evidence from all over the world is critically appraised and referenced to UK policy and practice.Health for all Children summarizes the evidence about "why" and "what works" in health promotion and health surveillance with children and families, providing guidance on how to implement and quality assure a programme, and the competencies needed. Each chapter includes "learning links" to onlinetraining materials and e-learning for health, or to resources freely available to practitioners.This established, evidence-based book continues to be essential reading for all health professionals who work with children. It will also provide vital background knowledge for those charged with the responsibility of planning, commissioning, and monitoring child health.
Integrative Counselling and Psychotherapy: A Textbook is an engaging and comprehensive guide to integrative counselling, providing an explanation of the theoretical ideas underpinning person-centred, interpersonal, cognitive-behavioural (CBT) and hypnotherapeutic modalities. Divided in two major sections, this book first provides a detailed exploration of the key integrative concepts - presence, emotional and psychological processing, attachment, thinking, and the unconscious - and then practically applies these concepts to the issues commonly brought by clients to therapy. With the help of case studies, exercises and chapter questions, Integrative Counselling and Psychotherapywill be essential reading for students on integrative counselling and psychotherapy courses and for integrative practitioners.
Contemporary Hollywood films commonly use mental disorders as a magnifier by which social, political, or economic problems become enlarged in order to critique societal conditions. Cinema has a long history of amplifying human emotion or experience for dramatic effect. The heightened representations of people with mental disorder often elide one category of literal truths for the benefit of different moral or emotional reasons. With films like Fight Club, The Silence of the Lambs, The Dark Knight, and Black Swan, this book address characters identified by film or media as people who are crazy, mentally ill, developmentally delayed, insane, have autism spectrum disorder, associative personality disorder, or who have other mental disorders. Despite the vast array of differences in people's experiences, film often marginalizes people with mental disorders in ways that make it important to be inclusive of these varied experiences. These characters also commonly become subject to the structures of hierarchy and control that actual people with mental disorders encounter. Cinematic patterns of control and oppression heavily influence the narratives of those considered crazy by the outside world.
This timesaving resource features: Treatment plan components for 32 behaviorally based presenting problems Over 1,000 prewritten treatment goals, objectives, and interventions--plus space to record your own treatment plan options A step-by-step guide to writing treatment plans that meet the requirements of most insurance companies and third-party payors The Social Work and Human Services Treatment Planner provides all the elements necessary to quickly and easily develop formal treatment plans that satisfy the demands of HMOs, managed care companies, third-party payers, and state and federal review agencies. Saves you hours of time-consuming paperwork, yet offers the freedom to develop customized treatment plans to address clients' psychological and environmental problems and issues Organized around 32 main presenting problems, from family violence and juvenile delinquency to homelessness, chemical dependence, physical/cognitive disability, sexual abuse, and more Over 1,000 well-crafted, clear statements describe the behavioral manifestations of each relational problem, long-term goals, short-term objectives, and clinically tested treatment options Easy-to-use reference format helps locate treatment plan components by behavioral problem or DSM-5(tm) diagnosis Includes a sample treatment plan that conforms to the requirements of most third-party payers and accrediting agencies (including TJC and NCQA)
Understanding Mental Disordersaims to help current and future psychiatrists, and those who work with them, to think critically about the ethical, conceptual, and methodological questions that are raised by the theory and practice of psychiatry. It considers questions that concern the mind's relationship to the brain, the origins of our norms for thinking and behavior, and the place of psychiatry in medicine, and in society more generally. With a focus on the current debates around psychiatry's diagnostic categories, the authors ask where these categories come from, if psychiatry should be looking to find new categories that are based more immediately on observations of the brain, and whether psychiatrists need to employ any diagnostic categories at all. The book is a unique guide for readers who want to think carefully about the mind, mental disorders, and the practice of psychiatric medicine.
Substance Abuse Counselors: A Practical Career Guide will help you determine if this is the right career for you and what skills and educational background you need to succeed in this field, and it includes interviews with substance abuse counselors currently working in the field.
Find physical books by searching our online catalog on the library's homepage. You can browse in person and pick up these books by visiting your local library branch. Here are our hours and locations.
A pioneering researcher and one of the world's foremost experts on traumatic stress offers a bold new paradigm for healing Trauma is a fact of life. Veterans and their families deal with the painful aftermath of combat; one in five Americans has been molested; one in four grew up with alcoholics; one in three couples have engaged in physical violence. Such experiences inevitably leave traces on minds, emotions, and even on biology. Sadly, trauma sufferers frequently pass on their stress to their partners and children. Renowned trauma expert Bessel van der Kolk has spent over three decades working with survivors. In The Body Keeps the Score, he transforms our understanding of traumatic stress, revealing how it literally rearranges the brain's wiring--specifically areas dedicated to pleasure, engagement, control, and trust. He shows how these areas can be reactivated through innovative treatments including neurofeedback, mindfulness techniques, play, yoga, and other therapies. Based on Dr. van der Kolk's own research and that of other leading specialists, The Body Keeps the Score offers proven alternatives to drugs and talk therapy--and a way to reclaim lives.
Essential Skills of Social Work Practice presents the basics of effective social work practice and helps students develop competence in assessment, intervention, and evaluation. Its broad coverage explores the counseling, case management, and research skills necessary to implementevidence-based practice in contemporary social work. A stand-out feature of this book is the innovative use of its appendices-particularly the comprehensive service plan that is incorporated throughout the text. The book incorporates a number of extensive case example with a step-by-step treatmentplan illustrating the application of knowledge and skills discussed within the case situation.Professor O'Hare has been a leader in the field of evidence-based practice and uses his experience to craft this second edition of Essential Skills. The book is DSM-5 ready, and illustrates the importance of using research to inform practice, while also using practice experiences to contribute tothe development of evidence-based resources. This is the book that will serve as a foundational practice text for students that also functions as a bridge to learning advanced social work practices.
The definitive text on motivational interviewing (MI) written by and for social workers has now been updated and expanded with 60% new material, including a revised conceptual framework, cutting-edge applications, and enhanced pedagogical features. Melinda Hohman and her associates demonstrate what MI looks like in action, how it transforms conversations with clients, and how to integrate it into social work practice in a wide range of settings. Extensive new case examples and annotated sample dialogues bring the concepts to life, helping readers build their own repertoires of MI skills. The book also summarizes the research base for MI and shares expert recommendations for teaching, training, and professional development. New to This Edition *Expanded and restructured around the current four-process model of MI (engaging, focusing, evoking, and planning). *Content is explicitly linked to the Council on Social Work Education's Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards (EPAS) and the Grand Challenges for Social Work. *Chapter on MI through the lens of critical race theory. *Chapter on innovative applications in the areas of trauma, food insecurity, and environmental justice. *Additional pedagogical features--"Voices from the Field" boxes written by social workers in a variety of roles, and end-of-chapter reflection questions. This book is in the Applications of Motivational Interviewing series, edited by Stephen Rollnick, William R. Miller, and Theresa B. Moyers.
Kip Coggins offers a fresh perspective on social work as he discusses practices in Canada and the United States. This is the first book to discuss the skills and insights necessary for practicing social work in either country. The Practice of Social Work in North America provides readers witha thorough and sensitive look at the historical, cultural, and environmental contexts of social work practice with individuals, groups, and in larger settings. The book includes in-depth presentations of the theories upon which social work practice is based, but encourages readers to continuouslyevaluate the application of these approaches in light of evolving practice issues. Alternative views and voices-including those of minority populations, Indigenous Peoples, and socially diverse groups-further social work knowledge and skill development to reflect contemporary social change.This is a book that students will use throughout their education and careers-from introduction, to field practicum, to their first years as a professional.
Social Work and Social Justice emphasizes the importance of social justice work, vividly illustrates the complexity of this work, and discusses how social workers can negotiate the practical and ethical challenges involved. Unlike many books on the subject, it integrates a diverse array ofapproaches to social justice, thereby promoting critical thinking and underscoring the value of utilizing various perspectives in one's practice.Distinguishing features of this book include: emphasis on the complementary nature of socially just goals and processes; well-developed case examples; multi-disciplinary, multi-cultural, and international perspectives; a clear exposition of principles and skills of socially just practice; and theuse of diverse cultural materials from different media to illustrate the concepts presented.This text is largely based on the authors' extensive teaching and practice experience in a wide variety of fields - both in the U.S. and internationally - and on their research on such varied topics as welfare reform, mental health, social work practice theory, social work values and ethics, and thehistory and philosophy of social welfare and social work. Social Work and Social Justice is an essential resource for undergraduate and graduate students/faculty, as well as social work/human services practictioners.
This edition responds to the challenge of devising holistic yet specialized services for the aged constituencies whose numbers have grown in practice. The author proposes to achieve a "successful aging" philosophy by selecting direct practice interventions, including preventive and psychoeducational strategies as well as family-centered models.
You can search our Journals or browse by subject from the library's homepage. For a quick look at what we have available in this subject area, see the title(s) below.
Streaming video allows you to view this collection of videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Our collection includes videos about careers, business, science, health, social science, art & literature, history, and more, with a combined total of over 29,000 full-length video titles in over 275,000 segments.
The Mental Help Net website exists to promote mental health and wellness education and advocacy. Access information about a vareity of mental health topics, including substance abuse, depression, and ADHD, as well as topics such as aging, adoption, and child development.
The Urban Institute builds knowledge about the nation’s social and fiscal challenges, practicing open-minded, evidence-based research to diagnose problems and figure out which policies and programs work best, for whom, and how. Their website provides access to information and research on a variety of social issues, including poverty, substance abuse, domestic violence, and child welfare.
Want to learn more about a particular career? These resources will help you learn more about the potential a career field holds.
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource for career exploration and planning that allows users to quickly find the valuable career information they need, whether it’s industry and professions articles, school planning resources, or skills and career advice.
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 2010-20 decade.