LibGuides: Health Information Technology: Primary Library Resources

Health Information Technology Welcome!

Primary Library Resources

Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to highest quality search engines for your field.

Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Discover periodicals and reference book content designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, periodicals, reference works, and multimedia. Provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.

Find trade journal articles, eBooks, newspaper articles, and more in the databases linked below. These links will take you to high quality search engines that will help you find the resources you need.

Consumer Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.
Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Discover periodicals and reference book content designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Health & Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, periodicals, reference works, and multimedia. Provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource containing citations (not full articles) to biomedical articles and life science journals.
Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.

No time to search? The library's databases also provide access to hundreds of thousands of eBooks. Take a look at the recommended title(s) linked below.

Careers in Health Information Technology (HIT) by Brian T. Malec
ISBN: 9780826129932
Publication Date: 2014-08-01
Describes 75 jobs and how to attain them Information technology is one of the fastest-growing segments of the labor market. This practical, one-stop career guide describes the depth and breadth of job opportunities and careers currently available in health information technology (HIT), and helps readers to enter and advance within this expanding field. The book offers guidance for students in higher education and currently employed individuals looking for mid-career opportunities. It includes a description of educational requirements for success in the HIT field and major themes of the HIT workforce such as informatics, provider-based jobs, vendor, government, and payer-based employment. The book describes quickest-route pathways for careers that require advanced training and professional associations that provide important information and resources. It examines the varied environments in which HIT careerists can work√>=hospitals, ambulatory care facilities, physician practices, the managed care and insurance sector, public health organizations, consulting firms and HIT vendors, and education and training√>=along with related job opportunities. Seventy-five jobs include a description, experience and/or education requirements, core competencies, salary, employment outlook, and references. Interviews with individuals in varied HIT careers present a human face that offers valuable advice. An international perspective on HIT workforce development addresses issues and challenges within other countries, and an industry expert sheds light on future expectations for the HIT industry. Links to job resources, and listings of professional conferences and meetings, add further value to the guide, as do job seeker "tips" throughout. Key Features: Provides comprehensive, practical information about health information technology (HIT) careers for students and mid-career job seekers Explores the great variety of work environments and job opportunities within them Details education requirements and quickest pathways to attain them Includes interviews with people currently in HIT careers, links to job resources, professional conferences and meetings, and helpful tips throughout Presents an international perspective on HIT career development and the future of HIT careers from industry experts
Dictionary of Health Information Technology and Security by David Edward Marcinko; Msha Cphq Cmp
ISBN: 9780826149954
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Over 10,000 Detailed Entries There is a myth that all stakeholders in the healthcare space understand the meaning of basic information technology jargon. In truth, the vernacular of contemporary medical information systems is unique, and often misused or misunderstood√ Moreover, an emerging national Heath Information Technology (HIT) architecture; in the guise of terms, definitions, acronyms, abbreviations and standards; often puts the non-expert medical, nursing, public policy administrator or paraprofessional in a position of maximum uncertainty and minimum productivity √ The Dictionary of Health Information Technology and Security will therefore help define, clarify and explain...You will refer to it daily. -- Richard J. Mata, MD, MS, MS-CIS, Certified Medical Planner¬(c) (Hon), Chief Medical Information Officer CMIO], Ricktelmed Information Systems, Assistant Professor Texas State University, San Marcos, Texas An Essential Tool for Every Health Care Industry Sector: layman, purchaser, and benefits manager physician, provider and healthcare facility payer, intermediary and consulting professional Key Benefits & Features Include: New HIT, HIPAA, WHCQA, HITPA, and NEPSI terminology Abbreviations, acronyms, and slang-terms defined Illustrations and simple examples Cross-references to current research
Health Information Management: Empowering Public Health by J. Mantas (Editor); R. Sendelj (Editor); I. Ognjanović (Editor)
ISBN: 9781643681269
Publication Date: 2020-10-14
The effective and efficient management of healthcare institutions is key to the successful development of national health systems. In an increasingly digital society, the skills involved in health information management become a primary factor in ensuring this development. Employment is projected to grow in all areas of healthcare, but especially in those related to information management, such as applied informatics, public health informatics and medical informatics. This book, Health Information Management: Empowering Public Health, aims to provide a clear and comprehensive introduction to the study and development of health information management. It is designed for use by university and vocational courses to train allied health professionals. It can also be used as an in-service training tool for new healthcare-facility personnel, for those working in government healthcare institutions, independent billing and health assurance services, or individually by health information specialists. The book describes health information management, and explains how it merges the fields of health care and information technology. Readers will learn logical thinking and communication, and will be introduced to the organizational processes in healthcare institutions, as well as finding out how to organize and analyze health care data; accurately record, store and assess health data; use an electronic patient record system; and provide statistical analysis and interpret the results. The book will be of interest to all those wishing to gain a better insight into what is involved health information management, and to all those studying the subject.
Medical Billing and Coding for Dummies by Karen Smiley
ISBN: 9781119625445
Publication Date: 2019-12-05
The definitive guide to starting a successful career in medical billing and coding With the healthcare sector growing at breakneck speed--it's currently the largest employment sector in the U.S. and expanding fast--medical billing and coding specialists are more essential than ever. These critical experts, also known as medical records and health information technicians, keep systems working smoothly by ensuring patient billing and insurance data are accurately and efficiently administered. This updated edition provides everything you need to begin--and then excel in--your chosen career. From finding the right study course and the latest certification requirements to industry standard practices and insider tips for dealing with government agencies and insurance companies, Medical Billing & Coding For Dummies has you completely covered. Find out about the flexible employment options available and how to qualify Understand the latest updates to the ICD-10 Get familiar with ethical and legal issues Discover ways to stay competitive and get ahead The prognosis is good--get this book today and set yourself up with the perfect prescription for a bright, secure, and financially healthy future!
Health IT JumpStart by Patrick Wilson; Scott McEvoy
ISBN: 9781118016763
Publication Date: 2011-11-08
IT professionals can learn how to launch a career in health information technology Government regulation is mandating that all physician practices, hospitals, labs, etc. move to electronic health records (EHR) by 2014, which, in turn, will create a demand for IT professionals to help medical facilities make this transition as smooth as possible. This book helps IT professionals make the move into health information technology (HIT) and shows you how EHRs can be securely created, maintained, distributed, and backed up under government regulations. The author duo is a pair of HIT experts who understand how medical data works and willingly share their expertise with you so that you can best serve this emerging, evolving market. You'll quickly benefit from using this book as your first step to understanding and preparing for a job in HIT. Opens the door to researching how to make the move from IT to the up-and-coming field of health information technology (HIT) Guides you through the four aspects of HIT: government regulation and funding, operational workflow, clinical understanding, and the technology that ties it all together Prepares you for the healthcare market with a roadmap of understandable advice that escorts you through complex government information Pares down the extraneous material and delivers the need-to-know information on securely maintaining electronic health records Jump into the up-and-coming world of health IT with this helpful and insightful book.
Improving Usability, Safety and Patient Outcomes with Health Information Technology by F. Lau (Editor); J. A. Bartle-Clar (Editor); G. Bliss (Editor)
ISBN: 9781614999508
Publication Date: 2019-03-26
Information technology is revolutionizing healthcare, and the uptake of health information technologies is rising, but scientific research and industrial and governmental support will be needed if these technologies are to be implemented effectively to build capacity at regional, national and global levels. This book, "Improving Usability, Safety and Patient Outcomes with Health Information Technology", presents papers from the Information Technology and Communications in Health conference, ITCH 2019, held in Victoria, Canada from 14 to 17 February 2019. The conference takes a multi-perspective view of what is needed to move technology forward to sustained and widespread use by transitioning research findings and approaches into practice. Topics range from improvements in usability and training and the need for new and improved designs for information systems, user interfaces and interoperable solutions, to governmental policy, mandates, initiatives and the need for regulation. The knowledge and insights gained from the ITCH 2019 conference will surely stimulate fruitful discussions and collaboration to bridge research and practice and improve usability, safety and patient outcomes, and the book will be of interest to all those associated with the development, implementation and delivery of health IT solutions.
Information Technology for Healthcare Managers by Gerald L. Glandon; Donna J. Slovensky; Detlev H. Smaltz
ISBN: 9781640551916
Publication Date: 2020-08-30
Though healthcare is largely technology driven, the deployment of health information technology (HIT) has occurred in waves rather than a steady flow, and usually in response to government mandates. This emergent HIT strategy has culminated in highly complex and dynamic systems crafted over many years using products from multiple vendors. Healthcare organizations are now focused on big data aggregated from myriad data-producing applications both in and beyond the enterprise. Healthcare leaders must position themselves to leverage the new opportunities that arise from HIT's ascendance and to mine the vast amount of available data for competitive advantage.Where can they turn for insight? With the unique advantage of both academic and real-world experience in HIT leadership, the authors of Information Technology for Healthcare Managers blend management theory, cutting-edge tech knowledge, and a thorough grounding in the healthcare applications of technology. The ninth edition offers the following: Rigorously updated content that reflects this rapidly changing field, including discussions of the Internet of Things, artificial intelligence, blockchain, cybersecurity, and cloud computing; An entirely new chapter on data analytics for leaders who want to harness the power of data for decision support, evidence-based management, and other strategic uses; A review of the core HIT elements of healthcare delivery; Guidance on management issues specific to healthcare organizations, including regulation, HIT and data governance, infrastructure, the selection of applications, contract negotiating, and portfolio management; Management and systems theory, applied to the challenges of HITOpinions abound on technology's best uses for society, but healthcare organizations need more than opinion-they need knowledge and strategy. This book will help leaders combine tech savvy with business savvy for sustainable success in a dynamic environment.
Key Advances in Clinical Informatics by Aziz Sheikh (Editor); David W. Bates (Editor); Adam Wright (Editor); Kathrin Cresswell (Editor)
ISBN: 9780128095232
Publication Date: 2017-07-11
Key Advances in Clinical Informatics: Transforming Health Care through Health Information Technology provides a state-of-the-art overview of the most current subjects in clinical informatics. Leading international authorities write short, accessible, well-referenced chapters which bring readers up-to-date with key developments and likely future advances in the relevant subject areas. This book encompasses topics such as inpatient and outpatient clinical information systems, clinical decision support systems, health information technology, genomics, mobile health, telehealth and cloud-based computing. Additionally, it discusses privacy, confidentiality and security required for health data. Edited by internationally recognized authorities in the field of clinical informatics, the book is a valuable resource for medical/nursing students, clinical informaticists, clinicians in training, practicing clinicians and allied health professionals with an interest in health informatics.
Transforming Healthcare with Health Information Technology by Charles M. Denison (Editor); Elizabeth L. Montevoy (Editor)
ISBN: 9781613244173
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Information technology (IT) has the potential to transform healthcare as it has transformed many parts of our economy and society in recent decades. Despite this great promise, the impact of IT on healthcare over the past decade has so far been modest. Compared to other industrialised nations, the United States lags far behind in the use of electronic health records. This book examines how health information technology could improve the quality of healthcare and reduce its cost, and whether existing Federal efforts in health information technology are optimised for these goals.

Find physical books by searching our online catalog on the library's homepage. You can browse in person and pick up these books by visiting your local library branch. Here are our hours and locations.

Careers in Health Information Technology (HIT) by Brian T. Malec
ISBN: 9780826129932
Publication Date: 2014-08-01
Describes 75 jobs and how to attain them Information technology is one of the fastest-growing segments of the labor market. This practical, one-stop career guide describes the depth and breadth of job opportunities and careers currently available in health information technology (HIT), and helps readers to enter and advance within this expanding field. The book offers guidance for students in higher education and currently employed individuals looking for mid-career opportunities. It includes a description of educational requirements for success in the HIT field and major themes of the HIT workforce such as informatics, provider-based jobs, vendor, government, and payer-based employment. The book describes quickest-route pathways for careers that require advanced training and professional associations that provide important information and resources. It examines the varied environments in which HIT careerists can work√>=hospitals, ambulatory care facilities, physician practices, the managed care and insurance sector, public health organizations, consulting firms and HIT vendors, and education and training√>=along with related job opportunities. Seventy-five jobs include a description, experience and/or education requirements, core competencies, salary, employment outlook, and references. Interviews with individuals in varied HIT careers present a human face that offers valuable advice. An international perspective on HIT workforce development addresses issues and challenges within other countries, and an industry expert sheds light on future expectations for the HIT industry. Links to job resources, and listings of professional conferences and meetings, add further value to the guide, as do job seeker "tips" throughout. Key Features: Provides comprehensive, practical information about health information technology (HIT) careers for students and mid-career job seekers Explores the great variety of work environments and job opportunities within them Details education requirements and quickest pathways to attain them Includes interviews with people currently in HIT careers, links to job resources, professional conferences and meetings, and helpful tips throughout Presents an international perspective on HIT career development and the future of HIT careers from industry experts
The Cphims Review Guide by Mara Daiker (Editor); Healthcare Information Healthcare Information & Management Systems Society (HIMSS)
ISBN: 9781138337435
Publication Date: 2021-12-23
Whether you're taking the CPHIMS exam or simply want the most current and comprehensive overview in healthcare information and management systems today, this completely revised and updated fourth edition has it all. But for those preparing for the CPHIMS exam, this book is also an ideal study partner. The content reflects the outline of exam topics covering healthcare and technology environments; clinical informatics; analysis, design, selection, implementation, support, maintenance, testing, evaluation, privacy and security; and management and leadership. Candidates can challenge themselves with the sample multiple-choice questions given at the end of the book. The benefits of CPHIMS certification are broad and far-reaching. Certification is a process that is embraced in many industries, including healthcare information and technology. CPHIMS is recognized as the 'gold standard' in healthcare IT because it is developed by HIMSS, has a global focus and is valued by clinicians and non-clinicians, management and staff positions and technical and nontechnical individuals. Certification, specifically CPHIMS certification, provides a means by which employers can evaluate potential new hires, analyze job performance, evaluate employees, market IT services and motivate employees to enhance their skills and knowledge. Certification also provides employers with the evidence that the certificate holders have demonstrated an established level of job-related knowledge, skills and abilities and are competent practitioners of healthcare IT.
Essentials of Health Information Management by Mary Jo Bowie; Michelle Green
ISBN: 9781285177267
Publication Date: 2015-02-05
ESSENTIALS OF HEALTH INFORMATION MANAGEMENT: PRINCIPLES AND PRACTICES introduces the concepts of health information technology and management. In the age of the Electronic Health Record (EHR), staying on top of the latest trends in technology and federal legislation is a must for today's health care professional. The third edition is mapped to the latest CAHIIM domains and standards, and includes new coverage of e-HIM, EHRs, data integrity and security, ICD-10-CM implementation, and HIPAA. Concise and approachable, this resource presents topics in simple language that readers can easily understand. Also available: the MindTap online course management resource, and EHR activities using NeehrPerfect� Vista EHR software.
Healthcare Information Technology Exam Guide for CHTS and CAHIMS Certifications by Kathleen A. McCormick; Brian Gugerty; John E. Mattison
ISBN: 9781259836978
Publication Date: 2017-09-11
This effective study resource delivers complete coverage of all topics on the newest versions of these challenging HIT exams This comprehensive self-study guide fully prepares candidates for the Certified Associate in Healthcare Information and Management Systems (CAHIMS) exam, all six Certified Healthcare Technology Specialist (CHTS) exams, and CompTIA's HIT exam. The book enables computer professionals to transition into healthcare information technology (HIT) with coverage of topics ranging from regulatory requirements to healthcare privacy and security and also serves as a valuable on-the-job reference. Healthcare Information Technology: CHTS Certified Healthcare Technology Specialist & CAHIMS Certified Associate in Healthcare Information and Management Systems Exam Guide is designed to familiarize IT professionals with the health-related aspects and the IT requirements of the healthcare HIT field. Written in a hands-on, straightforward style, the book includes "Tips," which highlight important information throughout the chapters; "Use Cases," which detail HIT at work in real-world situations; chapter summaries; and chapter review questions that test comprehension. * Electronic content includes practice exams, a list of HIT roles, and a PDF copy of the book * Appendices allow readers to drill down and focus on the content pertaining to a specific exam * Written by a team of experts with extensive professional experience

You can search our Journals or browse by subject from the library's homepage. For a quick look at what we have available in this subject area, see the title(s) below.

Health Information Management Journal
Is the refereed, journal of the Health Information Management Association of Australia (HIMAA) Ltd. Aims to promote the discipline of health information management through the provision of a forum for presentation of original research, short communications, reviews and commentaries. Scope covers empirical research, management perspectives, workforce planning, practical experience, product technical reviews and applicable newsworthy commentary.
Health Management Technology
Business magazine for healthcare information systems professionals and managers.
International Journal of Technology Assessment in Health Care

Check out the link(s) below to stream videos on this subject. You can also visit Films on Demand to browse their entire collection.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
A collection of short videos about job searching, soft skills for workplaces, and career information for a variety of industries.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video allows you to view this collection of videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Our collection includes videos about careers, business, science, health, social science, art & literature, history, and more, with a combined total of over 29,000 full-length video titles in over 275,000 segments.

Health Care and Technology: STEM Careers in Two Years As executive director of the Life Science Career Alliance, Colleen Hamilton believes that working in health care can “really change people’s lives.” And although she’s well aware of the industry’s challenges, Hamilton firmly believes that you don’t have to be a doctor or a college-educated researcher to find success in the medical field. This program explores the high-tech side of working in the industry, showing that health care technology jobs are not only fulfilling but also lucrative and challenging. Case studies feature Randy, a certified biomedical equipment technician (or CBET) at New Jersey’s Deborah Heart and Lung Center, as well as Luz, a surgical technologist, and Steve, a cath lab technician—both of whom work for Philadelphia’s Hahnemann University Hospital. These employees and their coworkers describe the job searches they went through and the professional, emotional, and financial rewards that come from what they do. (20 minutes)

Electronic Health Records Whether they are needed to ensure properly dispensed prescriptions, monitor a patient’s recovery, or make an urgently needed diagnosis, accurate health records are crucial to a patient’s safety. This program highlights the important work of health information technicians and shows how electronic health records can help make medical care both safer and more efficient. In-depth commentary on medical information technology and its challenges comes from Dr. David Bates, professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School, and Dr. Don Detmer, professor of medical education at the University of Virginia. Both are leading experts in medical informatics. (28 minutes)

We can also direct you to resources outside of the library's databases. See below for a selection of websites related to your field.

American Health Information Management Association
HIM Body of Knowledge through AHIMA
AHIMA's HIM Body of Knowledge™ provides resources and tools to advance health information professional practice and standards for the delivery of quality healthcare.
Health Information Technology: Best Practices Transforming Quality, Safety, and Efficiency
Health IT
A resource to help health care administrators (as well as patients and doctors) learn more about new information technology that's being implemented in medical practices across the country.
National Library of Medicine, Health Information Technology and Health Data Standards at NLM
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services-Health Information Privacy
Information regarding privacy rights for patients.

Want to learn more about a particular career? These resources will help you learn more about the potential a career field holds.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource for career exploration and planning that allows users to quickly find the valuable career information they need, whether it’s industry and professions articles, school planning resources, or skills and career advice.
Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Profiles for hundreds of occupations including sections like What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 2010-20 decade.

When searching for information in the sciences it is important to know that there are two main types of information you will encounter: primary and secondary sources.

Primary sources are resources that report the results of original scientific research, written by those who did the research, that has not been published anywhere else.

If a publication comments on, evaluates, or discusses the original research report, then it is a secondary source, not a primary one.

	Primary Source	Secondary Source
DEFINITIONS	Original materials that have not been filtered through interpretation or evaluation by a second party.	Sources that contain commentary on or a discussion about a primary source.
TIMING OF PUBLICATION CYCLE	Primary sources tend to come first in the publication cycle.	Secondary sources tend to come second in the publication cycle.
FORMATS--depends on the kind of analysis being conducted.	Conference papers, dissertations, interviews, laboratory notebooks, patents, a study reported in a journal article, a survey reported in a journal article, and technical reports.	Review articles, magazine articles, and books.
Example: Scientists studying Genetically Modified Foods.	Article in a scholarly journal reporting methodology and results of an original research study on GMO foods.	Article or book analyzing, comparing, and commenting on the results of a number of original research studies.

Source: The Evolution of Scientific Information (from Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science, vol. 26) & GTCC Library Guide.

A Rough Guide to Spotting Bad Science

Health Information Technology

Contact

Social Media