Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to high quality search engines that will help you find the resources you need.
These library resources help you investigate your future career:
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource for career exploration and planning that allows users to quickly find the valuable career information they need, whether it’s industry and professions articles, school planning resources, or skills and career advice.
With this updated volume, readers discover the 300 jobs with the best pay, fastest growth, and most openings, no four-year degree required. The author has taken massive data from the US Department of Labor's Occupational Information Network (O*NET) database and other sources and turned it into a useful, interesting resource for workers who want good jobs and career advancement without four years in college. Features 60 insightful "best jobs" lists and 300 information-packed job descriptions. In just two steps, 300 Best Jobs Without a Four-Year Degree helps the reader quickly and easily narrow career options (step 1: the lists) and learn more about jobs of interest (step 2: the job descriptions). This edition includes the most current labor market information, career cluster information for each job, and "Considerations for Job Outlook" for each occupation. It features: coverage of a wide range of fields and industries; and six education, training, and work experience levels that include many people.
When you find the career that fits your personality, you'll discover that the work hours you once begrudged with every fiber of your being now bring you tremendous satisfaction and success. Is your job just a way to pay the bills Are you a drudge Monday through Friday only so you can be more yourself on Saturday It doesn't have to be this way! Never before in history has there been such an eclectic variety of money-making opportunities and cutting-edge vocations than there are in today's marketplace. There is no need to settle! Career Match contains the ten-minute self-assessment that can change your life. After a simple quiz to determine your personality style, turn to the corresponding chapter that reads as if it was written just for you and discover what ideal work options there are for you. In this invaluable resource for all personalities, you will learn how to: Identify career choices that will exhilarate you Recognize the type of work environment and boss you need to thrive Learn to leverage your natural strengths Customize and speed your job search This second edition has been updated to include trending new careers in areas such as gaming, web design, alternative energy, cybersecurity, food science, and more. Whether you are a recent graduate looking for direction or a burned-out veteran seeking new inspiration, Career Match will help you match who you are with what you're meant to do--with a success rate vastly greater than that of your typical match maker!
Discover why the secret to a successful career lies in your passion! Passion to Careers: Nine steps to BUILDING A SUCCESSFUL CAREER from your PASSION is essential reading for anyone looking to make a positive change in their career, or who wants to find work they'll enjoy while building a successful career they can later monetise. In Passion to Careers: Nine steps to BUILDING A SUCCESSFUL CAREER from your PASSION, Gugu shares nine critical steps that will help you find a job you love (while still building a successful career). These steps will help you to identify your talents, interests and passion and find work that truly engages, inspires and fulfils you. You'll also discover practical solutions to common career problems such as: Deciding what skills to develop, which company to work for and what career to build. Passion to Careers: Nine steps to BUILDING A SUCCESSFUL CAREER from your PASSION will inspire you to trust your interests, strengths and passion and focus on building expertise that brings out the very best in you. So step out of your comfort zone and into a career you're truly passionate about!
A recent Conference Board survey found that a staggering 53 percent of workers are unhappy in their jobs. Personality Power reveals a better way to find professional satisfaction and experience breakthrough success than searching for a new position or, worse, jumping ship and landing in the growing pool of unemployment. Through helpful charts, relevant exercises, and inspiring success stories, you'll learn how to leverage your natural talents and attain the professional fulfillment and recognition you deserve.Shoya Zichy's Color Q model is a highly accurate professional assessment used by over fifty thousand professionals worldwide that partners an extensive understanding of and involvement with the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator with David Keirsey's Four Temperaments model. After completing the simple ten-minute assessment, you'll have the opportunity to read an in-depth chapter on your personality type, which will help you better understand your unique professional strengths and how to make the most of them. You'll also gain helpful insights on how to identify career blind spots, ideal and least-preferred work environments, how to communicate with and coach others, and how to create a career road map toward achieving your professional goals.
Now you can identify and effectively market your skills and abilities to land the job you want with BLUE COLLAR RESUMES, SECOND EDITION. One of the few books written by a Certified Professional Resume Writer (CPRW), this high-impact approach to expert resume writing and career marketing includes a special section of resume examples for military veterans returning to the workforce, as well as a free resume review by the author.The author applies his 20+ years in recruiting and expert resume writing to reveal the latest tips and strategies regarding social network sites such as LinkedIn, personal networking and interviewing to shorten your job search, advance your career and increase your income. This practical guide clearly demonstrates how to rise above the competition and advance your career. You'll discover what really works as Mr. Provenzano reveals the top secrets of today's professional resume experts.
When Dr. Phil has sought to advise and help his viewers in their job searches, he's called in Tony Beshara. One of the most successful placement professionals in the United States, Beshara knows what works--and what doesn't. Now, in The Job Search Solution, Beshara applies a systemic approach to the process of finding a job--addressing the steps to take at every stage of the process and how to overcome the major challenges that confront candidates seeking employment today, including advice for readers who have been out of work for a while, were fired from their last job, are looking to change careers, or may be facing discrimination due to age. Featuring interactive exercises, real-life examples, practical dos and don'ts, and other essential tools, the completely updated second edition explains how to create a personal brand online, communicate with potential employers via email, and leverage personal stories throughout the interview process in order to get noticed and get hired. Both practical and empowering, The Job Search Solution gives readers the tools they need to land a dream job in one of the toughest job markets ever.
If you are like 99.9% of all other professionals, you have less experience turning job interviews into job offers than you have with any other essential professional skill. Knock 'em Dead Job Interview will turn this weakness into strength, giving you a set of invaluable skills that you will still be using to sustain your professional growth and stability throughout the balance of your career. You'll learn how to prepare for job interviews and pick up tips for answering over 300 of the most frequently asked interview questions, including behavioral questions. You won't get canned answers, but rather an explanation of the thinking behind each question, and a preparation methodology that ensures you'll always know how best to answer truthfully and effectively. With answers to hundreds of questions, every page is packed with tips and tactics that will work for you at any job interview. You'll learn how to prepare psychologically for interviews, how to turn phone interviews into face-to-face interviews, and how to dress for success on the big day. You'll learn how to follow up effectively and negotiate the best possible job offers, and you'll also get 100 questions to ask that help you evaluate both the job offer and your potential new boss. With no filler and never a word wasted, Knock 'em Dead Job Interview shows you how to turn job interviews into job offers and paychecks, increasing your professional success and financial stability. This is advice that you'll value for a lifetime, could you use it?
Live life on your terms It's tough landing your first job out of school and starting that climb up the ladder of success in such an uncertain world. In "Knock 'em Dead: Secrets & Strategies," you will learn how to get what you want out of life: Make sense of the world of work.Develop a life plan that puts you in control.Complete your job search in record time.Start on the right foot and win promotions.Never be unemployed--always have income.Gain access to the corporate inner circle.Weave your dreams into long-term success. You can score the job you want and learn to survive and prosper over the long haul of your career, no matter what's happening with the economy. "Knock 'em Dead: Secrets & Strategies" is a blueprint for acing the rules of success and then living life on your terms
"Why didn't you hire the last ten people you interviewed and passed on?" Leading career expert and syndicated columnist Andrea Kay asked numerous employers that single, simple question because of what she felt seemed a glaring disconnect in the business world--millions of educated, qualified people either out of work or unhappily employed, despite an increasing number of companies with job openings they can't seem to fill. How could that be? This Is How to Get Your Next Job is the story of her quest for answers and, more importantly, the surprising conclusions she was led to by these employers frustrated with not being able to fill these positions. The overwhelmingly common answers she received time after time were not about skills or experience but about how applicants behaved and spoke during the interview. From lack of preparation, to pushiness, to a subtly defensive attitude, these simple behaviors that prospective employees exhibited before, during, and after interviews ended up nullifying their otherwise-qualified résumé.Now, in this well-researched book based on candid insights from real-life employers, job hunters can learn how to take control of how they come across to the people in charge of giving them the exciting, rewarding opportunities they are seeking. Show them why you're the perfect fit for their job!
Find physical books by searching our online catalog on the library's homepage. You can browse in person and pick up these books by visiting your local library branch. Here are our hours and locations.
In just the past few years, interest in public health careers has soared. Public health degrees are more popular than ever, but what opportunities are out there once you've earned that MPH? And do you have to have a degree in public health to break into this field? This updated and revised second edition of 101+ Careers in Public Health provides an extensive overview of the numerous and diverse career options available and the many different roads to achieving them. It includes both familiar public health careers and emerging opportunities. New to the second edition are public health careers in the military, public health and aging, and careers in cutting-edge areas such as nanotechnology and public health genetics. Readers will learn about modern approaches to public health programs, including the evolving study of implementation science and the increased role of community participatory research. The second edition also presents expanded information on getting started in public health, including the increasingly popular field of global health. Included are descriptions of careers in disease prevention, environmental health, disaster preparedness, nutrition, education, public safety, and manymore. Whether you are a student who wants to launch a career or a professional looking to change careers, this guide offers a straightforward introduction to the public health field. It details the training, salary ranges, and degree requirements for each job and alerts readers to alternative pathways beyond the traditional MPH. NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: Public health careers in the military Public health and aging Expanded information on global health careers and how to get started in global health Careers in cutting-edge domains of public health, such as nanotechnology and public health genetics The evolving roles of implementation science and community participatory research MD or MPH? The differences between health care and public health KEY FEATURES: Includes a detailed guide to educational paths, options, and training requirements at the bachelor's, master's, and PhD levels Offers guidance on navigating the job market through both traditional and nontraditional pathways Provides tips on landing the job you want Includes interviews with public health professionals who offer details of their day-to-day lives on the job Helps job seekers just starting out and those interested in career change
Education is a rewarding area of work that provides some of the most diverse career opportunities of any field. Written by educators with real-world knowledge of the profession, this information-packed guide provides the career explorer with concise information on the necessary skills, training, certification/licensure, compensation, and employment outlook for over 100 careers in a wide range of education settings. This book describes careers that range from working with very young children to positions in traditional K-12 schools to educating adults in organizational settings. It discusses careers suitable for those who enjoy working with people as well as careers for individuals who are more comfortable with information or ideas. A particularly useful feature is information about alternative paths to working in education for those with degrees in related service professions. Careers outside of traditional settings include work in adult education, independent education, business or government settings, community-based educational services, and part-time opportunities, to name a few. Special attention is paid to positions in STEM and educational technology, one of education's fastest-growing careers, and careers of leadership including management, innovation, and accountability. The authors also provide a guide to self-assessment that helps readers to learn about those careers that best match their interests and temperament. Interviews with education professionals in a variety of arenas, such as middle school foreign language teacher, special education teacher, Head Start coordinator, and college athletic director, offer an in-depth look at different career opportunities. Key Features: Covers 101 careers including necessary skills, training, certification/licensure, compensation, and employment outlook Includes career options for new teachers, those changing careers within education, and those seeking education as a second career Includes many career options outside of traditional school settings Presents interviews with 23 individuals in different educational positions Provides self-assessment questions, information pertaining to professional development, and guidance on the job-search process
Describes 75 jobs and how to attain them Information technology is one of the fastest-growing segments of the labor market. This practical, one-stop career guide describes the depth and breadth of job opportunities and careers currently available in health information technology (HIT), and helps readers to enter and advance within this expanding field. The book offers guidance for students in higher education and currently employed individuals looking for mid-career opportunities. It includes a description of educational requirements for success in the HIT field and major themes of the HIT workforce such as informatics, provider-based jobs, vendor, government, and payer-based employment. The book describes quickest-route pathways for careers that require advanced training and professional associations that provide important information and resources. It examines the varied environments in which HIT careerists can work√>=hospitals, ambulatory care facilities, physician practices, the managed care and insurance sector, public health organizations, consulting firms and HIT vendors, and education and training√>=along with related job opportunities. Seventy-five jobs include a description, experience and/or education requirements, core competencies, salary, employment outlook, and references. Interviews with individuals in varied HIT careers present a human face that offers valuable advice. An international perspective on HIT workforce development addresses issues and challenges within other countries, and an industry expert sheds light on future expectations for the HIT industry. Links to job resources, and listings of professional conferences and meetings, add further value to the guide, as do job seeker "tips" throughout. Key Features: Provides comprehensive, practical information about health information technology (HIT) careers for students and mid-career job seekers Explores the great variety of work environments and job opportunities within them Details education requirements and quickest pathways to attain them Includes interviews with people currently in HIT careers, links to job resources, professional conferences and meetings, and helpful tips throughout Presents an international perspective on HIT career development and the future of HIT careers from industry experts
This ongoing series serves as a stepping stone in understanding specific careers and provides a wealth of information on the education and training needed within each profession along with a look towards the future of the field with an informative employment outlook. Understanding the wide variety of jobs in human services is important for anyone preparing for that career path. Merging scholarship with occupational development, this single comprehensive guidebook provides human services students with the necessary insight into potential careers, and provides instruction on what job seekers can expect in terms of training, advancement, earnings, job prospects, working conditions, relevant associations, and more. This title features 25 occupations in human services, social, and educational services, including: Activities Therapist Career & Technical Education Teacher Childcare Worker Healthcare Social Worker Librarian Preschool Teacher and Secondary & Middle School Teacher Social Service Aide Speech & Language Therapist Plus much more! Chapters provide an inside-look at the career options within a particular profession, including the Sphere of Work, A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Areas with the Highest Employment Levels, Employment Outlook, Business Contacts, and "What I Wish I Had Known" from Real Professionals.
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports that employment in all computer occupations is expected to increase by 22% by 2020. Give your students and researchers the information they need to learn about the many, varied career paths in information technology with our latest Careers title. Careers in Information Technology examines 25 potential career paths in Information Technology, including: Computer Engineer Computer Programmer Robotics Technician Database Administrator Information Security Analyst Multimedia Artist & Animator Software Developer Web Administrator . Information-packed chapters provide real-world information about these in-demand professions, including: A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, Areas with the Highest Employment Levels, and Conversations with Real Professionals.
Jobs in nursing are projected to grow 15% by 2026, much faster than the average for all occupations, because of an increased emphasis on preventive care; growing rates of chronic conditions, such as diabetes and obesity; and greater demand for healthcare services from the baby-boom population. This volume explores all levels of the nursing profession, to give students and adult job-seekers real-world information about their many career paths, including: Cardiovascular Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner, Geriatric Nursing, Neonatal Nursing, Oncology Nursing, Pediatric Nursing, Psychiatric Nursing and Women's Health Nursing.
Connecting career aspirations with the post-college world is crucial for students today. Learners must keep sight of future career opportunities while exploring a broad expanse of degrees paths and career options. Careers in Psychology, Fifth Edition helps students navigate and plan for their futures by offering exposure to the rich careers in each subfield of psychology and prompting students to consider the what, why and how of each option. In doing so, the text supports students as they determine whether a major and career in psychology is for them. Offering salary and career information, advice on getting a job after graduation, and information on applying to graduate school in psychology Tara L. Kuther and Robert D. Morgan support students in making an educated decision about their futures and career options.
Careers in Science & Engineering contains over twenty-five alphabetically arranged articles describing specific fields of interest in this broad industry segment. Merging scholarship with occupational development, this single comprehensive guidebook provides students in science and engineering insight and instruction on what they can expect in terms of training, advancement, earnings, job prospects, working conditions, relevant associations, and more. Understanding the wide variety of jobs in these segments is important for anyone preparing for a career in this field. Careers in Science & Engineering comprises more than twenty-five length chapters on a broad range of occupations including traditional and long established jobs such as Civil Engineer and Chemist, as well as in-demand jobs like Computer Engineer and Mining and Geological Engineer. This excellent reference also presents possible career paths and high-growth and emerging occupations within this field. Careers in Science and Engineering highlights over 25 career paths in science and engineering, including: Biomedical Engineer Chemical Technician Nuclear Technician Park Naturalist Solar Energy Systems Engineer Plus much more! Individual chapters provide real-world insight into these professions, including: A day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, Areas with the Highest Employment Levels, alongside with Conversations with Real Professionals.
STRONG, WISER, BETTER An Essential Guide for Reentering, Reinventing, or Rebooting Your Career at Any Age So many women hit their 40s or 50s and realize: it's time for a career change. Maybe you're yearning to try something new, or you're sensing that layoffs are coming and you need a backup plan. Perhaps you paused, or downsized your career to raise children, and you're ready to rejoin the workforce. How do you reboot, relaunch, return to, or reinvent a career at age 40? Or 50? Or 60? And how can you create a career and life that will provide you with purpose and financial security for years to come? In Comeback Careers, New York Times bestselling author and co-host of MSNBC's Morning Joe Mika Brzezinski and her sister-in-law Ginny Brzezinski have teamed up toshow you that career reinvention is possibleat any age. You have the skills, experience,and maturity; it's time to own them. For thisbook, Mika and Ginny interviewed dozens ofcareer-changers working in a variety of fields,from finance to academics to the arts. Theyshare successful relaunchers' secrets to overcomingobstacles, both internal and external, andtheir step-by-step processes and candid advice.They also reveal key strategies from top jobcoaches, résumé-writers, and LinkedIn experts,tailored to the special challenges of mid-careerjobseekers. It's time to rewrite the narrative. You are stronger, wiser, and better at the midpoint, and Comeback Careers is a roadmap to your career reinvention and fulfillment.
"...I feel it is an excellent supplement to textbooks that discuss process, concepts, theories and all elements of the criminal justice system. This book would only improve student chances of success." --Terry Campbell, Kaplan University A Guide to Study Skills and Careers in Criminal Justice and Public Security is the ultimate how-to resource for success in the study of criminal justice. Renowned author Frank Schmalleger, who has over 40 years of field experience, has teamed up with researcher and educator Catherine D. Marcum to introduce students to the field of criminal justice, break down its many components, and describe a variety of employment opportunities available to criminal justice graduates. Students will learn how to effectively approach the study of criminal justice; communicate successfully with professors, peers, and potential employers; choose classes that will assist with career goals; develop good study habits and critical thinking skills; and write effectively in criminal justice. Additionally, as their academic careers advance, students will gain insights into how to best prepare for successful careers. .
The SAGE Guide to Careers for Counseling and Clinical Practice offers valuable insights into a range of career options in clinical work through the contributions of 15 counselors. The text opens with a discussion of the various roles and functions of counselors and includes guidance on educational, licensing, and fieldwork considerations, while subsequent chapters offer practical information on job requirements, salaries, and day-to-day activities. Aspiring counselors and clinicians will gain not only a factual knowledge about career possibilities, but also a deeper understanding of what it actually means to engage in this type of work.
In today's challenging job-market, the time-tested advice of What Color Is Your Parachute? is needed more than ever. Recent grads facing a tough economic landscape, workers laid off mid-career, and people searching for an inspiring work-life change all look to career guru Richard N. Bolles for support, encouragement, and advice on which job-hunt strategies work--and which don't. This revised edition combines classic elements like the famed Flower Exercise with updated tips on social media and search tactics. Bolles demystifies the entire job-search process, from writing resumes to interviewing to networking, expertly guiding job-hunters toward their dream job.
Check out the link(s) below to stream videos on this subject. You can also visit Films on Demand to browse their entire collection.
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 2010-20 decade.
The Economic Development and Employer Planning System (EDEPS) is an analytical tool for business, education, workforce and economic planners. EDEPS facilitates the analysis of economic health, industry performance, population trends, labor supply and demand, training resources, income characteristics, and market potential.
My Next Move is an interactive tool for job seekers and students to learn more about their career options. My Next Move has tasks, skills, salary information, and more for over 900 different careers. Users can find careers through keyword search; by browsing industries that employ different types of workers; or through the Interest Profiler, a tool that offers personalized career suggestions based on a person's interests and level of work experience.
LEAD (Labor & Economic Analysis Division) of the NC Department of Commerce prepares analyses of the state’s industry sectors, occupations, workforce, and key economic trends, tracks and analyzes jobs and investments for economic and workforce development, and is your one-stop source and provider of labor market information for North Carolina.
LinkedIn is an American business- and employment-oriented online service that operates via websites and mobile apps. Launched on May 5, 2003, the platform is primarily used for professional networking and career development, and allows job seekers to post their CVs and employers to post jobs.