An updated edition of the ultimate hardware shopping guide and reference book: "Organized, accessible and cheerfully reassuring." --Publishers Weekly Tired of making multiple trips to the hardware store because you purchased the wrong item? Or wandering the aisles feeling overwhelmed and bewildered? This is the illustrated reference that helps you learn the difference between drywall screws and deck screws; between faucet washers and neoprene O-rings; and between red wire nuts and blue wire nuts. And that's before we even get to understanding nail gauges and drill bit sizes. The next time you talk to a hardware store clerk, rather than asking for "screws about two inches long," you'll be able to ask for #3 gauge 2-1/4-inch-long panhead screws with SAE 5/16' flat washers! The All New Illustrated Guide to Everything Sold in Hardware Stores is filled with color photos that let you see in life-size scale what different screws and nails and washers and bolts are called, accompanied by brief descriptions of their recommended uses--so you'll be able to ask for them with accuracy and use them with precision. "Recommended for beginners: new homeowners and ­handypersons just getting started." --Library Journal

This book will cover the essential role and responsibilities of the facilities manager as it pertains to building maintenance. Facilities management is a broad-based discipline that calls into play architectural, construction, engineering, and management and human skills, particularly for running and maintaining commercial, institutional, academic, and industrial buildings. If you're a newcomer to facilities management you will find this book an excellent introduction to managing maintenance. Already an established professional? You'll be able to brush up on the latest technological and regulatory trends affecting how complex facilities should be successfully maintained by way of risk assessment. The book contains ample, ready-to-use assessment forms and resources for extended practical information. Highlights include: Coverage of key components of facilities maintenance management including risk management, building safety, operations and purchasing, staffing, and more. Guidance on new trends including 'lean building maintenance' and Green Building specs (Green Spec) like LEED as well as guidance on legal contracts, safety regulations, energy efficiency, and more. The author also details specific management guidance by building type including apartments, office buildings, hotels and resorts, government buildings, schools, transport facilities, and many others.

Building maintenance workers are engaged in operating and maintaining computerized power plant systems, and light plumbing and electrical work in various types of buildings. This valuable guide instructs readers in how to parlay their handyman skills into a stable, secure, varied, and never boring career in a variety of buildings and institutions. The skills required for each specialty and type of building are presented, and proven job search and interview strategies are shared. Invaluable advice concerning workplace dynamics and etiquette, interactions with the public, relations with bosses and coworkers, and employee benefits is offered. This is an eye-opening look at all of the great employment possibilities available behind the scenes of nearly every building we pass every day.

No matter which industry a company is a part of, its profitability, like its products, is driven by the reliability and performance of its plant(s). The fundamentals for maintenance found in this volume are applicable to a multitude of industries: power, process, materials, manufacturing, transportation, communication, and many others. This book shows the engineer how to select, install, maintain, and troubleshoot critical plant machinery, equipment, and systems. NEW to this edition: New material includes a chapter on inspections, providing practical guidelines for effective visual inspections, the key to effective preventive maintenance. Also included in the revision will be multiple chapters on equipment, such as pumps, compressors, and fans. Provides practical knowledge about plant machinery, equipment, and systems for the new hire or the veteran engineer Covers a wide array of topics, from shaft alignment and bearings to rotor balancing and flexible intermediate drives Delivers must-have information to the engineer which he/she will use on a daily basis, in day-to-day activities, that will affect the reliability and profitability of the plant

Comprehensive and detailed, this reference presents the critical revisions in technical topics driven by emerging technology and building-code changes. Starting with a basic overview of the National Electrical Code and its enforcement, this handbook reviews the theory and practice of installing electrical wiring. The guidelines provide an essential context for understanding the major industry segments--residential, farm, commercial, and industrial--and the techniques that help to prevent or solve all wiring problems. A wealth of tips and handy tricks offered in a professional, down-to-earth style make this a favorite on-the-job resource. Professional practitioners, students and apprentices, and those seeking more information on performing electrical work at home will find everything they need to know about the wiring trade in this handy volume.

An in-depth guide to greening industrial and commercial facilities This GreenSource book is a valuable strategy and planning resource for saving money and energy by implementing sustainable production and business operations. Green Facilities: Industrial and Commercial LEED Certification examines a wide range of sustainability factors and reveals how to control costs through focused attention on reduced energy consumption, enhanced equipment efficiency, consistent maintenance, and more-flexible building and human resource management. Specific industry resources for each strategy are included in this practical guide. GREEN FACILITIES: INDUSTRIAL AND COMMERCIAL LEED CERTIFICATION COVERS: LEED certification and other sustainability programs Indoor health and thermal comfort Utilities, including renewable energy and on-site energy generation Operations--indoor chemicals, water management, lighting, cleaning, and more Building features, such as doors, windows, loading docks, insulation, and air infiltration Exterior features, including landscaping, paving, shading, siding, roofing, and more Web resources, software, and government and utility programs

B> Covers PLCs, process control, sensors, robotics, fluid power, CNC, Lockout/Tagout and safety, and more. Offers such a wide array of topics that readers can use this book as a reference for many different issues in industrial automation. Featuring the greatest breadth and depth of coverage available on the subject, this practical book explores the main topics in industrial automation; and provides a much-needed, understandable discussion of process control. < A comprehensive reference for professionals in industrial automation.

The new edition of this best-selling text has been reviewed and revised to clarify and update an understanding of mathematical concepts necessary for success in the machine trades and manufacturing fields. Mathematics for Machine Technology, Sixth Edition overcomes the often mechanical "plug in" approach found in many trade-related texts. A complete grasp of mathematical concepts are emphasized in the presentation and application of a wide-range of topics from general arithmetic processes to oblique trigonometry, compound angles, and numerical control. The material covered by this text is accompanied by realistic industry-related examples, illustrations, and actual applications, which progress from the simple to the relatively complex. Mathematics for Machine Technology, Sixth Edition provides readers with practical vocational and technical applications of mathematical concepts necessary to excel in the machine, tool-and-die, and tool design industry.

THE MOST COMPLETE AND CURRENT GUIDE TO ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING For more than a century, the Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers has served as the definitive source for all the pertinent electrical engineering data essential to both engineering students and practicing engineers. It offers comprehensive information on the generation, transmission, distribution, control, operation, and application of electric power. Completely revised throughout to address the latest codes and standards, the 16th Edition of this renowned reference offers new coverage of green technologies such as smart grids, smart meters, renewable energy, and cogeneration plants. Modern computer applications and methods for securing computer network infrastructures that control power grids are also discussed. Featuring hundreds of detailed illustrations and contributions from more than 75 global experts, this state-of-the-art volume is an essential tool for every electrical engineer. Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, 16th Edition, covers: Units, symbols, constants, definitions, and conversion factors * Electric and magnetic circuits * Measurements and instruments * Properties of materials * Generation * Prime movers * Alternating-current generators * Direct-current generators * Hydroelectric power generation * Power system components * Alternate sources of power * Electric power system economics * Project economics * Transmission systems * High-voltage direct-current power transmission * Power system operations * Substations * Power distribution * Wiring design for commercial and industrial buildings * Motors and drives * Industrial and commercial applications of electric power * Power electronics * Power quality and reliability * Grounding systems * Computer applications in the electric power industry * Illumination * Lightning and overvoltage protection * Standards in electrotechnology, telecommunications, and information technology

Get the know-how to weld like a pro Being a skilled welder is a hot commodity in today's job market, as well as a handy talent for industrious do-it-yourself repairpersons and hobbyists. Welding For Dummies gives you all the information you need to perform this commonly used, yet complex, task. This friendly, practical guide takes you from evaluating the material to be welded all the way through the step-by-step welding process, and everything in between. Plus, you'll get easy-to-follow guidance on how to apply finishing techniques and advice on how to adhere to safety procedures. Explains each type of welding, including stick, tig, mig, and fluxcore welding, as well as oxyfuel cutting, which receives sparse coverage in other books on welding Tips on the best welding technique to choose for a specific project Required training and certification information Whether you have no prior experience in welding or are looking for a thorough reference to supplement traditional welding instruction, the easy-to-understand information in Welding For Dummies is the ultimate resource for mastering this intricate skill.