LibGuides: COVID-19 Library Resources: Free Academic Resources

Free Academic Resources

Many publishers have made their content available online for free. Below are a list of eBook collections and databases that you can access for the duration of the national emergency caused by the COVID-19 virus.

eBooks

Junior Library Guild eBooks
With JLG Gold Standard eBooks for Elementary, Middle School and High school students. The collection includes fiction and non-fiction titles. They have also included complimentary resources for you and your readers, including an upcoming live author talk series, a library of free on-demand webcasts, and a virtual event focused on middle-grade reads! Many of these on-demand webcasts are available to view with closed-captioning.
*Database access will expire date TBD.
National Emergency Library
Announcing the National Emergency Library, a collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
*Database access will expire when the national emergency status is removed.

Articles and Journals

GreenFile (EBSCO)
A research database covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts. It provides thousands of open access full-text records from scholarly, government and general interest sources.
*Portal login required.
JSTOR
Addition of 26 Public Health journals, plus special access to more than 6000 articles specifically about coronaviruses and communicable diseases. Newly open access to journals in Science, Business, Ecology, Life Sciences, Sustainability, and more. Access to 35,000 ebooks across multiple disciplines from a variety of participating publishers. Updated daily.
*Portal access required. Database access will expire June 30, 2020.
MasterFILE Complete (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Complete also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
*Portal login required. Database access expires June 30, 2020.
Psychiatry Online
Access the DSM-V, psychology textbooks and journals, the latest from APA, as well as on-demand webinars. Also access updates on how COVID-19 is impacting Psychiatry.
*Portal login is required. Database access expires April 30, 2020.