Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care Detailed, standardized, step-by-step protocols for easy access to essential information in small animal emergency rooms and intensive care units Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care, Second Edition offers a complete and clinically oriented reference for step-by-step detail on a wide range of procedures in the small animal emergency room and intensive care unit. Each protocol provides detailed instructions grounded in the evidence. The book is carefully designed for ease of use, with concise but comprehensive explanations, useful equipment lists, protocols called out in boxes, and extensive reference lists. In the revised and expanded Second Edition, information has been updated and expanded throughout, and information and chapters have been added in many important areas, including veterinary point-of-care ultrasound (VPOCUS), veterinary CPR, blood banking and transfusion medicine, advanced techniques for mechanical ventilation, and veterinary health care team wellbeing. A companion website offers the protocols in Word for editing and use in practice and the figures from the book in PowerPoint. Specific topics covered in Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care include: The cardiovascular system, covering catheterization of the venous compartment, arterial puncture and catheterization, cardiac VPOCUS, principles of electrocardiography, and electrocardiogram interpretation The respiratory system, covering oxygen therapy, pulse oximetry and CO-oximetry, blood gas analysis, pleural space and lung VPOCUS, tracheal intubation, and temporary tracheostomy The urinary and abdominal systems, covering urethral catheterization, abdominal VPOCUS, peritoneal dialysis, technical management of hemodialysis patients, and peritoneal evaluation Transfusion medicine, covering blood banking, blood typing, cross-matching, and administration of blood and other biological products Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care presents invaluable and accessible information for emergency situations, making it a highly useful reference for veterinary practitioners, veterinary technicians and nurses, veterinary students, small animal emergency and critical care residents, small animal emergency and critical care specialists, and emergency and critical care veterinary technicians and nurse specialists.

ATLAS OF Small Animal Diagnostic Imaging Comprehensive and up-to-date resource on the interpretation of diagnostic images in small animals using survey radiographs and other modalities Atlas of Small Animal Diagnostic Imaging provides a comprehensive, multimodality atlas of small animal diagnostic imaging, with high-quality images depicting radiography, scintigraphy, ultrasonography, computed tomography, and magnetic resonance imaging. Taking a traditional body systems approach, the book offers an image-intensive resource to survey radiographs with some other imaging modalities being used to emphasize interpretation of survey radiographs. The Atlas offers clinically relevant information for small animal practitioners and students. Each body structure is thoroughly covered and well-illustrated, with discussion of the strengths and weaknesses of each modality in various scenarios. Edited by three experienced radiographers, The Atlas of Small Animal Diagnostic Imaging contains information on: Basics of diagnostic imaging, physics of diagnostic imaging, CT and MRI physics, US physics, and nuclear medicine physics Musculoskeletal normal anatomic variants, developmental orthopedic disease, joint disease, fracture and fracture healing, aggressive bone disease, and head and spine imaging Thorax anatomy, variants, and interpretation paradigm, extrathoracic structures, pleural space, pulmonary parenchyma, and mediastinum Abdomen anatomy, variants, and interpretation paradigm, extra-abdominal and body wall, peritoneal and retroperitoneal, liver and biliary, and spleen With its expansive coverage of the subject and hundreds of high-quality images to aid in efficient and seamless reader comprehension, Atlas of Small Animal Diagnostic Imaging is an invaluable and must-have resource for small animal practitioners, veterinary students, veterinary radiologists, and specialists in a number of areas.

The BSAVA Guide to Pain Management in Small Animal Practice is an essential reference guide for use in daily practice by all members of the veterinary team. Presented in an easy-to-read instructional format, this guide is intended to give practitioners practical information on pain management for small animals, including cats and dogs, birds, rabbits and exotic pets, with an emphasis on patient welfare and evidence-based medicine. The early chapters lay the foundations of pain management, including the physiology of pain, acute and chronic pain, pharmacological treatment and physical treatment. The following chapters focus on particular pain scenarios, such as dental pain and cancer pain, using authors' perspectives and case examples to enhance guidelines.

Canine and Feline Behavior for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses A complete and modern guide to the veterinary technician's role in behavioral preventive services This fully revised second edition of Canine and Feline Behavior for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses presents a comprehensive, up-to-date guide for veterinary technicians and nurses seeking to understand their patients on a deeper level, implement preventive behavior medicine, and assist veterinarians with behavioral interventions. The book provides a grounding in the behavioral, mental, and emotional needs of dogs and cats, and offers an invaluable daily reference for daily interactions with patients and clients. Along with brand-new coverage of Fear Free® veterinary visits, the authors have included discussions of animal behavior and development, communication, behavior modification, problem prevention, and behavior solutions. A companion website offers more than 50 video tutorials, multiple choice questions, PowerPoint slides, and appendices. This Second Edition also provides: A thorough introduction to the role of veterinary technicians in animal behavior Comprehensive explorations of canine and feline behavior and development Discussion of the complexities and richness of the human-animal bond Details on implementing emotionally protective practices into the veterinary and husbandry care Practical strategies for learning and behavior modification, problem prevention, behavior solutions, and communication and connection amongst the animal behavior team Canine and Feline Behavior for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses is an essential reference for veterinary technicians and nurses, and will also benefit veterinary technology and nursing students seeking comprehensive information about an increasingly relevant topic.

The Key Components of Veterinary Diagnostic System are Vet Laboratory, Vet Devices and Veterinary Diagnostic Test Kits. Traditionally, laboratory diagnostics for veterinary pathogens have relied on methods of detecting the pathogen by culture or antibodies, using varied techniques, such as neutralization, Enzyme-linked Immunosorbent Assay (ELISA), agar gel immunodiffusion, and complement fixation. Over the years, veterinarians have incorporated new molecular diagnostic techniques, such as Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) and Western blot, as well as improved older techniques by using recombinant antigens, monoclonal antibodies, and synthetic peptides. Despite the routine use of conventional diagnostic assays, new molecular techniques have enabled veterinarians to use new tools for rapid and specific diagnosis of animal disease in real-time. The globalization of trade in animals and animal products is a major driver for the improvement of the analytical and diagnostic quality of tests.

Stress in general is looked upon as a symptom resulting from exposure of an animal to a hostile environment. To some it is a nonspecific response to all environmental forces; others feel there are specific stress symptoms caused by specific environmental forces. The term stress is sometimes used to describe the hostile environment. Measuring the magnitude of stress often means measuring the degree of adaptation. The important function of livestock management is to avoid the detrimental adaptations and capitalize on the advantageous ones. Animal Welfare, Behavior and Stress are biological measures of stress. Animals cn be used as models of PTSD, Depression and other diseases.

Becoming a vet remains a very popular career choice, and with only eight vet schools in the UK, competition is ferocious Packed with insights from admissions tutors on how to make your application stand out from the crowd Includes case studies from successful applicants, giving essential first-hand advice Offers guidance on the entire application process, from writing a winning personal statement to how to shine at interview Now in its 12th edition

Approaching high-volume spay and neuter as a separate discipline, this comprehensive reference addresses the unique challenges of this branch of shelter medicine. You will learn how to become faster at performing these procedures in a variety of settings, while still maintaining the safety of the patient. Safety is emphasized throughout with guidance on how to best treat patients with unknown medical histories and financial constraints that restrict the ability to do pre-anesthetic blood work. Special attention is given to considerations about surgical technique, as well as topics such as suture selection and size, suture pattern, patient order, medications, and aftercare. Coverage of mobile veterinary services examines how to provide low-cost spay and neuter to underserved communities with this emerging trend in the industry. Comprehensive coverage examines the "hows" and "whys" of the mechanics of high-volume spay/neuter, as well as how to manage complications that can occur. Written by Victoria Valdez, an experienced veterinarian who has performed more than 40,000 spays and neuters. Information on how to set up both a mobile and a stationary suite offers guidance for providing low-cost spay and neuter services in a variety of settings. Easy-to-read reference manual format ensures each chapter includes all pertinent information on a topic, eliminating the need to cross-reference throughout the book. Enhanced eBook on Expert Consult offers a fully searchable version of the text.

PATHOGENESIS OF BACTERIAL INFECTIONS IN ANIMALS Comprehensive review of the major bacterial pathogens of animals, focusing on the current understanding of how they cause disease Pathogenesis of Bacterial Infections in Animals, Fifth Edition is a specialist reference that provides a comprehensive review of bacterial pathogens in animals and their complex interplay with disease processes, offering a complete understanding of how bacteria cause disease in animals. It covers the many recent advances in the field including the newest taxonomies. In this revised and long anticipated fifth edition, additional introductory chapters have been added to set the material in context, and more figures added to integrate and improve understanding and comprehension throughout the text. A companion website presents the figures from the book in PowerPoint and references. This detailed reference includes novel approaches to controlling bacterial pathogens in the light of growing concerns about antimicrobial resistance, with more than 70 expert authors sharing their wisdom on the topic. While molecular pathogenesis is a major aspect in almost every chapter, the authors have been careful to place pathogens in their broader context. Pathogenesis of Bacterial Infections in Animals, Fifth Edition also contains information on: Themes in bacterial pathogenesis, covering the basic elements of pathogenesis, concepts of virulence, host-pathogen interactions and communication, and pathogenesis in the post-genomic era Evolution of bacterial pathogens, covering what they are and how they emerge, along with sources of genetic diversity, population structure, and genome plasticity Understanding of pathogenesis through pathogenomics and bioinformatics, including how mutations generate pathogen diversity, and an overview of genome sequencing technologies Subversion of the immune response by bacterial pathogens, covering subversion of both innate responses and adaptive immunity Pathogenesis of Bacterial Infections in Animals, Fifth Edition is an essential resource for graduate students in veterinary medicine and animal science, and for veterinary microbiologists, pathologists, infectious disease experts, and others interested in bacterial disease. It is the only book to cover this topic to this depth through the wealth of insight of dozens of qualified and practicing professionals.

As the veterinary nursing profession continues to develop beyond the traditional caring and support roles, more and more academic rigour is expected of veterinary nurses. Exams, CPD and repeated testing and study throughout the nurse's career are now requirements. Aimed at veterinary nurses and technicians this book will guide the reader through the various research and study disciplines required of them. Research and Study Skills for Veterinary Nurses discusses why these academic skills are now required of the veterinary nurse, different types of source material, how to complete written assignments, how to reference properly, how to approach different test questions, exam preparation, how to respond to oral exams, how to complete OSCEs, CPD training and work-based practical assessments. Research and Study Skills for Veterinary Nurses provides information and advice - from successful exam technique, to revision ideas, and study styles - for student vet nurses who need a reliable resource to guide them through their course.

This book highlights the latest findings and techniques related to nutrition and feed efficiency in animal agriculture. It addresses the key challenges facing the nutrition industry to achieve high animal productivity with minimal environmental impact. The concept of smart nutrition involves the use of smart technologies in the feeding and management of livestock. The first chapters focus on advances in biological fields such as molecular agriculture and genotype selection, as well as technologies that enhance or enable the collection of relevant information. The next section highlights applications of smart nutrition in a variety of livestock systems, ranging from intensive indoor housing of broilers and pigs to extensive outdoor housing of cattle and sheep, and marine fish farms. Finally, because of the worldwide attention to this issue, the authors address the environmental consequences. This work, which takes a serious look at how nutrition can be used to improve sustainability in animal agriculture, is a key literature for readers in animal and veterinary sciences, the food industry, sustainability research, and agricultural engineering.

A full colour atlas of veterinary histology images with accompanying text, covering domestic mammals and birds. It provides a peerless collection of diagrams, schematics, colour micrographs and electron microscope images, plus online access to a further 900 colour images. The author presents information from both a structural and functional perspective. This applied approach highlights the importance of understanding histology as a basis for identifying disease.Translated from the German edition, Veterinary Histology of Domestic Mammals and Birds 5th Edition is an excellent atlas for veterinary students and veterinary school libraries.

Laser therapy has become increasingly popular in small animal practice and has many benefits to the patient - including reduced inflammation, faster tissue healing and less pain, and can be used in a wide variety of conditions including wounds, sprains and fractures.Aimed at the first opinion vet, this very practical book covers the most important aspects of laser use in the practice environment. But it does so in a slightly different approach, taking two (often mis-aligned) perspectives - fundamental science and clinical applications - and combining them for a robust, useful guide to the practice of laser therapy.It includes: how lasers work on tissue, how to use them in different scenarios, how to maximise results, how to use them on different conditions including soft tissue, musculoskeletal and neurological, how to integrate lasers with other therapies, when not to use lasers or use with caution, how to choose the equipment and implement it in the practice environment and promote the treatment to clients. The book also includes case studies to illustrate the use of lasers in practice on a range of conditions in different animals including dogs, cats and exotics.Veterinary Laser Therapy in Small Animal Practice combines the clinical and scientific approaches reflected in the work of the two authors, showing how both sides together can help you have a positive impact on the patient.

Offers an updated second edition of the comprehensive reference on the use of drugs for veterinary mental health care and behavior modification This fully revised Second Edition of Veterinary Psychopharmacology offers an authoritative reference to the drugs prescribed to treat psychiatric, psychological, and behavioral disorders in pets. Designed to be an accessible resource, the text is divided into sections on psychopharmacologic principles and clinical psychopharmacology. Comprehensive in scope, the book contains detailed information on pharmacologic intervention for pet mental health and behavior issues, offers thorough explanations of options, and explores why a particular drug should be prescribed and why it works. Updated to include the recent advances in psychopharmacology for pets, the Second Edition includes new chapters that cover the principles of psychopharmacology, miscellaneous serotonergic agents, anticonvulsants and mood stabilizers, sympatholytic agents, and NMDA antagonists. In addition, the text explains the drug options, including all the information necessary to correct dysfunctions in the brain's chemistry through pharmacologic treatment. This important resource: Presents an updated and comprehensive resource for pharmacologic treatments for pet, equine, and zoo animal psychiatric disorders and behavior problems Contains in-depth information on drugs that promote neurochemical changes that will alter the mood, emotional state, reactivity, and behavior of the patient, including prescribing options and mechanisms of action Includes new chapters on the principles of psychopharmacology, miscellaneous serotonergic agents, mood stabilizers, sympatholytic agents, and NMDA antagonists Written for veterinarians, veterinary behaviorists, and veterinary students, the updated second edition of Veterinary Psychopharmacology is a complete source for current knowledge on pharmacologic behavior modification. "Overall, this book packs a substantial amount of useful data into approximately 300 pages. The scope of the book is comprehensive and may include more in-depth information than casual prescribers seek, but it will be a good resource for the practitioners who are interested in immersing themselves into veterinary psychopharmacology." - JAVMA Vol 255 No. 6

Communicating ideas in veterinary medicine is a fundamental part of continuing veterinary research and building a career as a clinician.The purpose of this book is to help increasing efficiency and effectiveness in writing professional documents, e.g. writing a concise yet thorough discharge statement to avoid repeated client call-backs to clarify medical recommendations. The book also aims at improving the reader's confidence in writing skills through guided and well-thought out "homework" or practice exercises.Useful for both veterinary students and practising vets, Writing Skills for Veterinarians addresses how to develop and hone veterinary medical and scientific writing techniques. The basics of veterinary writing and why it matters are covered before concentrating on specific written models expected of vets - creating medical documents, client and colleague communications, report writing, journal articles and research papers and presentations. At the end of the book is a resource-bank of additional exercises relating to each type of document.

The Mometrix guide is filled with the critical information you will need in order to do well on your VTNE exam: the concepts, procedures, principles, and vocabulary that the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) expects you to have mastered before sitting for your exam.

Ensure you're at your clinical best! Laboratory Procedures for Veterinary Technicians, 7th Edition covers the broad spectrum of laboratory procedures that veterinary technicians need to perform effectively in the practice setting. Comprehensive content presents the fundamentals of microbiology, hematology, urinalysis, immunology, and cytology, along with the laboratory procedures used to perform the most widely used tests such as complete blood count, urinalysis, and immunologic assays. This thoroughly updated edition includes an expanded Quality Control and Record Keeping chapter along with the latest advances in veterinary clinical procedures to prepare you for real-life laboratory work. Comprehensive coverage gives you a solid foundation in the fundamentals of microbiology, hematology, urinalysis, immunology, and cytology, along with the laboratory procedures used to perform related tests. Provides the latest information needed to successfully perform a broad spectrum of laboratory tests, including complete blood count, urinalysis, and immunologic assays. Step-by-step procedure boxes offer quick access to the skills you must perform during your educational program, as well as procedures that are commonly performed by vet techs in private practice. A comprehensive glossary of terms at the end of the text offers accurate, concise definitions. Vet Tech Threads provide you with introductions, suggested readings, boxed technician notes, learning objectives, chapter outlines, key terms, and a glossary for easy navigation through chapters and more focused learning. NEW! Completely updated content throughout reflects the latest advances in veterinary clinical laboratory procedures for improved patient service and higher practice revenue. NEW! Thoroughly updated and expanded Quality Control and Record Keeping chapter ensures you have the most current information in this vital area.  UPDATED! Immunology section includes the latest information in this fast-growing veterinary technology area.

This user-friendly guide to medical mathematics helps veterinary technician students develop the math skills required before going into the practice setting.  New workbook format allows readers to practice problems right inside the book Covers math fundamentals, metric and non-metric conversions, dosing and concentration, IV drug infusion, prescriptions, and doctors' orders Offers step-by-step instructions for performing calculations Newly expanded to include calculation of constant rate infusions, dilutions, compounding, and anesthesia applications Features a full answer key and images from the book in PowerPoint for instructors on a companion website "The text is organized to help readers with rudimentary math skills as well as those who just need a little review on how to perform medically related mathematical calculations....Overall, this is a well-organized textbook that will help students at all levels of mathematic competency navigate the sometimes-challenging area of medical calculations."- JAVMA Vol 255 No. 6  

The Merck Veterinary Manual (MVM) covers all domesticated species and diseases in veterinary medicine worldwide. This completely revised and redesigned new edition of the veterinary classic uses a two-column format and color throughout for easy-to-read text and tables. Hundreds of color images enhance and illustrate the text. In addition to extensive revisions and updates, this edition includes a new section on public health and zoonoses, expanded coverage of fish and aquaculture, new chapters on backyard poultry, toxicologic workplace hazards, smoke inhalation, and additional coverage of numerous new and emerging topics in veterinary medicine. . Completely revised and redesigned in a two-column, easy-to-read format with color throughout . New section on Public Health which includes a new public health primer that covers One Health, public health functions and agencies, epidemiologic principles and study types, disease outbreak investigations, food safety, and a brief discussion of public health law . Revised and expanded information on fish, aquatic systems, and aquaculture as well as poultry, pet birds, rabbits, rodents, reptiles, and amphibians . New chapters on backyard poultry and Tasmanian devils, toxicologic hazards in the workplace for veterinarians, smoke inhalation, scorpion bites, spider flies, and xylitol toxicity . Extensively revised chapters on heart disease, diagnostic imaging, pharmacology and drug resistance, wound management, equine emergency medicine, management of the neonate and neonatal encephalopathy, wound management, equine arboviral encephalomyelitis, skeletal disorders and myopathies of poultry, and chlamydiosis . Important changes to the Behavior section such as inclusion of the most recent diagnostic techniques, methods and treatment of behavioral disorders in dogs, cats, and other domesticated animals, expanded coverage of the human-animal bond, service and assistance animals, and new material on self-care for veterinarians

Master critical concepts to succeed on your certification exam! Mosby's Comprehensive Review for Veterinary Technicians, 5th Edition is the ideal review tool which reflects the most recent changes to the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE). This edition features a user-friendly outline format that helps break down information visually for better comprehension of the material. Coverage reinforces key concepts in basic and clinical sciences, clinical applications, patient management and nutrition, anesthesia and pharmacology, medical and surgical nursing, and critical care, and information on pain management. Wide-ranging coverage includes dogs, cats, large animals, birds, reptiles, and laboratory animals. To ensure the most meaningful review, this new edition features a study mode on the Evolve site that includes 500 review questions and an exam mode with a computer-based testing environment similar to what you will encounter when taking the VTNE. The accompanying Evolve site includes an expanded Comprehensive Test with 500 review questions, and a test engine containing an additional 500 questions that can be used for practice or exam-mode simulation. Comprehensive Test at the end of the book simulates the VTNE testing environment, giving students the confidence and practice they need to master the exam. UPDATED! Chapter discussions expanded throughout text provide additional information in areas such as emergency procedures, as well as urinalysis and hematology, sanitation, sterilization, and disinfection, small and large animal nutrition and feeding, and exotic animal medicine. UPDATED! The digital section in the Radiography chapter has been expanded. Comprehensive coverage includes all areas of veterinary technology, such as: basic and clinical sciences; clinical applications; patient management, nursing and nutrition; anesthesia and pharmacology; and professional practices and issues. Coverage of multiple species, including dogs, cats, large animals, birds, reptiles, and laboratory animals, prepares readers for all aspects of the national board examination. A user-friendly outline format ensures content can be quickly comprehended and is conducive to classification and grouping of material, which helps the reader retain the content. End-of-chapter review questions cover the content in each of the chapters equally, providing you with a solid review of the vet tech curriculum and of the information you will need to know to pass the VTNE. Full-color format features vivid color photos to support comprehension and recognition of essential concepts including histology, hematology, diagnostic microbiology and mycology, virology, urinalysis, and parasitology. Easy-to-read summaries support visual learners and serve as useful review and study tools. Detailed Appendices provide you with quick access to helpful resources for veterinary technicians. NEW! Content mapped to the VTNE domains, tasks, and knowledge statements prepares you for taking the VTNE. NEW! The use and care of endoscopic equipment added to the Ultrasound and Other Imaging Modalities chapter.

Gareth Steel wants you to understand vets in a way you never could have before. How it feels to watch a healed dog bound into their owner’s arms. The joy of breathing life into the fluid-filled lungs of a newborn calf after a difficult labour. The satisfaction of rescuing a distressed sheep from the high-tide line. What it’s like to work 100-hour weeks for less than the minimum wage. How it can scar your soul to euthanize a beloved puppy with its grieving family beside you. The pressure of having to know such a diverse range of medicine, that one hour you can be protecting yourself from a dangerously distressed horse and the next you can be performing delicate surgery on a tiny mouse. How all these pressures have built up to the extent that vets have four times the national suicide rate, and why. Gareth Steel has been a vet for nearly twenty years and has worked all over the UK, across both rural and city practices, dealing with all manner of household pets and farm animals. This is his fascinating raw account of just how involved the job is and the toll the extreme emotions that come with it can take, but it also a heart-warming and often humorous story of the desperate lengths we go to for the love of animals.

Exploring the immunologic concerns of both large and small animals, Veterinary Immunology: An Introduction,10th Edition is the only complete resource on immunology for veterinary practitioners. This new edition has been meticulously updated to continue its trend of incorporating the latest advances and topics in the field. It features a straightforward presentation of basic immunologic principles along with thorough and timely information on the most significant immunologic diseases and responses seen in domestic animals. Comprehensive coverage clearly explains the general principles of immunology, and provides information on the most significant immunologic diseases and immunologic responses seen in domestic animals and marine mammals. A wealth of clinical examples show how principles will be experienced and addressed in the clinical setting. Educator and student resources on Evolve feature an image collection, enhanced animations, flashcards, content updates, and a test bank for instructors. Improved images clarify new content and enhance your understanding. NEW! Updated content covers new T cell subpopulations, newly described interleukins; new approaches to cancer immunotherapy; immunology of fish; and new advances in genomics. NEW! Learning objectives have been added to the beginning of each chapter. NEW! Chapter on commensal bacterial will address the role of commensal bacteria in veterinary immunology and provide convincing explanations for previously poorly understood phenomena. NEW! Information on the pathogenesis and treatment of atopic dermatitis has been added to help inform veterinarians who treat pets with dermatologic conditions. NEW! Revised content on cancer immunology reflects the vast expansion of information that has been uncovered in the past five years. NEW! Expanded information on the role of nutrition in animal immunity offers a rational basis for examining data of those who claim nutritional benefits. NEW! Full-color histologic images replace black and white images to more effectively convey concepts.

Treat the diseases affecting large animals! Veterinary Medicine, 11th Edition provides up-to-date information on the diseases of horses, cattle, sheep, goats, and pigs. Comprehensive coverage includes the principles of clinical examination and making a diagnosis, along with specific therapy recommendations. For easier use, this edition has been divided into two volumes and restructured into a logical, anatomically based approach to disease. From internationally known veterinary experts Peter Constable, Kenneth Hinchcliff, Stanley Done, and Walter Grünberg, this book is the definitive, one-stop reference for farm animal and equine care. Comprehensive coverage includes information essential to any large-animal veterinarian, especially those working with horses, cattle, sheep, goats, or pigs.  Coverage of diseases addresses major large-animal diseases of all countries, including foreign animal and emerging diseases. User-friendly format makes it easier to quickly absorb key information.  Quick review/synopsis sections make important information on complex diseases easy to find. NEW! Convenient, easy-access format is organized by organ systems, and divides the content into two compact volumes with the same authoritative coverage. Nearly 200 new color photographs and line drawings are included in this edition. NEW full-color design improves navigation, clarifies subject headings, and includes more boxes, tables, and charts for faster reference. New Diseases Primarily Affecting the Reproductive System chapter is added. Updated and expanded chapter on pharmacotherapy lists therapeutic interventions and offers treatment boxes and principles of antibiotic use. Expanded sections on herd health include biosecurity and infection control, and valuable Strength of Evidence boxes. NEW or extensively revised sections include topics such as the Schmallenberg and Bluetongue viral epidemics of ruminants in Europe, Wesselbron disease in cattle, hypokalemia in adult cattle, equine multinodular pulmonary fibrosis, Hendra virus infection, porcine reproductive and respiratory syndrome, torque teno virus, and numerous recently identified congenital and inherited disorders of large animals. Additional content is provided on lameness in cattle and the diseases of cervids.

The revised and expanded new edition of this classic reference to daily skills used by veterinary technicians Veterinary Technician and Nurse's Daily Reference Guide: Canine and Feline provides rapid access to the information veterinary technicians need in clinical practice. With an easy-to-use tabular format, the book covers diagnostic and patient care skills, diseases and conditions, preventive care, anatomy, anesthesia, and all other major areas of veterinary technician education and training. Chapters written by experienced veterinary specialists integrate charts, tables, and concise explanatory text to enable quick and efficient retrieval of information. Focusing on practical skills and knowledge, the fourth edition features extensively revised material incorporating the latest developments, evidence-based guidelines, and best practices in veterinary medicine. Brand-new chapters describe licensure and certifications in veterinary technology and discuss nursing theory and science and its relation to veterinary nursing. Expanded and updated coverage includes novel therapeutics in dermatology, vaccination standards, pain assessment and management, stress-free handling and nursing care strategies, RECOVER CPR guidelines, and more. Equally useful in the classroom and in the clinic, this popular quick-reference guide: Provides new and updated content, including coverage of advancements in diagnostic capabilities and of pharmacologic agents used in treatment and management of disease states Contains hundreds of clear illustrations and high-quality photographs Includes a comprehensive table of contents in each chapter Features a companion website with forms and worksheets, self-review questions, vocabulary flashcards, links to online resources, and PowerPoint slides Veterinary Technician and Nurse's Daily Reference Guide: Canine and Feline, Fourth Edition remains an invaluable resource for both student and practicing veterinary technicians and nurses of all skill and experience levels.