This database supports materials science research, covering topics such as metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials and dealing with areas such as corrosion, molding and casting, treatment, recycling, testing, finishing, welding, and forming.
Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to high quality search engines that will help you find the resources you need.
The principles and applications of friction-stir welding, a solid-state metal joining widely used to weld aluminum and its composites, are assessed. Friction stir processing, a novel process developed for microstructural modification of metallic materials, is also discussed. Academic studies and current sectoral applications of friction stir welding in shipbuilding are examined in detail. In addition, general literature reviews related to the joining of aluminum and steel with friction stir welding are explored. The authors examine past research comparing the friction stir welding and submerged friction stir welding, use of different medium under which the welding is performed, design and process parameters, applications and possibility of future research. In the closing study, a microstructural and statistical approach is performed to obtain a high strength welded joint in the dissimilar friction stir welding of AA 7075 and AA 6013 aluminum alloys.
Welding is a fabrication or sculptural process that joins materials, usually metals or thermoplastics, by causing coalescence. This is often done by melting the workpieces and adding a filler material to form a pool of molten material (the weld pool) that cools to become a strong joint, with pressure sometimes used in conjunction with heat, or by itself, to produce the weld. This book presents current research data in the study of welding, including the design of high brightness welding guns; electron beam welding; friction stir welding; limit load solutions for highly undermatched welded joints; fracture and fatigue assessment of welded structures; and laser transmission welding.
As critically important as welding is to a wide spectrum of manufacturing, construction, and repair, it is not without its problems. Those dependent on welding know only too well how easy it is to find information on the host of available processes and on the essential metallurgy that can enable success, but how frustratingly difficult it can be to find guidance on solving problems that sooner or later arise with welding, welds, or weldments. Here for the first time is the book those that practice and/or depend upon welding have needed and awaited. A Practical Guide to Welding Solutions addresses the numerous technical and material-specific issues that can interfere with success. Renowned industrial and academic welding expert and prolific author and speaker Robert W. Messler, Jr. guides readers to the solutions they seek with a well-organized search based on how a problem manifests itself (i.e., as distortion, defect, or appearance), where it appears (i.e., in the fusion zone heat-affected zone, or base metal), or it certain materials or situations.
The techniques used in the welding of thin sheet metal as used on vehicle bodies are vastly different to those used in welding heavier structures. Welding for Vehicle Restorers covers the various methods of welding used to make and repair sheet metal body panels. Whereas some forms of welding are straightforward, others require a significant amount of skill. The important thing for anyone wanting to achieve a good finish to body repair work is to start with the correct techniques: skill then comes with practice. When restoring a classic car of some value, it is worth putting the time and effort into becoming skilled in the use of all the techniques covered in this book in order to achieve a professional finish to your work.
Presents comprehensive information on welding and related processes to include detailed information on arc welding power sources; shielded metal arc, gas tungsten arc, gas metal arc, flux cored arc, submerged arc, and plasma arc welding processes. Also included are chapters on electroslag welding, stud welding, oxyfuel gas welding, brazing, soldering, oxygen cutting, and arc cutting and gouging.
Find physical books by searching our online catalog on the library's homepage. You can browse in person and pick up these books by visiting your local library branch. Here are our hours and locations.
This extraordinary seven-part book covers the processes of creating 13 projects -- from pencils to vases to bicycles -- for all personalities, skill levels and interests. It is specifically designed for students, beginning welders, hobbyists, and do-it-yourselfers. Many of the plans have been built multiple times by students and others. The plans are easy to read and the projects are meant to motivate the reader to want to learn the welding and fabrication processes. All plans include a list of materials, dimensions, special notes as needed., plus any commentaries about special equipment that might be necessary to compete the projects.
A comprehensive, visual handbook for welding in the farm, home workshop, school workshop, blacksmith shop, or auto shop. Almost anyone can weld, cut, or shape metal. That's the starting point for this supremely practical book which helps the beginner to improve and the intermediate operator to broaden their technique. Its detailed sections describe all the major types of welds before progressing into trickier methods. With this comprehensive guide, you'll understand everything you need to know, from arc, TIG, MIG, and gas welding to plasma cutting, soldering, welding plastic, and more. Beyond welding metals and plastics, advice extends into the wider workshop with chapters on drills, cutting threads, and basic blacksmithing. Filled with helpful visuals and photography, detailed explanations, expert suggestions, and step-by-step directions, author and experienced welding instructor Andrew Pearce also lays out common pitfalls and mistakes, and how to avoid or correct them. New, updated edition will include brand new chapters on general welding skills and understanding metals, expanded information on abrasives, and four new step-by-step projects and plans, including a steel table, fire pit, welding cart, and more.
Richard Finch. Metal fabricators of every ilk, whether they're working on race cars, experimental aircraft, or custom motorcycles, will benefit from this updated guide to top-quality welding. Performance Welding demonstrates the newest fabricating techniques and covers the latest in welding equipment. This complete guide written by NASA welding consultant Richard Finch helps a fabricator select the proper equipment, prepare jigs, and effectively weld 4130 steel, stainless steel, aluminum, and magnesium. It also covers plasma cutting, the technique used extensively on Monster Garage that has revolutionized metal working. 2nd ed.
Drawing on 50+ years of combined instructional experience, the authors of Welding fuse simplicity and technology to deliver exactly what today's students need. Built from the ground up -- beginning with an experienced author team's vision and an extensively reviewed table of contents -- Welding provides essential coverage of safety, theory, key skills, easy-to-read reference charts and tables, detailed step-by-step procedures, and much more. Clear and concise, this consistently-organized, reader-friendly text flows logically and includes just the right amount of information for today's student.
A one-of-a-kind welding book exploring the practical and decorative aspects of welding, with an emphasis on the hardworking projects most popular with serious workshop enthusiasts. It includes information on tools and materials, metal basics, setting up shop, safety, welding and cutting processes, but also includes dozens of plans for metalwork projects.
Review the basics of welding through easy-to-follow instruction, then find hours of satisfaction as you follow the included plans to create items for your home, shop, and outdoor living space. Welding Complete shows you everything you need to know to become a competent and safe welder, covering safety, equipment, material selection, tools, and the various welding and cutting processes. You will find photo-illustrated guidance on: Mechanical Cutting Plasma Arc Cutting (PAC) Oxyacetylene Cutting (OAC) Shaping Finishing Oxyacetylene Welding (OAW) Electricity for Welding Shielded Metal Arc Welding (SMAW) Gas Metal Arc Welding (GMAW/MIG) Gas Tungsten Arc Welding (GTAW/TIG) With this knowledge and some practice, you can move on to the specific projects in the book. Complete with how-to instructions, tool lists, material lists, blueprints and pictorial plans, and photos, the 34 welding projects include: Portable Welding Table Saw Stand Nesting Tables Swing-Away Coat Hooks Room Divider Trailer Frame Outdoor Angled Firepit with Floor Arch and Gate Packed with accessible instruction and great projects, Welding Complete is your personal metal shop teacher.
You can search our Journals or browse by subject from the library's homepage. For a quick look at what we have available in this subject area, see the title(s) below.
Streaming video allows you to view this collection of videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Our collection includes videos about careers, business, science, health, social science, art & literature, history, and more, with a combined total of over 29,000 full-length video titles in over 275,000 segments.
The American Welding Society (AWS) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing the science, technology, and application of welding and allied joining and cutting processes, including brazing, soldering, and thermal spraying.
The Fabricators & Manufacturers Association, International (FMA) is a professional organization with more than 2,300 individual and company members working together to improve the metal forming and fabricating industry. FFMA serves members involved in the following processes: bending, blanking, cutting, drawing, extruding, fastening, finishing, leveling, piercing, punching, roll forming, shearing, slitting, spinning, straightening, stamping, swaging, and welding. TPA serves members involved in production and fabrication of welded and seamless pipe and tube. SMN serves members deploying sustainable manufacturing practices.
The PMPA is an international trade association representing the interests of the precision machined products industry. While PMPA consists mainly of North America based manufacturers, its members also operate facilities in various industrial markets around the globe. - See more at: http://www.pmpa.org/about-us/who-we-are#sthash.MENbsbr7.dpuf
Want to learn more about a particular career? These resources will help you learn more about the potential a career field holds.
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource for career exploration and planning that allows users to quickly find the valuable career information they need, whether it’s industry and professions articles, school planning resources, or skills and career advice.
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 2010-20 decade.