Describes 75 jobs and how to attain them! Information technology is one of the fastest-growing segments of the labor market. This practical, one-stop career guide describes the depth and breadth of job opportunities and careers currently available in health information technology (HIT), and helps readers to enter and advance within this expanding field. The book offers guidance for students in higher education and currently employed individuals looking for mid-career opportunities. It includes a description of educational requirements for success in the HIT field and major themes of the HIT workforce such as informatics, provider-based jobs, vendor, government, and payer-based employment. The book describes quickest-route pathways for careers that require advanced training and professional associations that provide important information and resources. It examines the varied environments in which HIT careerists can workóhospitals, ambulatory care facilities, physician practices, the managed care and insurance sector, public health organizations, consulting firms and HIT vendors, and education and trainingóalong with related job opportunities. Seventy-five jobs include a description, experience and/or education requirements, core competencies, salary, employment outlook, and references. Interviews with individuals in varied HIT careers present a human face that offers valuable advice. An international perspective on HIT workforce development addresses issues and challenges within other countries, and an industry expert sheds light on future expectations for the HIT industry. Links to job resources, and listings of professional conferences and meetings, add further value to the guide, as do job seeker ìtipsî throughout. Key Features: Provides comprehensive, practical information about health information technology (HIT) careers for students and mid-career job seekers Explores the great variety of work environments and job opportunities within them Details education requirements and quickest pathways to attain them Includes interviews with people currently in HIT careers, links to job resources, professional conferences and meetings, and helpful tips throughout Presents an international perspective on HIT career development and the future of HIT careers from industry experts

This introductory book is for those preparing for entry- or midlevel healthcare management jobs. Aligned with the competency categorization developed by the Healthcare Leadership Alliance, it provides a knowledge base and develops aptitude in interpersonal skills such as leadership, professionalism, communication, and teamwork, as well as in business skills such as finance, human resources management, strategy, and marketing. The book is rich with compelling case studies depicting true events and situations. Every chapter opens with a case study to promote experiential learning and to anchor the chapter's subsequent coverage of theories and concepts.

A guide to a holistic approach to healthcare measurement aimed at improving access and outcomes Healthcare System Access is an important resource that bridges two areas of research--access modeling and healthcare system engineering. The book's mathematical modeling approach highlights fundamental approaches on measurement of and inference on healthcare access. This mathematical modeling facilitates translating data into knowledge in order to make data-driven estimates and projections about parameters, patterns, and trends in the system. The complementary engineering approach uses estimates and projections about the system to better inform efforts to design systems that will yield better outcomes. The author--a noted expert on the topic--offers an in-depth exploration of the concepts of systematic disparities, reviews measures for systematic disparities, and presents a statistical framework for making inference on disparities with application to disparities in access. The book also includes information health outcomes in the context of prevention and chronic disease management. In addition, this text: Integrates data and knowledge from various fields to provide a framework for decision making in transforming access to healthcare Provides in-depth material including illustrations of how to use state-of-art methodology, large data sources, and research from various fields Includes end-of-chapter case studies for applying concepts to real-world conditions Written for health systems engineers, Healthcare System Access: Measurement, Inference, and Intervention puts the focus on approaches to measure healthcare access and addresses important enablers of such change in healthcare towards improving access and outcomes.

he ethical behavior of a healthcare organization is the expression of its moral core. This book shows how the integrity and values of professional healthcare administrators contribute to defining and implementing the organization's moral core. Through conceptual and practical tools—including 30 cases—this book provides a new perspective that recognizes that every decision you make and every activity you undertake have the potential to compromise or enhance the moral core of your healthcare organization. Decisions with ethical implications are described and explored through the experiences of thought leaders, scholars, and healthcare executives.

Your complete guide to a career in medical billing and coding, updated with the latest changes in the ICD-10 and PPS This fully updated second edition of Medical Billing & Coding For Dummies provides readers with a complete overview of what to expect and how to succeed in a career in medical billing and coding. With healthcare providers moving more rapidly to electronic record systems, data accuracy and efficient data processing is more important than ever. Medical Billing & Coding For Dummies gives you everything you need to know to get started in medical billing and coding. This updated resource includes details on the most current industry changes in ICD-10 (10th revision of the International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems) and PPS (Prospective Payment Systems), expanded coverage on the differences between EHRs and MHRs, the latest certification requirements and standard industry practices, and updated tips and advice for dealing with government agencies and insurance companies. Prepare for a successful career in medical billing and coding Get the latest updates on changes in the ICD-10 and PPS Understand how the industry is changing and learn how to stay ahead of the curve Learn about flexible employment options in this rapidly growing industry Medical Billing & Coding For Dummies, 2nd Edition provides aspiring professionals with detailed information and advice on what to expect in a billing and coding career, ways to find a training program, certification options, and ways to stay competitive in the field.

Whether you're taking the CPHIMS exam or simply want the most current and comprehensive overview in healthcare information and management systems today, this completely revised and updated fourth edition has it all. But for those preparing for the CPHIMS exam, this book is also an ideal study partner. The content reflects the outline of exam topics covering healthcare and technology environments; clinical informatics; analysis, design, selection, implementation, support, maintenance, testing, evaluation, privacy and security; and management and leadership. Candidates can challenge themselves with the sample multiple-choice questions given at the end of the book. The benefits of CPHIMS certification are broad and far-reaching. Certification is a process that is embraced in many industries, including healthcare information and technology. CPHIMS is recognized as the 'gold standard' in healthcare IT because it is developed by HIMSS, has a global focus and is valued by clinicians and non-clinicians, management and staff positions and technical and nontechnical individuals. Certification, specifically CPHIMS certification, provides a means by which employers can evaluate potential new hires, analyze job performance, evaluate employees, market IT services and motivate employees to enhance their skills and knowledge. Certification also provides employers with the evidence that the certificate holders have demonstrated an established level of job-related knowledge, skills and abilities and are competent practitioners of healthcare IT.

The book Intelligent Healthcare: Infrastructure, Algorithms, and Management® cover a wide range of research topics on innovative intelligent healthcare solutions and advancements with the latest research developments.  Data analytics are relevant for healthcare to meet many technical challenges and issues that need to be addressed to realize this potential. The advanced healthcare systems have to be upgraded with new capabilities such as data analytics, machine learning, intelligent decision making, and more professional services. The Internet of Things helps to design and develop intelligent healthcare solutions assisted by security, data analytics, and machine learning. This book will provide federated learning, Data-driven infrastructure design, analytical approaches, and technological solutions with case studies for smart healthcare. This book aims to attract works on multidisciplinary research spanning across computer science and engineering, environmental studies, services, urban planning and development, Healthcare, social sciences, and industrial engineering on technologies, case studies, novel approaches, and visionary ideas related to data-driven innovative learning and computing solutions and big medical data-powered applications to cope with the real-world challenges for building smart healthcare sectors. Main Features: Ø  Immersive technologies in healthcare Ø  Internet of medical things Ø  Federated learning algorithms Ø  Explainable AI in Pervasive Healthcare Ø  New management principles using biomedical data Ø  Secured healthcare management systems This book aims to set up a better understanding of data scientists, researchers, and technologists under innovative digital health. The reader can find out existing research challenges, current market trends, and low-cost technologies to smoothly address the digital health issue.

Designed to provide a foundation of law and ethics, Law, Liability, and Ethics for Medical Office Personnel applies these concepts to real-life situations in the health care environment. Case studies from actual legal procedures illustrate key points of law as well as ethical dilemmas faced in the medical office. This book helps medical assisting students interact with the legal profession, recognize when they need legal advice, and protect their future employers from medical malpractice complaints.

Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint slides, answers to discussion questions, and a transition guide to the new edition. Management of Healthcare Organizations: An Introduction provides an integrated approach to management for a wide variety of healthcare organizations (HCOs). Written by one author with extensive knowledge from both professional and academic careers, the book explains fundamental principles, theories, and tools along with contemporary methods for applying them. The book's 15 chapters are interrelated and sequenced into a cohesive body of knowledge that provides a solid foundation for planning, organizing, staffing, leading, and controlling performance in an HCO. Written in an engaging and conversational style, this book provides those new to healthcare administration with the management skills and principles they need to succeed in the changing healthcare environment. Building on a successful first edition, this new edition has been extensively updated and expanded: Excerpts from a new case study introduce each chapter to enhance student learning with an example of managers doing the topic of focus in the chapter. Developments in management of HCOs are described, such as physician alignment and medical staff relationships, project management, population health, decision making, and staffing. Additional topics are discussed, such as the governing body, institutional theory, and Porter's model of competitive advantage. The final chapter on communication is broadened to include sections on professionalism, emotional intelligence, cultural competence, and communication. Three new supporting cases and updated end-of-chapter discussion and case study questions provide practical applications. Each chapter helps facilitate learning by incorporating the 3 E's: examples, exercises, and exhibits. Chapter summaries, learning objectives, discussion questions, key points, suggested web links, and case study questions are provided to further assist in development. Key terms are defined in the margins, and a glossary is included.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Completely updated to reflect the massive changes to healthcare law! Medical Billing and Coding Demystified clearly explains the practices used by medical offices, hospitals, and healthcare facilities to encode medical services in order to receive payment from government agencies and insurance companies. Like other entries in this bestselling series, this self-teaching guide uses a building-block approach that allows readers to learn at their own pace and test themselves along the way. No previous medical or accounting training or experience is necessary to benefit from Medical Billing and Coding Demystified, and the book can be used as a classroom textbook or as a complement to larger texts. This new edition offers detailed coverage of the sweeping revisions that have taken place in healthcare law, including the transition from ICD9 to ICD10 coding and the Patient Protection and Affordable Healthcare Acts. It also includes an important overview of medical billing software. Includes valuable learning aids such as end-of-chapter quizzes, a final exam, and key points Different from similar books on the market in that it explains basic medical concepts enabling the reader to actually understand the procedures and tests they are billing and coding for

Instructor Resources: Teaching tips, sample syllabus and a sample course schedule. Success isn't something you are born with-it is carefully cultivated and mastered. And a job, when it works well, can fit like a glove and provide immense personal and professional satisfaction. This book's 50 succinct lessons will guide students as they begin their careers in healthcare management and help them achieve success and professional fulfillment-whatever their role. Each of the 50 lessons outlines traits, behaviors, and skills needed to maximize strengths, master career success, and achieve the perfect job fit. White and Lindsey, in various academic and healthcare management roles, have provided career counseling for hundreds of students and early careerists. Each lesson concludes with helpful exercises that will prompt self-reflection and recommended resources for additional information. Written in a conversational, friendly style, the 50 lessons broadly cover three major areas: managing yourself, managing your job, and taking charge of your career. The 50 lessons are filled with bulleted lists and quick tips and address specific topics such as: Establishing a life vision and developing a personal brand Managing the first 90 days of a healthcare management position Mastering presentations through writing and speaking tips Building and supporting strong teams Developing a professional development plan Balancing life and work New graduates of master's programs and early careerists in the field will particularly benefit from this book, but readers at other points in their career will also find it useful.

A Science Friday pick for book of the year, 2019 One of America's top doctors reveals how AI will empower physicians and revolutionize patient care Medicine has become inhuman, to disastrous effect. The doctor-patient relationship--the heart of medicine--is broken: doctors are too distracted and overwhelmed to truly connect with their patients, and medical errors and misdiagnoses abound. In Deep Medicine, leading physician Eric Topol reveals how artificial intelligence can help. AI has the potential to transform everything doctors do, from notetaking and medical scans to diagnosis and treatment, greatly cutting down the cost of medicine and reducing human mortality. By freeing physicians from the tasks that interfere with human connection, AI will create space for the real healing that takes place between a doctor who can listen and a patient who needs to be heard. Innovative, provocative, and hopeful, Deep Medicine shows us how the awesome power of AI can make medicine better, for all the humans involved.

The recent COVID-19 global pandemic exemplifies the need for efficient, reliable, and real-time tools and technology for forecasting and predicting healthcare disasters as well as for helping to restrict the subsequent spread and fatality of deadly diseases. This new book discusses many of the innovative and state-of-the-art tools and technology that can help meet the challenges of predicting such disasters. The chapters offer a plethora of useful information for designing healthcare disaster management systems that can be dynamically configurable with implementation of today's modern technology, such as cloud computing, artificial intelligence, IoT, data analytics, and machine learning. These can increase effectiveness in remote sensing technologies, data analytics, data storage, communication networks, geographic information system (GIS), and global positioning System (GPS), to name a few. This book discusses mathematical models using graph-based approaches for analyzing dynamic, heterogeneous, and unstructured data for applications in epidemiology. The authors also address the use of mobile applications for communication efforts and remote monitoring for gauging health and the effectiveness of preventive healthcare measures. The chapters discuss influencing factors that directly or indirectly target public health infrastructure that can lead to or exacerbate global health crises, such as extreme climate changes, refugee health crises, terrorism and cyberterrorism, and technology-related incidents. The book further looks at efficient methods to analyze disasters and how to deliver healthcare in areas of conflict and crisis. This important volume, Global Healthcare Disasters: Predicting the Unpredictable with Emerging Technologies, provides a bounty of useful information for health professionals, academicians, researchers, governmental agencies, and policymakers across the world to predict, mitigate, and manage global health disaster with emerging technologies.