Call Us
Email Us
Chat With Us
What is Summon?
Summon is an intuitive and powerful search tool designed to help you discover a wide range of library resources from a single search bar. It’s like Google for your library! Summon allows you to quickly locate books, eBooks, journal articles, newspapers, videos, and other scholarly materials available through our library’s collections. With just a few keywords, Summon can help you find reliable academic sources to support your research and teaching.
Why Use Summon?
Summon is a one-stop shop for scholarly discovery. Whether you're preparing lecture materials, exploring new research, or assisting students with assignments, Summon streamlines the process of accessing high-quality academic resources. You can filter results by content type, publication date, and more, ensuring you find precisely what you need with ease.
Video Tutorials
What are eBooks?
eBooks are digital versions of books that you can access online through the library's collections. Our eBook collection includes thousands of titles across various disciplines, from textbooks and reference materials to fiction and scholarly works. These resources are available 24/7, making them a flexible and convenient option for your teaching and research needs.
Why Use eBooks?
eBooks are a valuable tool for faculty and students alike. They allow you to quickly search for specific terms or topics within a book, save highlights and notes, and access materials on multiple devices. Whether you need a supplemental textbook, research support, or leisure reading, eBooks provide the resources you need at your fingertips.
Access eBooks Here:
For OER books, please see the library's research guide here:
eBooks for individual or personal reading:
Search any of the CCCC campus libraries for books and DVDs relevant to your area of study. Searches can also be expanded to any NC community college library.
Library databases are searchable collections of articles, ebooks, streaming videos, and other reliable sources that you won’t find freely available on the web. They’re designed for academic research and give your students access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, and more. Below are some notable databases that are commonly used (or not commonly used enough!) and some that are just fun.
Try our NEW resource: Kanopy!
Additional films can be found on Films on Demand
What is Films on Demand?
Films on Demand is a comprehensive streaming video platform that provides access to thousands of educational and documentary films, covering a wide range of subjects. With content from renowned producers like PBS, National Geographic, BBC, and more, it’s an excellent resource for enriching your lectures, assignments, and classroom discussions with engaging video content.
Why Use Films on Demand?
Films on Demand offers a convenient way to integrate high-quality video resources into your teaching. You can search for specific topics, create playlists, and even share direct links with students. From historical documentaries to scientific explorations and literary adaptations, this platform has something for every discipline. Best of all, it's available on-demand, so you and your students can access it anytime, anywhere.
Access Films on Demand Here:
Films on Demand Tutorials Page:
What are Research Guides?
Research Guides, also known as LibGuides, are curated collections of resources and tools tailored to specific subjects, courses, or topics. Created by our librarians, these guides are designed to help you and your students navigate the wealth of information available in our library by highlighting the best databases, books, articles, websites, and other resources for your needs.
Why Use Research Guides?
Research Guides simplify the research process by providing a starting point for exploring reliable and relevant resources. Whether you're teaching a course, designing an assignment, or guiding students in their research, these guides can save you time and ensure your students have access to high-quality materials. Each guide is updated regularly to reflect the latest resources and best practices.
Access Research Guides Here:
Great Guides for Students:
Library Skills in Five Minutes
Great Guides for Faculty & Staff:
What is the Library’s YouTube Channel?
The Library’s YouTube Channel is a dynamic resource filled with videos to support your teaching, research, and student engagement. It includes tutorials, research tips, database walkthroughs, and much more, all created by our library staff to help students and faculty make the most of the library’s resources.
Why Use the Library’s YouTube Channel?
Our YouTube Channel offers quick and convenient access to instructional content that complements classroom learning and independent research. Whether you need a quick tutorial on using a specific database, guidance on citation formats, or videos to share with your students, the channel has resources to support your academic needs. It’s a great way to integrate library instruction into your courses, even asynchronously.
Access the Library’s YouTube Channel Here:
Great Videos for Students, Faculty & Staff:
Academic Integrity and Plagiarism
Career Resources at the Library
Databases & Opposing Viewpoints
How to Start a Search (using Summon)
