Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Central Carolina Community College Logo

HUM 122: Southern Culture

This Research Guide is for students in HUM 122. It provides information about Southern Culture, including literature, history, foods, art/architecture, religion,and social life, found in the CCCC libraries and linked databases

Welcome to HUM 122!

Best Bet Databases

Research can be challenging. To jump-start your research, try one of the library's best bet databases. These databases have plenty of books, journal articles, newspaper articles, photographs, and other electronic materials about Southern Culture. 

Library Lingo

Print articles iconArticle: A single, usually stand-alone, piece of writing included in a larger collection, typically a magazine, journal, or newspaper.


Journal iconJournal: A journal is a periodical (meaning published on a regular, on-going basis) collection of articles, usually related to a specific subject area.


Database: A collection of information sources such as journals, newspapers, eBooks, or encyclopedias, that have been organized so that users can easily find, access, and use that information.


audience iconPeer Review: The process that scholarly articles must undergo to be published. When an author submits their article to an academic or scholarly journal, it is then sent to other experts in their field (knows as their peers) to be reviewed. If those experts agree that the article contains good information and is based on a sound study or experiment, then it can be published.